We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boat trip from Whitianga”

Ocean Leopard Tours
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore one of New Zealand’s most breath-taking stretches of coast with the exhilarating and award winning Ocean Leopard Tours. On the 2 hour Full Monty Tour you will cruise 12 km of rugged volcanic coastline visiting nearby islands, stunning beaches, including Lonely Bay, Cooks Beach, Hahei and the spectacular Cathedral Cove where Prince Caspian (Chronicles of Narnia) was filmed. Venture across the Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve where you’ll observe an abundance of marine and bird life. Get up close and personal with towering pinnacles, giant blowholes and huge sea caves including Orua Sea Cave, one of the largest in NZ and only accessible by boat. Throughout the tour your local guide will highlight Mercury Bay’s rich and colourful history giving a fabulous balance of information and time to soak up the sights and sounds.
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We took a two hour trip down the coast, and it proved to be a great tour. It was a lovely sunny day, and the coast looked wonderful. Our driver/ guide was very knowledgable and articulate on all aspects of what we were seeing.
The tour included the famous Cathedral Cave of course, but there was so much more to see. We toured almost to Hot Water Beach and finished with a race back which was quite thrilling. Altogether a highly recommended trip.

Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPHopkins, Owner at Ocean Leopard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Chris, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review. The trip back can feel a lot faster if the wind is against us. You're right Cathedral Cove us amazing but the is so much breathtaking scenery out there! I hope the rest of your holiday is going well. All the best, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"full monty"
in 73 reviews
"cathedral cove"
in 108 reviews
"both sides"
in 15 reviews
"boat trip"
in 45 reviews
"great tour"
in 39 reviews
"whirlwind tour"
in 12 reviews
"mercury bay"
in 47 reviews
"snapper"
in 39 reviews
"take photos"
in 21 reviews
"comfortable boat"
in 12 reviews
"hour tour"
in 17 reviews
"beautiful coastline"
in 22 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 14 reviews
"life jackets"
in 10 reviews
"great boat"
in 12 reviews
"new zealand"
in 31 reviews
"coromandel coast"
in 14 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Wouldn’t recommend to do it any other way but with these guys. We initially thought to walk down to cathedral cove however we this was going to be a 40 min walk down not long for some really glad we chose the option by boat as we wouldn’t have got all the beautiful pics we got today.
Our tour guide Justin new all the history around the area gave you plenty of opportunity to take photos at every point.
Was a really enjoyable 2 hour boat ride. Recommend it to anyone and with these leopard tour company.

Thank Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin H, Owner at Ocean Leopard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Sabrina,
thanks so much for taking the time to review Ocean Leopard! We are so glad you chose us as your preferred option to see Cathedral Cove. The walk down there can definitely be a bit challenging for some and there are so many parts of the coast that are just stunning but can't be reached by any other way than by boat.
Glad to hear you got some great pics on the day. All the best for the rest of your trip.
Cheers, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

This trip was recommended and booked for us by the B&B where we were staying.
It was fantastic the pick up was easy at Ferry Landing our skipper was Justin who also just happens to be incredibly handsome.
He took great care of everyone on board and made sure we were all comfortable and happy with the speed he was doing, and that no-one was feeling queasy.
The trip was wonderful with lots of photo opportunities he obligingly turned the boat at every opportunity so that everyone could get a good view.
Would highly recommend...

Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin H, Owner at Ocean Leopard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Stephanie,
well I don't know what to say! What a lovely review full of compliments!! I'm so pleased you enjoyed the tour and felt well looked after during your time with Ocean Leopard.
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review and for the 5 stars.
Cheers, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I can not explain how spectavular this experience was the whole trip was amazing every thing we saw was unreal from the scenery to the caves to feeding fish to sea lions to pulling up a cray pot ! everything ! but most of all as we got to be less than a metre from a pod of orca whales was such a special experience i cant rate this trip high enough book it and dont miss an amazing experience !! im from Taupo New Zealand

Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin H, Owner at Ocean Leopard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Olivia,
I must say this was one of the most epic trips I've ever taken out. The stars were aligned to produce so many great experiences all packed into the same tour. It's absolutely fantastic that you got to see Orca. Last season we didn't see a lot of them but hopefully this season will be different.
Thanks for the fantastic review and rating, I really appreciate it.
Cheers, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic trip, 2 hours of fabulous bays beaches and history. Our skipper was very helpful and well informed. Stopped at each location for good photo opportunities and detailed descriptions of each cove we visited.

Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin H, Owner at Ocean Leopard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Stephanie,
thanks so much for taking the time to review Ocean Leopard Tours. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the tour and managed to get some great photos along the way.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the area.
Cheers, Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Leopard Tours also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Ocean Leopard Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing