We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay in a Superb Location”
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Annemarie and Hans were outstanding hosts and ensured we had an extremely enjoyable and memorable 3-night stay in their beautiful home. Lots of little extras including Annemarie's hors d'oeuvres and Hans' excellent homemade beer. Annemarie & Hans also helped plan our activities and made bookings on our behalf. Within the Bays is located in a beautiful rainforest setting on the mountainside and has a fabulous view over Mercury Bay. Overall an unsurpassed combination of location, comfort and hospitality.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Ian, Thank you very much for your review. Nice to know you loved our "nibbles" and beer. We are indeed lucky to live in such a beautiful place that we can share with guests from all over the world. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Our family (including our 16 year old teenage daughter) stayed at Within the Bays in December, 2016 for two nights. Of all of the accommodations we stayed at in New Zealand, this was by far our favorite and most memorable. The owners, Hans and Annemarie are fascinating, very personable, fun folks that went out of their way to make us feel completely comfortable and welcome. Hans shared his homemade beer and jams and Annemarie shared her incredible talents on the spinning wheel. Annemarie is an outstanding cook and made the most delicious breakfasts for us (homemade breads - yum!). We felt so fortunate to have found this place and will definitely stay at Within the Bays when we return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank subiburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2017

Dear subiburton, Thank you so much for this very nice review! It was fun to have you with us and we are looking forward to a photo of the needle felting work that your daughter learned to do here. And of course you are more than welcome to stay with us again when you return to New Zealand. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

The view is more beautiful than the picture and Annemarie and Hans were the perfect hosts. They shared their home, wine, homemade beer and knowledge of Whitianga and New Zealand with us. Since this was our first trip to New Zealand, we appreciated their recommendations for restaurants and activities which were perfect. They recommended Lost Springs Spa and called for an appointment for us. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Their breakfast was wonderful. We choose freshly baked croissants and homemade preserves with fruit from the menu. It's a specialty of the house and the food was excellent. The room was very clean and supplied with all the travel necessities and extras you would find in an expensive hotel. Bed was comfortable and location was quiet. We were treated like guests but felt like family when we left. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Two rooms separated by a large bathroom. Both rooms are only rented to families or traveling partie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear James S, Thank you so much for this lovely review! It was our pleasure to host you two! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted on the drive when we arrived, it was clear that Within The Bays was somewhere special. Annemarie and Hans were superb hosts, friendly, attentive and helpful. It was wonderful to have the opportunity to chat with them over a glass of wine, Hans's excellent home-brewed beer and Annemarie's canapés. We learnt a lot about life on New Zealand as well as getting some good advice about attractions and restaurants. The breakfasts were magnificent; Hans's home made jams a highlight, but not to forget the muesli which was very special and excellent eggs-over-easy. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The views were stunning.
It is impossible to recommend Within The Bays too highly. If there's a better B&B anywhere, I'd be very surprised.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Bighead, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests! Thank you so much for this review; very kind of you! It is nice to know that you liked our advice regarding restaurants and things to do. We hope you have a wonderful holiday in New Zealand with lots of great B&Bs and pleasant weather! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I had an extremely pleasant stay at Within The Bays and would gladly recommend here to everyone. The B&B is wonderfully turned out, views magnificent and breakfast delicious. I also appreciated the vast trove of local info about what to do and where to dine, as well as detailed travel directions both getting there and getting to my next destination. A really great place to spend some days enjoying the magnificence of the Coromandel Peninsula

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rainergibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thanks you so much for this review Rainer! As you wrote: it is great to have few days in the Coromandel to enjoy everything it has to offer. We are truly lucky to live in such a great place and are happy to share it with our guests. Kind regards, Annemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
30.6 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
4.1 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
505 reviews
10.3 km away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Whitianga
169 reviews
11.2 km away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
27.2 km away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: $269 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing