We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in a beautiful location”
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I had an extremely pleasant stay at Within The Bays and would gladly recommend here to everyone. The B&B is wonderfully turned out, views magnificent and breakfast delicious. I also appreciated the vast trove of local info about what to do and where to dine, as well as detailed travel directions both getting there and getting to my next destination. A really great place to spend some days enjoying the magnificence of the Coromandel Peninsula

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rainergibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thanks you so much for this review Rainer! As you wrote: it is great to have few days in the Coromandel to enjoy everything it has to offer. We are truly lucky to live in such a great place and are happy to share it with our guests. Kind regards, Annemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Within The Bays for 3 nights and it was an amazing experience...esp. because Annemarie & Hans are such lovely people and go the extra mile for their guests (sharing a glass of wine and stories, recommending restaurants and tours and even booking them for you, etc.). During our stay we felt more like family than guests and the room/house is great and super clean. We had a baby travelling with us and it was really easy, because Annemarie & Hans provided a cot and didn't mind her crying at night. The breakfast with homemade jams and yummy croissants was a treat every morning and the perfect start to explore beautiful Whitianga. I would highly recommend Within The Bays to all my family and friends and I hope to be back some day. Thanks Annemarie & Hans for a relaxing 4 days with you, G., C. & E.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Dear Connie, It was our pleasure to look after you, your mum and beautiful 5 week old baby daughter! She gave us the chance to try "The Calming Hold" on a crying baby. So amazing that works! A big Thank You to Dr. Robert Hamilton who discovered it! We hope to meet you all again next time you visit New Zealand. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Myself and Priya were fortunate to stumble on a review about within the bays and it did not disappoint. Annemarie and Hans have a lovely house overlooking Whitianga and mercury bay. they were extremely welcoming and even sent us emails to help us with our road trip and tips on some lovely spots to stop. Their hospitality was excellent and we enjoyed the conversation over wine in the evening and the lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. we would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icuris247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Thank you so much for this review icuris! You both deserved a weekend away from your busy and demanding jobs; if you want to repeat it, you know you are always welcome! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

After a long drive down from Russell, we were so happy to be welcomed by Annemarie and Hans at their lovely home on top of hill with such wonderful views of the town and bay! But even before we arrived, Annemarie made sure we had dinner reservations as we arrived on Valentine's Day! We received great advice for places to visit in the daytime, hiking along the beautiful coastline of the Coromandel, and spent some of the evening laughing and getting to know each other over a glass of wine...it felt as if we were long lost friends. Wonderful people, comfortable accommodations, delicious breakfasts, and their sincerity and hospitality made staying with them one of the highlights of our trip!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear TripAdvisor member, Thank you very much for this lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope you'll have fond memories of Within the Bays for a long time:>) Best regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

What a great place. Hans and Anne-Marie were the best hosts anyone could expect. We arrived not knowing them at all but left feeling like they were long time friends. Fantastic accommodations, great breakfasts and unbelievable views. It was more than a B and B with great advice about the area and restaurants, as well as pre- and after dinner drinks and chats. We would rate this as one of the best B and B's we have stayed in over the years ( and we have stayed in many all over the world). Thanks for making us so welcome and comfortable. We feel we have made new friends. Don and Dolores Canada

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TLakeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you so much Don and Dolores! It was great meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We might meet in Canada? Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
30.6 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
4.1 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
435 reviews
2.1 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
514 reviews
4.1 km away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
3.6 km away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: $267 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing