We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Within The Bays
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$142
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
89
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade beeranne marietheir beautiful homeglass of wineperfect hostsfreshly baked croissantsbay view roomparting giftnew zealandb bhome brewfive star ratinggreat companyour honeymoonus feel at homerooms are comfortablelovely house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Within The Bays for 3 nights and it was an amazing experience...esp. because Annemarie & Hans are such lovely people and go the extra mile for their guests (sharing a glass of wine and stories, recommending restaurants and tours and even booking them for you, etc.). During our stay we felt more like family than guests and the room/house is great and super clean. We had a baby travelling with us and it was really easy, because Annemarie & Hans provided a cot and didn't mind her crying at night. The breakfast with homemade jams and yummy croissants was a treat every morning and the perfect start to explore beautiful Whitianga. I would highly recommend Within The Bays to all my family and friends and I hope to be back some day. Thanks Annemarie & Hans for a relaxing 4 days with you, G., C. & E.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Dear Connie, It was our pleasure to look after you, your mum and beautiful 5 week old baby daughter! She gave us the chance to try "The Calming Hold" on a crying baby. So amazing that works! A big Thank You to Dr. Robert Hamilton who discovered it! We hope to meet you all again next time you visit New Zealand. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

Myself and Priya were fortunate to stumble on a review about within the bays and it did not disappoint. Annemarie and Hans have a lovely house overlooking Whitianga and mercury bay. they were extremely welcoming and even sent us emails to help us with our road trip and tips on some lovely spots to stop. Their hospitality was excellent and we enjoyed the conversation over wine in the evening and the lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. we would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icuris247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Thank you so much for this review icuris! You both deserved a weekend away from your busy and demanding jobs; if you want to repeat it, you know you are always welcome! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

After a long drive down from Russell, we were so happy to be welcomed by Annemarie and Hans at their lovely home on top of hill with such wonderful views of the town and bay! But even before we arrived, Annemarie made sure we had dinner reservations as we arrived on Valentine's Day! We received great advice for places to visit in the daytime, hiking along the beautiful coastline of the Coromandel, and spent some of the evening laughing and getting to know each other over a glass of wine...it felt as if we were long lost friends. Wonderful people, comfortable accommodations, delicious breakfasts, and their sincerity and hospitality made staying with them one of the highlights of our trip!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Dear TripAdvisor member, Thank you very much for this lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope you'll have fond memories of Within the Bays for a long time:>) Best regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

What a great place. Hans and Anne-Marie were the best hosts anyone could expect. We arrived not knowing them at all but left feeling like they were long time friends. Fantastic accommodations, great breakfasts and unbelievable views. It was more than a B and B with great advice about the area and restaurants, as well as pre- and after dinner drinks and chats. We would rate this as one of the best B and B's we have stayed in over the years ( and we have stayed in many all over the world). Thanks for making us so welcome and comfortable. We feel we have made new friends. Don and Dolores Canada

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TLakeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you so much Don and Dolores! It was great meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We might meet in Canada? Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the hospitality of Hanz and Anna Marie. They made our stay very memorable and went way out of their way too make us feel welcome and explain some local attractions. We would Highly recommend booking here if you are lucky enough to get an opening. Wonderfull views from your very comfortable guest room!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank firescobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear firescobb, Thank you very much for your review! We love to chat with our guests about all the local attractions here: there is so much to do in and around Whitianga. Lovely to read that you enjoyed several of them. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews