We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Within The Bays
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crows Nest Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
89
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade beeranne marietheir beautiful homeglass of wineperfect hostsfreshly baked croissantsbay view roomparting giftnew zealandhome brewgreat companyour honeymoonus feel at homerooms are comfortablelovely housewarm hospitalitymercury bay
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

What a great place. Hans and Anne-Marie were the best hosts anyone could expect. We arrived not knowing them at all but left feeling like they were long time friends. Fantastic accommodations, great breakfasts and unbelievable views. It was more than a B and B with great advice about the area and restaurants, as well as pre- and after dinner drinks and chats. We would rate this as one of the best B and B's we have stayed in over the years ( and we have stayed in many all over the world). Thanks for making us so welcome and comfortable. We feel we have made new friends. Don and Dolores Canada

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TLakeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Thank you so much Don and Dolores! It was great meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We might meet in Canada? Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the hospitality of Hanz and Anna Marie. They made our stay very memorable and went way out of their way too make us feel welcome and explain some local attractions. We would Highly recommend booking here if you are lucky enough to get an opening. Wonderfull views from your very comfortable guest room!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank firescobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear firescobb, Thank you very much for your review! We love to chat with our guests about all the local attractions here: there is so much to do in and around Whitianga. Lovely to read that you enjoyed several of them. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

We spend six days with Annemarie and Hans and had a perfect experience. They are fantastic hosts, giving excellent advice and recommendations on what to do, where to dine and treated us so we felt home away from home at truly every moment.

The location is superb with perfect views to the bay, located very quietly up the hill in the middle of nature. Room and bathroom have every desirable installation, breakfast is personal, excellent with a wide variety and perfectly presented. Everything is ecological and very well kept.

The personal attention of our hosts made this a unique and highly recommendable part of our travel which will be difficult to beat. This was near to perfection!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lustsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear Lustsee, thank you so much! We truly enjoyed your company too and are glad you had such a nice time here with us.
Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

The best part of our 2 week trip was meeting Hans and AnneMarie. They are exceptional hosts, their home is beautiful and they were so warm and welcoming that we felt like honored guests.

The beautiful views of Mercury Bay are breathtaking from the balcony, and waking up to the view and AnneMarie's fresh baked croissants (with Hans' homemade jams) was just a dream. We stayed with our two children (14 and 9) and they also had a blast; our daughter has really taken to needle felting - learned from AnneMarie. The two rooms are set up wonderfully with a lovely HUGE wheelchair-friendly bathroom in between. The hosts have great relationships with all of the local restaurants in town and were able to get us reservations at lovely places for dinner.

I really cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay. I wish I could add two more stars to my review!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Dear Jeni B, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are very happy that we could contribute to a great NZ vacation experience and are looking forward to a photo of your daughter's needle felting art. We are always happy to advice our guests about the great restaurants here in Whitianga plus all the things people can do in the area. We hope to meet you all again somewhere in the future:>) Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Annemarie and Hans go the extra mile to make their guests comfortable. They are engaging, thoughtful and willingly provide help and guidance to make their guest's stay enjoyable and memorable. Beautiful location offering peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsnvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Thank you very much DSNVD. It is so nice to read you had a good time at Within the Bays! Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews