We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
41
6
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
6
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road great spot place to stay hot water beach thelma host unit
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying Thelma at Sandy Shores. The apartment was huge and very comfortable with everything you would need to be as happy and comfortable as in your own home. The view of Buffalo Beach was incredible and town was an easy walk away. Would absolutely go back!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank steem711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We stayed upstairs in the three-bedroom apartment and it was wonderful. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The unit was very clean and the kitchen was fully supplied. The view is beautiful. This is a perfect unit for a family. One bedroom is quite small but the others are lovely. It is across the street from the beach and within walking distance of town and the ferry.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pistachioann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We stayed in the top apartment and if the view isn't "the best view in Whitianga" then it comes a very close second. Spacious accommodation with everything we needed, wonderful welcome and a place to stay within easy walking distance of the town centre with its cafes, restaurants and bars ... while still being quiet enough to hear the waves on the beach as you relax on the balcony.

In addition to the warm welcome we got excellent advice on how to get to the nearby Cathedral Cove and were able to borrow spades and towels for our trip to Hot Water beach.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We stayed in a ground floor apartment. It was tidy, clean and had basic amenities. Shower very compact. No power in the bathroom so drying hair was a mission. Noise from people above was deafening, we could even hear them snoring! Some interesting features include a toilet roll doll and toast rack. Owner very helpful. Found the tiny bedroom and no wardrobe difficult for a five day stay.

Room Tip: Other reviews rave about the upstairs apartment, wish we had that.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie_gutry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Sandy Shores is a lovely apartment right on the beach front. While the apartment was spotlessly clean and fully equipped, what made it for me was the owner Thelma and her wonderful hospitality! We arrived mid afternoon looking a little bedraggled after a few days of camping and she made us feel very welcome and immediately offered us use of her washing machine! The price was reasonable for NZ and well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews