We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$113
Hotels.comUS$113
CheapTicketsUS$113
TravelocityUS$113
eDreamsUS$113
Orbitz.comUS$113
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
34
26
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
34
26
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffalo beach mercury bay new zealand host vivian town units comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2020

It is handy to town and the small grocery store. Just across the beach so you can have lots of walking. Our room was good, it can be better but of course it's on the par on what you paid. She's a friendly host too, well versed with the touristy places.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne stevens, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2020

Thank you for your review. It is always pleasing to read positive reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Blue Marlin offers unobstructwd views across Mercury Bay whilst being within minutes of town bars and restaurants on foot.

Units are modern, spacious, and beautifully decorated with quality furniture and decor items. Our bed afforded the most comfortable sleep I have ever had anywhere, including home .... True.

Everything is squeaky clean and our hostess, Vivian, was extremely helpful in every regard. I would recommend Blue Marlin to only the most discerning of travellers.

Room tip: Ask for beach view at Buffalo 13 or rear apartment for less wave and traffic noise.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kaptainrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne stevens, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2020

Thank you so much for your review. Please come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020 via mobile

Our 5th visit to New Zealand but Iyar first in Whitianga , welcome was nice, apartment had everything required fir the visit with minimum interference from the management.

We had a great time, great advice for visits with many thanks to the management..

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank AlexandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Thank you for your comments. Coromandel Peninsula is a beautiful part of NZ. So glad we could share it with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

Nice little unit for a couple. Very clean.
Nice view with the beach right there. Parking space is tiny so dont take a boat like we did however the owner sorted our boat parking out straight away. Perfect getaway

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rangogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Thank you for your positive review. Nice to see you enjoyed your stay. Parking is at a premium and I have one car park per unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

There are two separate complexes under the same name - the one we stayed at was closest to town. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. It had a large covered deck leading off the living area with sea views. Whitianga was wet and cold during the 3 days we were there and the apartment lacked an electric blanket, and had neither a heater nor heated towel rail in the bathroom, all things that would have made our stay more comfortable but obviously not an issue if you were staying during summer. The bedroom could have done with a set of drawers to put items into. Staff were friendly.

Room tip: Double check which set of Blue Marlin Apartments you are actually booking into as there are two separate complexes.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindles58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vivienne s, Owner at Blue Marlin Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2019

Thsnks for your review. The apartment does have a heater and it looked as though you had been using it. I have taken all electric blankets off the beds for health reasons, and have very cosy under blankets. We service the rooms every day and change over towels etc, so you have clean dry linen each day. The apartment you had has been fully refurbished and painted last winter and has dishwasher, washing machine and is self contained. It was a shame the weather was not condusive to a stay at the beach but that is something out of my control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews