We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
40
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
0
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights in January during our fantastic NZ road trip.

Booked this well in advance from the UK and had a great friendly email exchange going on about the booking that we felt we knew them before we had arrived.

On arrival we were not disappointed as the place was beautiful and Barry and Heather were the perfect hosts.

We stayed in the Paua Bach which was in a wonderful location surrounded by their orchard with a deck back and front and of course the optional outside bath!

Breakfast was served both mornings on the front deck and cooked to order - was wonderful!

Location wise its only 5 to 10 minutes drive to Whitianga (park up and get the passenger ferry), Cooks Beach and Hot Water Beach which was great fun! There is a spade on the deck to take along to dig your own hot pool on the beach!

Barry and Heather recommended and booked two local restaurants for us during our stay which were both great - Go Vino in Cooks Beach and Eggcentric near Whitianga both only around 5 to 10 minutes drive away.

We booked the Ocean Leopard boat trip from Whitianga on Barry and Heathers recommendation and were not disappointed - was a great way to see Cathedral Cove.

On our last morning Heather and Barry showed us all their animals; a donkey, two pigs, two goats, a few chickens and their two lovely dogs.

Was a great relaxing time and wish we had stayed there for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_and_Jackie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

When we arrived at Mercury Orchard, we could see that all the wonderful Tripadvisor reviews were right. Barry and Heather were the perfect hosts. They welcomed us and took us to Fig Cottage, a standalone one bedroom cottage which overlooked a very peaceful and tranquil orchard. Welcome home made biscuits, fruit cake slices and a couple of chocolates were a nice touch.

While we were unpacking, they took our 2 year old on a tour around the orchard and onto a tire swing hung off one of the plum tree branches. You can see they love kids, and with several grandchildren of their own, they were well set up for our 2 year old with toys and table and chairs.

And yes, there is a donkey on the farm, along with two pigs, two dogs and many chickens! Barry and Heather took us all around the farm, and even allowed our 2 year old to feed all the animals, which he absolutely loved.

Location wise, while quiet and rural, the orchard is centrally located and less than 10 mins drive to Cathedral Cove, Hahei, Cooks Beach and Hotwater Beach, so very central on the east coast of the Corromandel Peninsula. They even supply a spade for taking to Hot Water beach.

The cottage was cute, well set up, very clean and also had comfortable beds and beautiful sheets. The open plan living room/kitchen had a microwave, fridge, CD player, a single bed (and even a small TV), and outside was a BBQ for dinners on your patio, assuming you don’t go out to any of the local restaurants.

Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit, some straight off the orchard, freshly squeezed orange juice, home made muesli along with breads, jams and other cereals. This was served by Barry and Heather to our patio each morning and then followed up with a cooked breakfast of our choosing.

So overall, a wonderful stay of two nights. Heather and Barry were perfect hosts. They were able to help with anything we asked for, and provided many good suggestions and recommendations.

We would not hesitate in recommending the Mercury Orchard.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fig Cottage, which had a separate bedroom to the living area. The other cottage looked like it was a studio, which also has a cute outdoor bath with hot and cold taps. As no one was staying there, we were able to give our 2 year old an outdoor bath one evening!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Popped in to Mercury Orchard Heather & Barry were like long lost friends, that homestyle cooking and Kiwi hospitality is so hard to beat!
Beautiful home and business will definitely see you again we still need to see Cathedral Cove in the sunshine and pick fruit from the Orchard.
The setting is idllic even in the rain and the Fish & Chips from Cooks Beach hit the spot thanks again will be back!!!
Adrian & Jayne Williams

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bungy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently booked a holiday with another couple to New Zealands North Island and as we had never been before the Coramandel Peninsula was highly recommended. So the travel books were perused, then websites and we came across the Mercury Orchard which was chosen because of the Donkey! We had a wonderful time at Heather and Barrys beautiful "slice of heaven" The orchard is so tranquilly relaxing we could not have asked for more. After our breakfasts, which were fresh, delicious, and delivered to the balcony where we sat, ate and watched a picture postcard orchard, Barry and Heather recommended some destinations for us to visit which worked perfectly as we saw all we could in our stay. We had some of the best nights sleep on our whole trip as was so peaceful.We had a lovely time and will stay there again on our next visit! Thank you for the apples!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This year we completed our 7th visit to N.Z. spread over 15 years. We discovered Mercury Orchard on our second visit and have stayed with Heather & Barry each time ever since. Over the years we have B & B'd all over N.Z. but Mercury Orchard is still our favourite destination by far - this is based on a combination of the wonderful hospitality of Heather & Barry, the accommodation itself has everything you need as well as being spotlessly clean and with comfortable beds, the quality and quantity of the breakfast/food served, the geographic position in the Coromandel of that accommodation whereby you can be as busy as you like or relax in the orchard. We could expand further but what we and other reviewers have written should be enough to convince all considering a stay. When we come back to N.Z. an 8th time Barry & Heather will be our longest singe stay!

Room Tip: Either of the two cottages will please.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews