We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
40
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fig tree roger pigs cottage deck bbq
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Accompanied by our daughter just over from Sydney for the Easter break, we spent three wonderful days at the Orchard. The apartment was comfortable, well situated, and contained everything we needed - apart from a bread knife (we like whole loaf bread!) Beds comfortable shower just right! surrounded by fruit trees and hosted by two lovely people and their 3 year old son - a lovely young chap! we cannot recommend the place highly enough.

Stayed: March 2016
Thank chiliwilinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Wonderful, laid back surrounding within an orchard. At night you could have heard a pin drop it was so peaceful. Diana and Roger are very friendly hosts and their little boy would visit each day along with Rusty the dog, making it a lovely friendly place to stay. There are two completely separate units and our unit had an outdoor bath which of course we took advantage of. Very close to drive to Hot Water Beach or Hahei or Cooks Beach and we got the ferry one day from Cooks Beach to Whitianga (takes about 3 minutes) and went to The Lost Springs for the day. We also walked down to Cathedral Cove one day - a good steep 45 minute walk each way but well worth it! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the outdoor bath if that is your thing
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DBaker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

This was one of the highlights of our road trip. My daughters (3 & 8) loved the garden with it's swing, sandpit and trampoline, and really enjoyed feeding the incredibly friendly pigs their scraps. Roger and Daina were really friendly, and gave great recommendations for places to eat, and beautiful walks. We would definitely recommend this to families, or anyone looking to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Our family stayed for 2 nights in December. Diana made us truly welcome and helped point us to some local highlights. The Fig Tree Cottage was very comfortable and a nice supply of teas was highly appreciated. The location is wonderfully peaceful and conveniently located to the beaches and other sights in the Coromandal area. Highly recommeded and was our family's favourite accommodation during our 10 day stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at one of the two outstanding cottages of Mercury Orchard which was surrounded by fruit trees. The cottages offer above average comfort and they are very tastefully furnished. Guests are welcomed with a basket of fresh fruits and a heartily welcome by the excellent hosts, Diana and Roger. The location of Mercury Orchard is exellent, very close from the main attractions of the Coromandel Peninsula but still remote enough to enjoy the great location on a former dairy farm. Instead of cattle, nowadays you can enjoy the presence of two pigs, some chicken and the friendly dog Rusty.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank interceptor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews