We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Within The Bays
Nearby Hotels
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crows Nest Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
89
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade beeranne marietheir beautiful homeglass of wineperfect hostsfreshly baked croissantsbay view roomparting giftnew zealandhome brewgreat companyour honeymoonus feel at homerooms are comfortablelovely housewarm hospitalitymercury bay
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2014

We could not have ended our Holiday in New-Zealand at a better place. The views of Within the Bays B&B are amazing and the room is very comfertable. But above all, the hosts Hans and Annemarie are the nicest en most helpfull of people. We experienced hospitality as it should be. We would recommend everyone to visit this B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSandNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2014

Thanks so much for your review! We try to offer our guests a truly personal service and it was our pleasure to help you two with those little jobs that need to be done before the long trip back. We are looking forward to the names you'll give your little kiwis and will post their adventures on our FaceBook page:>) All the best for the future and maybe we'll meet again. Cheers, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We spent 4 days with Annemarie and Hans in early October. The room was excellent and had a great bay view. They welcomed us like members of the family. Their restaurant and sightseeing recommendations were great, our favorite being a visit to the man who crafts knives by hand, not in the guidebooks. There is a second room available and if you are traveling with children, we highly recommend staying here as Hans has built a hobit house and they will love it. For adults, sharing Han's homemade beer was a highlight. And thanks, Annemarie, for the sandfly repellant, in did come in handy later on our trip.

Room Tip: only one room to chose from.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear Bill, it is great to read you had such a good time in Whitianga while staying with us. We appreciate your review mentioning the children's Hobbit House and Hans' home made beer:>) Any news about your little woolen traveling companions? We'd love to hear from them too:>)
Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at Within the Bays a few weeks ago and it is a trip we will remember, for all the right reasons, forever. Our hosts Annemarie and Hans were excellent hosts, opening up their home to all 4 of us that made us feel very warm and welcome. Our 2 kids, aged 8 & 11, did not want leave as they had toys, games and space to play as well as great home made cookies to nourish them. And the breakfast was just excellent. The home is set amidst a gorgeous setting and has all the modern facilities that discerning travellers could ever want. Our only regret was that we didn't spend anymore time with them in their lovely home. If we ever head to the Coromandel, we will surely stay at Within the Bays again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ViktorJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review; we loved having all four of you at our place. The children made some clever buildings with the Lego but their constructions with the speed domino were the best we've ever seen! We would love to see you again on your next visit to The Coromandel. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We thorougly enjoyed our three nights stay at Within the Bays. We were looking for a short escape to relax and celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place.

The place is magnificent and meticulously maintained by the wonderful hosts Annemarie and Hans who did their very best to pamper us and make us feel at home away from home. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

The views are amazing and the service is 5 star. Excellent value for money too. Highly recommended +++

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oaks_Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much! It was wonderful to meet you and we are looking forward to catching up with you again. Now you taught us how to say "cheers" in Armenian, we hope to meet other guests to say "Genatsnit" with over a glass of wine! :>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We spent one weekend with Hans and Annemarie in March 2013 and had a wonderful time from start to finish. The location itself is stunning, it must be one of the best views over Whitianga, maybe of the whole Coromandel! Hans and Annemarie have very tastefully built and decorated their home and guest room.
Our hosts were genuinely welcoming and friendly, and always available to provide advice on how to best enjoy the area or make a booking for us, while also being discreet when appropriate. We thoroughly enjoyed the surprise on Saturday night when we returned from dinner and Hans and Annemarie invited us to continue the night conversing and enjoying wine with them!.
The breakfast on Sunday morning was 5 stars, and certainly got us well started to enjoy a morning of sea kayaking to magnificent Cathedral cove.
I would love to go back! Annemarie, Hans, thanks again for this beautiful weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words; Hans and I really appreciate it! Thanks again:>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews