We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bonney2013
Melbourne, Australia

David and Dimitri are excellent hosts who make you feel very welcome Bayview at 91 is certainly luxury accommodation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2019
All rooms at Bayview at 91 are of high standard with attention to every detail Our suite Kupe was well appointed with everything being of high quality The views from Bayview are breathtaking We felt we were not guests but friends with David and Dmitri ,we were surprised to find that part of the service was to be invited upstairs to enjoy Happy Hour with the boys Enjoying a few glasses of wine and a lovely platter was very appreciated Breakfast served on the very best crockery in the morning cooked by David who is a excellent chef was very special Everything these hosts do for you during your stay is about making your visit of one to remember and treating you like friends Thank you David and Dmitri for making our stay memorable
Date of stay: April 2019
Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views and well appointed Kupe suite which was downstairs and very private
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 Apr 2019
Thank you both for taking the time to review your stay with us at Bayview 91 and to let us know you enjoyed your stay in our Kupe Suite, Evening Drinks and Breakfast. We very much enjoy meeting our guests from around the World and evening drinks and canapes are the perfect place to chat and hear the stories of our guests adventures and so much more. You indeed arrived as Guests but departed Friends and we look forward to seeing you again someday. Our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$274
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool
$246
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$124
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
4.0 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 2 - Refurbished with beautiful sea views
$194
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachside Resort Heated Pool
$167
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Executive suite's private terrace overlooking the Mercury Bay
$206
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Deluxe Villa
$392
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.0 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 bedroom unit
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $130
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard studio of queen bed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $107
  • Algotels
3.2 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whitianga
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
562
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
562
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kupe suite mercury bay stunning views tui suite host david new zealand breakfast table freshly baked bread glass of wine beautiful bathroom the perfect host each morning places to visit thought of everything a lovely stay excellent hosts made us feel at home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2019

When you know you just need a couple of days being looked after by true professionals who can unobtrusively make you immediately know you're in the right place - then this is the place to be. David and Dimitri are natural and consummate hosts, anticipating every need before you've realised it yourself.
The decor is beautiful; the views outstanding; the food delicious and attention to detail exquisite.
I didn't want to leave - and I can't wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KevinTL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2019

Thank you Kevin for taking the time to review your stay, it was our pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again someday. Our kindest regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2019

I just stayed two lovely nights at Bayview at 91. From the moment I arrived, I felt special as the service and greeting were second to none. I choose the Kupe Suite and would highly recommend it. Beautifully appointed and exceptionally private, you could hide away here if you wanted privacy and in fact, it is often chosen for just that reason. David was exceptionally discreet and although Stars were hinted at names were not mentioned. The views across Mercury Bay are breathtaking and stretching out to take them in was so relaxing you could quite easily forget to explore the Coromandel region. Breakfast was absolutely 'spot on' - there is something about fresh local produce perfectly prepared and presented to get your day started. Evening drinks while watching the Autumn sun disappear were fun and informative - David and Dimitri have lived fascinating and exciting lives and we had more than a few laughs sharing our travel experiences. I was sad to leave but it is a lovely drive from Auckland so the Boys can expect a return visit - the perfect break location for a city girl.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heritage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and it was a joy to meet you and to have many laughs at evening drinks, always nice to speak of Worldly travels. We are delighted you enjoyed our Kupe Suite and that you found it a place to relax and unwind and where we wish to ensure you have privacy. We are pleased you enjoyed Breakfast our fresh fruit salad with 13 fruits perfectly ripped for the flavour they give and serve in a beautiful crystal bowl is always a nice touch. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview at 91 and thank you for choosing Bayview at 91 for your little escape from the City. Our Kind Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

We just felt like home. David and Dimitri took care of us in an excellent way.
After 3.5 weeks of traveling through New Zealand, we couldn't imagine a better place to finish this journey. Thanks for the great hospitality. Hope to see you again soon.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semihcakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2019

Dear Semih, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Kupe Suite and that it felt like home during your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed the last few days of your vacation with and look forward to seeing you both again soon, Our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary at the fabulous Bayview at 91. The view is stunning and the hospitality is second to none. David and Dimitri really go out of their way with their comfort, attention to detail and excellent service. From the beautifully laid breakfast table to the warm and inviting evening drinks to the carefully considered recommendations of what to see and where to eat - it was top class and thoroughly enjoyable. My only complaint was that we were only there for 2 nights, our choice entirely but I wanted more !!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 633sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Hello Dear Sean, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview 91, it was a joy to meet you both and delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the weather was certainly beautiful meaning that you could experience the very best of the Peninsula during your stay. We look forward to seeing you both again someday and wish you both all the very best. Kind Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019

David and Dmitri took good care of us as we explored the Coromandel Peninsula
in style. Everyday we savored a fabulous breakfast, explored part of the peninsula, and would return for drinks on the deck. The deck presents a splendid view of Mercury Bay and Shakespeare's Reserve which at dusk is breathtaking. We enjoyed meeting the other guests as D&D made everyone feel welcomed. Need a booking for dinner? Need a suggestion for a day-trip? Want to go fishing? .. D&D are there to assist. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Dear Roger, it was a joy to meet you both again on your return to Bayview at 91, you originally stayed for 2 Nights in 2007 and returned for 19 nights in our Kupe Suite to allow you to fully explore the beauty of the Coromandel Peninsula.

You are now proud owners to the title of our longest staying guests at Bayview 91. We wish you both well and look forward to seeing you again someday. Kind Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews