We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest Band B in New Zealand”
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 42 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The friendliest Band B in New Zealand”
Reviewed 17 December 2014

We spent 2 nights with Annemarie and Hans, and had the loveliest welcome, and felt completely at home. The hospitality was second to none, and we had most enjoyable evenings chatting over a glass of wine and delicious breakfasts. The views are probably about the best in Whitianga, and their home is both beautiful and comfortable. Very helpful recommendations for trips and restaurants. We would highly recommend a stay there, and will certainly go back if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Ther is a large double room with en suite and a connecting room for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 24 December 2014
Thank you very much for this review Celia! We agree on what you wrote about the view from our place: it is beautiful and tranquil. Sitting on the deck with a glass of wine and watching the sailing boats on the blue water of Mercury Bay, it feels a bit like paradise! :>)
We would love to see you again when you return to New Zealand some time in the future.
Kindest regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Friesland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2014

We could not have ended our Holiday in New-Zealand at a better place. The views of Within the Bays B&B are amazing and the room is very comfertable. But above all, the hosts Hans and Annemarie are the nicest en most helpfull of people. We experienced hospitality as it should be. We would recommend everyone to visit this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Thanks so much for your review! We try to offer our guests a truly personal service and it was our pleasure to help you two with those little jobs that need to be done before the long trip back. We are looking forward to the names you'll give your little kiwis and will post their adventures on our FaceBook page:>) All the best for the future and maybe we'll meet again. Cheers, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We spent 4 days with Annemarie and Hans in early October. The room was excellent and had a great bay view. They welcomed us like members of the family. Their restaurant and sightseeing recommendations were great, our favorite being a visit to the man who crafts knives by hand, not in the guidebooks. There is a second room available and if you are traveling with children, we highly recommend staying here as Hans has built a hobit house and they will love it. For adults, sharing Han's homemade beer was a highlight. And thanks, Annemarie, for the sandfly repellant, in did come in handy later on our trip.

Room Tip: only one room to chose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Bill, it is great to read you had such a good time in Whitianga while staying with us. We appreciate your review mentioning the children's Hobbit House and Hans' home made beer:>) Any news about your little woolen traveling companions? We'd love to hear from them too:>)
Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at Within the Bays a few weeks ago and it is a trip we will remember, for all the right reasons, forever. Our hosts Annemarie and Hans were excellent hosts, opening up their home to all 4 of us that made us feel very warm and welcome. Our 2 kids, aged 8 & 11, did not want leave as they had toys, games and space to play as well as great home made cookies to nourish them. And the breakfast was just excellent. The home is set amidst a gorgeous setting and has all the modern facilities that discerning travellers could ever want. Our only regret was that we didn't spend anymore time with them in their lovely home. If we ever head to the Coromandel, we will surely stay at Within the Bays again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViktorJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review; we loved having all four of you at our place. The children made some clever buildings with the Lego but their constructions with the speed domino were the best we've ever seen! We would love to see you again on your next visit to The Coromandel. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We thorougly enjoyed our three nights stay at Within the Bays. We were looking for a short escape to relax and celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place.

The place is magnificent and meticulously maintained by the wonderful hosts Annemarie and Hans who did their very best to pamper us and make us feel at home away from home. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

The views are amazing and the service is 5 star. Excellent value for money too. Highly recommended +++

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oaks_Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much! It was wonderful to meet you and we are looking forward to catching up with you again. Now you taught us how to say "cheers" in Armenian, we hope to meet other guests to say "Genatsnit" with over a glass of wine! :>)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
10.3 km away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
10.8 km away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
3.0 km away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 42 in Whitianga
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
53 reviews
27.2 km away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
274 reviews
2.1 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Property: Within The Bays
Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price range (per night): $269 - $396
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing