We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 2 day stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 40 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful 2 day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

After a long drive down from Russell, we were so happy to be welcomed by Annemarie and Hans at their lovely home on top of hill with such wonderful views of the town and bay! But even before we arrived, Annemarie made sure we had dinner reservations as we arrived on Valentine's Day! We received great advice for places to visit in the daytime, hiking along the beautiful coastline of the Coromandel, and spent some of the evening laughing and getting to know each other over a glass of wine...it felt as if we were long lost friends. Wonderful people, comfortable accommodations, delicious breakfasts, and their sincerity and hospitality made staying with them one of the highlights of our trip!

Stayed February 2016
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 12 April 2016
Dear TripAdvisor member, Thank you very much for this lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope you'll have fond memories of Within the Bays for a long time:>) Best regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

What a great place. Hans and Anne-Marie were the best hosts anyone could expect. We arrived not knowing them at all but left feeling like they were long time friends. Fantastic accommodations, great breakfasts and unbelievable views. It was more than a B and B with great advice about the area and restaurants, as well as pre- and after dinner drinks and chats. We would rate this as one of the best B and B's we have stayed in over the years ( and we have stayed in many all over the world). Thanks for making us so welcome and comfortable. We feel we have made new friends. Don and Dolores Canada

Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TLakeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Thank you so much Don and Dolores! It was great meeting you and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We might meet in Canada? Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Meadows, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved the hospitality of Hanz and Anna Marie. They made our stay very memorable and went way out of their way too make us feel welcome and explain some local attractions. We would Highly recommend booking here if you are lucky enough to get an opening. Wonderfull views from your very comfortable guest room!

Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank firescobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 30 March 2016
Dear firescobb, Thank you very much for your review! We love to chat with our guests about all the local attractions here: there is so much to do in and around Whitianga. Lovely to read that you enjoyed several of them. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seeshaupt, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

We spend six days with Annemarie and Hans and had a perfect experience. They are fantastic hosts, giving excellent advice and recommendations on what to do, where to dine and treated us so we felt home away from home at truly every moment.

The location is superb with perfect views to the bay, located very quietly up the hill in the middle of nature. Room and bathroom have every desirable installation, breakfast is personal, excellent with a wide variety and perfectly presented. Everything is ecological and very well kept.

The personal attention of our hosts made this a unique and highly recommendable part of our travel which will be difficult to beat. This was near to perfection!

Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lustsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 14 February 2016
Dear Lustsee, thank you so much! We truly enjoyed your company too and are glad you had such a nice time here with us.
Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zushi, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2016

The best part of our 2 week trip was meeting Hans and AnneMarie. They are exceptional hosts, their home is beautiful and they were so warm and welcoming that we felt like honored guests.

The beautiful views of Mercury Bay are breathtaking from the balcony, and waking up to the view and AnneMarie's fresh baked croissants (with Hans' homemade jams) was just a dream. We stayed with our two children (14 and 9) and they also had a blast; our daughter has really taken to needle felting - learned from AnneMarie. The two rooms are set up wonderfully with a lovely HUGE wheelchair-friendly bathroom in between. The hosts have great relationships with all of the local restaurants in town and were able to get us reservations at lovely places for dinner.

I really cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay. I wish I could add two more stars to my review!

Green Features: water conserving fixtures, reusable soap/shampoo dispensers, linen reuse, energy conservation
  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear Jeni B, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are very happy that we could contribute to a great NZ vacation experience and are looking forward to a photo of your daughter's needle felting art. We are always happy to advice our guests about the great restaurants here in Whitianga plus all the things people can do in the area. We hope to meet you all again somewhere in the future:>) Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
4.2 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
10.2 km away
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
10.8 km away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 10 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.0 km away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 40 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.1 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Property: Within The Bays
Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price range (per night): $268 - $405
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing