We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for a better experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Raymore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for a better experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016

The view is more beautiful than the picture and Annemarie and Hans were the perfect hosts. They shared their home, wine, homemade beer and knowledge of Whitianga and New Zealand with us. Since this was our first trip to New Zealand, we appreciated their recommendations for restaurants and activities which were perfect. They recommended Lost Springs Spa and called for an appointment for us. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Their breakfast was wonderful. We choose freshly baked croissants and homemade preserves with fruit from the menu. It's a specialty of the house and the food was excellent. The room was very clean and supplied with all the travel necessities and extras you would find in an expensive hotel. Bed was comfortable and location was quiet. We were treated like guests but felt like family when we left. Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Two rooms separated by a large bathroom. Both rooms are only rented to families or traveling partie...
See more room tips
Green Features: Practices are consistent with their environmental statement.
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 31 December 2016
Dear James S, Thank you so much for this lovely review! It was our pleasure to host you two! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted on the drive when we arrived, it was clear that Within The Bays was somewhere special. Annemarie and Hans were superb hosts, friendly, attentive and helpful. It was wonderful to have the opportunity to chat with them over a glass of wine, Hans's excellent home-brewed beer and Annemarie's canapés. We learnt a lot about life on New Zealand as well as getting some good advice about attractions and restaurants. The breakfasts were magnificent; Hans's home made jams a highlight, but not to forget the muesli which was very special and excellent eggs-over-easy. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The views were stunning.
It is impossible to recommend Within The Bays too highly. If there's a better B&B anywhere, I'd be very surprised.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 31 October 2016
Dear Bighead, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests! Thank you so much for this review; very kind of you! It is nice to know that you liked our advice regarding restaurants and things to do. We hope you have a wonderful holiday in New Zealand with lots of great B&Bs and pleasant weather! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2016

I had an extremely pleasant stay at Within The Bays and would gladly recommend here to everyone. The B&B is wonderfully turned out, views magnificent and breakfast delicious. I also appreciated the vast trove of local info about what to do and where to dine, as well as detailed travel directions both getting there and getting to my next destination. A really great place to spend some days enjoying the magnificence of the Coromandel Peninsula

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainergibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 16 July 2016
Thanks you so much for this review Rainer! As you wrote: it is great to have few days in the Coromandel to enjoy everything it has to offer. We are truly lucky to live in such a great place and are happy to share it with our guests. Kind regards, Annemarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Within The Bays for 3 nights and it was an amazing experience...esp. because Annemarie & Hans are such lovely people and go the extra mile for their guests (sharing a glass of wine and stories, recommending restaurants and tours and even booking them for you, etc.). During our stay we felt more like family than guests and the room/house is great and super clean. We had a baby travelling with us and it was really easy, because Annemarie & Hans provided a cot and didn't mind her crying at night. The breakfast with homemade jams and yummy croissants was a treat every morning and the perfect start to explore beautiful Whitianga. I would highly recommend Within The Bays to all my family and friends and I hope to be back some day. Thanks Annemarie & Hans for a relaxing 4 days with you, G., C. & E.

Stayed May 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 18 May 2016
Dear Connie, It was our pleasure to look after you, your mum and beautiful 5 week old baby daughter! She gave us the chance to try "The Calming Hold" on a crying baby. So amazing that works! A big Thank You to Dr. Robert Hamilton who discovered it! We hope to meet you all again next time you visit New Zealand. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2016

Myself and Priya were fortunate to stumble on a review about within the bays and it did not disappoint. Annemarie and Hans have a lovely house overlooking Whitianga and mercury bay. they were extremely welcoming and even sent us emails to help us with our road trip and tips on some lovely spots to stop. Their hospitality was excellent and we enjoyed the conversation over wine in the evening and the lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. we would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icuris247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 10 May 2016
Thank you so much for this review icuris! You both deserved a weekend away from your busy and demanding jobs; if you want to repeat it, you know you are always welcome! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
4.2 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
10.2 km away
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
10.8 km away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
27.2 km away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.1 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Property: Within The Bays
Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price range (per night): $269 - $401
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing