We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Within The Bays
Nearby Hotels
Crows Nest Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
89
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade beeranne marietheir beautiful homeglass of wineperfect hostsfreshly baked croissantsbay view roomparting giftnew zealandhome brewgreat companyour honeymoonus feel at homerooms are comfortablelovely housewarm hospitalitymercury bay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

From the moment we were greeted on the drive when we arrived, it was clear that Within The Bays was somewhere special. Annemarie and Hans were superb hosts, friendly, attentive and helpful. It was wonderful to have the opportunity to chat with them over a glass of wine, Hans's excellent home-brewed beer and Annemarie's canapés. We learnt a lot about life on New Zealand as well as getting some good advice about attractions and restaurants. The breakfasts were magnificent; Hans's home made jams a highlight, but not to forget the muesli which was very special and excellent eggs-over-easy. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable. The views were stunning.
It is impossible to recommend Within The Bays too highly. If there's a better B&B anywhere, I'd be very surprised.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bighead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Bighead, it was our pleasure to have you as our guests! Thank you so much for this review; very kind of you! It is nice to know that you liked our advice regarding restaurants and things to do. We hope you have a wonderful holiday in New Zealand with lots of great B&Bs and pleasant weather! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I had an extremely pleasant stay at Within The Bays and would gladly recommend here to everyone. The B&B is wonderfully turned out, views magnificent and breakfast delicious. I also appreciated the vast trove of local info about what to do and where to dine, as well as detailed travel directions both getting there and getting to my next destination. A really great place to spend some days enjoying the magnificence of the Coromandel Peninsula

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rainergibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thanks you so much for this review Rainer! As you wrote: it is great to have few days in the Coromandel to enjoy everything it has to offer. We are truly lucky to live in such a great place and are happy to share it with our guests. Kind regards, Annemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Within The Bays for 3 nights and it was an amazing experience...esp. because Annemarie & Hans are such lovely people and go the extra mile for their guests (sharing a glass of wine and stories, recommending restaurants and tours and even booking them for you, etc.). During our stay we felt more like family than guests and the room/house is great and super clean. We had a baby travelling with us and it was really easy, because Annemarie & Hans provided a cot and didn't mind her crying at night. The breakfast with homemade jams and yummy croissants was a treat every morning and the perfect start to explore beautiful Whitianga. I would highly recommend Within The Bays to all my family and friends and I hope to be back some day. Thanks Annemarie & Hans for a relaxing 4 days with you, G., C. & E.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Dear Connie, It was our pleasure to look after you, your mum and beautiful 5 week old baby daughter! She gave us the chance to try "The Calming Hold" on a crying baby. So amazing that works! A big Thank You to Dr. Robert Hamilton who discovered it! We hope to meet you all again next time you visit New Zealand. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Myself and Priya were fortunate to stumble on a review about within the bays and it did not disappoint. Annemarie and Hans have a lovely house overlooking Whitianga and mercury bay. they were extremely welcoming and even sent us emails to help us with our road trip and tips on some lovely spots to stop. Their hospitality was excellent and we enjoyed the conversation over wine in the evening and the lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. we would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icuris247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Thank you so much for this review icuris! You both deserved a weekend away from your busy and demanding jobs; if you want to repeat it, you know you are always welcome! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

After a long drive down from Russell, we were so happy to be welcomed by Annemarie and Hans at their lovely home on top of hill with such wonderful views of the town and bay! But even before we arrived, Annemarie made sure we had dinner reservations as we arrived on Valentine's Day! We received great advice for places to visit in the daytime, hiking along the beautiful coastline of the Coromandel, and spent some of the evening laughing and getting to know each other over a glass of wine...it felt as if we were long lost friends. Wonderful people, comfortable accommodations, delicious breakfasts, and their sincerity and hospitality made staying with them one of the highlights of our trip!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear TripAdvisor member, Thank you very much for this lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope you'll have fond memories of Within the Bays for a long time:>) Best regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews