We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
191
74
20
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
74
20
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath enclosed balcony across the road hot water beach heated pool the owner manager cooking equipment upstairs studio mercury bay great sea view big room new zealand powerful shower buffalo beach brilliant stay great room excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Lovely large rooms overlooking Buffalo beach. We had a room downstairs which had a deck with a big umbrella. The added plus was a great swimming pool.

Very helpful an friendly staff. The property was so clean and tidy with ample towels and lovely bathrobes. Loved the shower as it had really strong water flow. Could change the hairdryers - small and overheated easily but would take my own next time. Our second time staying in this great place and would go back again.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms are the best!
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DramaDirector17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

To be honest we were not expecting very much from staying at this motel and my goodness, what a pleasant surprise.
Couldn't fault our stay! Very helpful staff; happy to help us out with queries or bookings of trips.
Rooms were very nice, with lovely views out to the beach.
And the breakfast....! Delivered to your room...at your requested time, so that you could eat on the balcony at your own leisure. Very nice touch.
Thank you for a wonderful few days!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lizzie_R_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stayed at the Admiralty Lodge Motel for an overnight trip to Whitianga. We had a free night through hotels.com and Admiralty Motel fitted in the criteria- all we had to do was the taxes. The motel is located just outside of the town center. The town center is a 15-20 minute walk which would be great when the sun is out and not raining. The beach is across from the hotel and all rooms face the beach and the hotel swimming pool. The check-in was very fast and the guy at the guy at the reception was very helpful. They give free water, have a look collection of DVDs to borrow and the pool is heated. We were in a non spa room but are not complaining about it. Even though it was raining (little more than a drizzle) they let us use the pool (which was heated). Our son thoroughly enjoyed his time at the pool. The room are well equipped with a function kitchen and clean towels. The bathroom was neat and tidy but nothing to write about. The beds were clean and comfortable. The only down side was the disturbance from the bathroom flush in the other units. It can be annoying if you are a light sleeper but for a nights sleep i would not complain. Overall if you are in Whitianga and want something closer to the town center but still away then Admiralty Lodge is the place. They have other services like bike hires and boogie boards but because the weather was not pleasant during our stay we did not investigate further.

Room tip: views from the room are nice
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hetsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This is an excellent place and was definitely among the very best during our three-week stay in New Zealand. We had a large room on the ground floor with a well-equipped kitchenette, a super bathroom with a great shower (an unusual luxury in New Zealand as we were to find out) and fantastic comfortable beds. Everything was spotlessly clean and in excellent condition. Breakfast was brought to our apartment by the owner at the arranged time, and on a fine morning you can enjoy it on your terrace overlooking the sea. It’s a pity we could only stay one night – this is a place where you would love to spend a full week! Highly recommended!

Room tip: Ground floor rooms as there is a terrace & garden
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brock53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Our Suite overlooked the sea and beach area, wonderful views at all times of the day/evening. The accommodation was spacious with everything supplied, very clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful providing advice/directions to local attractions and even providing items (such as spades) for use at the hot springs. Definitely worth a stay here.

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msw-ourtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews