We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Horley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We just could not fault this wonderful B&B. Our hosts had thought of every detail and were so very friendly. The location overlooking the bay is stunning. We were made to feel so welcome and in the evening we spent many a happy hour in their company. We have no hesitation in giving "Within the Bays" a five star rating as it was just perfect in every way.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 31 January 2017
Dear Peter M, we too enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for giving us 5 stars! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

Annemarie and Hans are warm, outstanding, intelligent and very educated hosts. Never a dull moment. Willing to share their lovely house, homemade beer, wine and stories. They have contact with many peoples and organisations all over the region and know the places to be.
Fine beds, great breakfast

Room Tip: Rooms both are very good. Shared bathroom. Balcons. Insectscreens. Very good wifi.
See more room tips
Green Features: Heating temperature set to save energy.Toiletries w/ recycled packaging.Composts biodegradable products (e.g. packaging), Biodegradable toiletries, Linen reuse program, Qualmark Enviro Award. See all green practices
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doortje2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 26 January 2017
Dear Doortje 2017, Thank you very much for your positive review! We loved having you and your family here and enjoyed our conversations too! If you ever decide on another holiday in beautiful New Zealand, we would love hosting you again! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

Annemarie and Hans were outstanding hosts and ensured we had an extremely enjoyable and memorable 3-night stay in their beautiful home. Lots of little extras including Annemarie's hors d'oeuvres and Hans' excellent homemade beer. Annemarie & Hans also helped plan our activities and made bookings on our behalf. Within the Bays is located in a beautiful rainforest setting on the mountainside and has a fabulous view over Mercury Bay. Overall an unsurpassed combination of location, comfort and hospitality.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Ian, Thank you very much for your review. Nice to know you loved our "nibbles" and beer. We are indeed lucky to live in such a beautiful place that we can share with guests from all over the world. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

Our family (including our 16 year old teenage daughter) stayed at Within the Bays in December, 2016 for two nights. Of all of the accommodations we stayed at in New Zealand, this was by far our favorite and most memorable. The owners, Hans and Annemarie are fascinating, very personable, fun folks that went out of their way to make us feel completely comfortable and welcome. Hans shared his homemade beer and jams and Annemarie shared her incredible talents on the spinning wheel. Annemarie is an outstanding cook and made the most delicious breakfasts for us (homemade breads - yum!). We felt so fortunate to have found this place and will definitely stay at Within the Bays when we return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subiburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 7 January 2017
Dear subiburton, Thank you so much for this very nice review! It was fun to have you with us and we are looking forward to a photo of the needle felting work that your daughter learned to do here. And of course you are more than welcome to stay with us again when you return to New Zealand. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016

The view is more beautiful than the picture and Annemarie and Hans were the perfect hosts. They shared their home, wine, homemade beer and knowledge of Whitianga and New Zealand with us. Since this was our first trip to New Zealand, we appreciated their recommendations for restaurants and activities which were perfect. They recommended Lost Springs Spa and called for an appointment for us. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Their breakfast was wonderful. We choose freshly baked croissants and homemade preserves with fruit from the menu. It's a specialty of the house and the food was excellent. The room was very clean and supplied with all the travel necessities and extras you would find in an expensive hotel. Bed was comfortable and location was quiet. We were treated like guests but felt like family when we left. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Two rooms separated by a large bathroom. Both rooms are only rented to families or traveling partie...
See more room tips
Green Features: Practices are consistent with their environmental statement.
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 31 December 2016
Dear James S, Thank you so much for this lovely review! It was our pleasure to host you two! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
4.2 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
10.2 km away
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
10.8 km away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.0 km away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.1 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Property: Within The Bays
Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price range (per night): $268 - $405
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing