We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
633sean
Auckland, New Zealand

Fabulous Anniversary Weekend

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2019via mobile
My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary at the fabulous Bayview at 91. The view is stunning and the hospitality is second to none. David and Dimitri really go out of their way with their comfort, attention to detail and excellent service. From the beautifully laid breakfast table to the warm and inviting evening drinks to the carefully considered recommendations of what to see and where to eat - it was top class and thoroughly enjoyable. My only complaint was that we were only there for 2 nights, our choice entirely but I wanted more !!
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 26 Mar 2019
Hello Dear Sean, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview 91, it was a joy to meet you both and delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the weather was certainly beautiful meaning that you could experience the very best of the Peninsula during your stay. We look forward to seeing you both again someday and wish you both all the very best. Kind Regards David and Dmitri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$209
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $209
3.8 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool
$247
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 2 - Refurbished with beautiful sea views
$195
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $195
3.8 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachside Resort Heated Pool
$149
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $125
4.0 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Executive suite's private terrace overlooking the Mercury Bay
$224
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $224
3.3 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Deluxe Villa
$354
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
5.0 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 bedroom unit
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $130
  • Expedia.com
    $153
4.7 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard studio of queen bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $107
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Bayview Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whitianga
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
562
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
562
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kupe suite mercury bay stunning views tui suite host david new zealand breakfast table freshly baked bread glass of wine beautiful bathroom the perfect host each morning places to visit thought of everything a lovely stay excellent hosts made us feel at home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2019

David and Dmitri took good care of us as we explored the Coromandel Peninsula
in style. Everyday we savored a fabulous breakfast, explored part of the peninsula, and would return for drinks on the deck. The deck presents a splendid view of Mercury Bay and Shakespeare's Reserve which at dusk is breathtaking. We enjoyed meeting the other guests as D&D made everyone feel welcomed. Need a booking for dinner? Need a suggestion for a day-trip? Want to go fishing? .. D&D are there to assist. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Dear Roger, it was a joy to meet you both again on your return to Bayview at 91, you originally stayed for 2 Nights in 2007 and returned for 19 nights in our Kupe Suite to allow you to fully explore the beauty of the Coromandel Peninsula.

You are now proud owners to the title of our longest staying guests at Bayview 91. We wish you both well and look forward to seeing you again someday. Kind Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2019

David and Dimitri have thought of everything. We were given a friendly welcome on arrival, briefing on the area and then a cup of tea so we could totally relax enjoying the amazing view. Tables were booked at restaurants, boat trips arranged, taxis booked - all at high speed. Detailed maps for our hike were provided. At the end of the day there were wonderfully comfy beds to collapse into, not forgetting a memory foam pillow which is a rare thing to find while travelling. We only wished we could have stayed longer but be warned they get very booked up.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank WorldExplorer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and it was a delight to meet you both and to know you enjoyed your stay at Bayview 91 in our Mercury Bay Suite. It is our pleasure to welcome our guests and make them feel at home with the little touches that we know make the difference. We wish you both a safe journey home and our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2019

The view is outstanding and the service and attention to detail matched and even surpassed that. We arrived later than intended to be welcomed on the balcony with a glass of wine . This warmth of welcome set the tone for our stay. Breakfast was first rate with a very fresh fresh fruit salad, home made bread and great scrambled eggs.

The detailed itinerary provided enabled us to see so much of this wonderful area in the limited time we had available and we were offered a similar detailed route on to our next destination in Rotorua.

A great place to stay

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MDAMDA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Thank you both for taking the time to review your stay, it is our pleasure to treat our guests with a warm welcome and to ensure there stay is an enjoyable and memorable one, to allow you our knowledge to see the best of the area is what we hope makes the stay in Bayview at 91 and the wonder of the Coromandel Peninsula the best it can be.

We pride ourselves making the Breakfast table look nice and to offer beautiful fresh fruit and homemade bread with choice of eggs to help start the day right. We always ask our guests where they are travelling onto in the hope that we can assist them to enjoy a more scenic route than the motorways. Wish you both the best and sending our Kind Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2019

After having travelled three weeks in this wonderful world of New Zeeland we finished our trip at the wonderful immaculate Bayview at 91 Bed & Breakfast of David and Dimitri. The warmth of this hospitality is something we are bringing back home in our hearts. The property has a spectacular view of the Bay, but it is the personal attention to details that made us rate this as the best ever stay we had during our long trip through New Zealand (by the way the tour was excellently planned for us by David and Dimitri via the tour company).

We wrote in the guest book, before leaving this home… that the stars in the sky would not be enough to rate this fantastic way to live, enjoy life and to sleep well during our stay in New Zeeland.
This is the best !

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven Åke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2019

Dear Sven, it was a joy to meet you both and we thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview 91 Whitianga, We enjoy meeting our guests from around the World and tales and stories from afar at our evening drinks nightly on the deck overlooking the bay. And yes when clear skies are here the stars and the Milky Way come out in all their splendour for our guest's delight. It was our pleasure to look after you and look forward to seeing you both again someday. Our Kindest Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2019

David and Dmitri were gracious humble hosts, we met as strangers and after some fun and laughter left as lifetime friends. We woke up to stunning views after a wonderful nights sleep. The detail around all aspects of their business was outstanding and nothing could be faulted. My wife and I had a wonderful time exploring the Mercury Bay lead by Davids detailed directions and extensive knowledge of the area. We will be back. Peter and Karen

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pgwest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DavidinNZ, Owner at Bayview Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2019

Dear Peter and Karen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Bayview 91, it was our delight to meet you both and that you enjoyed your stay at Bayview91 and all that the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula has to offer,

We too feel we met new friends and look forward to meeting you again someday, With our Best Wishes and Kind Regards David and Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews