We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Whitianga”
Review of Within The Bays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Within The Bays
Ranked #9 of 43 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We spent 4 days with Annemarie and Hans in early October. The room was excellent and had a great bay view. They welcomed us like members of the family. Their restaurant and sightseeing recommendations were great, our favorite being a visit to the man who crafts knives by hand, not in the guidebooks. There is a second room available and if you are traveling with children, we highly recommend staying here as Hans has built a hobit house and they will love it. For adults, sharing Han's homemade beer was a highlight. And thanks, Annemarie, for the sandfly repellant, in did come in handy later on our trip.

Room Tip: only one room to chose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2014

Dear Bill, it is great to read you had such a good time in Whitianga while staying with us. We appreciate your review mentioning the children's Hobbit House and Hans' home made beer:>) Any news about your little woolen traveling companions? We'd love to hear from them too:>)
Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at Within the Bays a few weeks ago and it is a trip we will remember, for all the right reasons, forever. Our hosts Annemarie and Hans were excellent hosts, opening up their home to all 4 of us that made us feel very warm and welcome. Our 2 kids, aged 8 & 11, did not want leave as they had toys, games and space to play as well as great home made cookies to nourish them. And the breakfast was just excellent. The home is set amidst a gorgeous setting and has all the modern facilities that discerning travellers could ever want. Our only regret was that we didn't spend anymore time with them in their lovely home. If we ever head to the Coromandel, we will surely stay at Within the Bays again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ViktorJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review; we loved having all four of you at our place. The children made some clever buildings with the Lego but their constructions with the speed domino were the best we've ever seen! We would love to see you again on your next visit to The Coromandel. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We thorougly enjoyed our three nights stay at Within the Bays. We were looking for a short escape to relax and celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place.

The place is magnificent and meticulously maintained by the wonderful hosts Annemarie and Hans who did their very best to pamper us and make us feel at home away from home. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

The views are amazing and the service is 5 star. Excellent value for money too. Highly recommended +++

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oaks_Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much! It was wonderful to meet you and we are looking forward to catching up with you again. Now you taught us how to say "cheers" in Armenian, we hope to meet other guests to say "Genatsnit" with over a glass of wine! :>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We spent one weekend with Hans and Annemarie in March 2013 and had a wonderful time from start to finish. The location itself is stunning, it must be one of the best views over Whitianga, maybe of the whole Coromandel! Hans and Annemarie have very tastefully built and decorated their home and guest room.
Our hosts were genuinely welcoming and friendly, and always available to provide advice on how to best enjoy the area or make a booking for us, while also being discreet when appropriate. We thoroughly enjoyed the surprise on Saturday night when we returned from dinner and Hans and Annemarie invited us to continue the night conversing and enjoying wine with them!.
The breakfast on Sunday morning was 5 stars, and certainly got us well started to enjoy a morning of sea kayaking to magnificent Cathedral cove.
I would love to go back! Annemarie, Hans, thanks again for this beautiful weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words; Hans and I really appreciate it! Thanks again:>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Hans and Annemarie are one of the sweetest couples we met on our New Zealand adventure to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. We were so happy to have gotten to stay in their beautiful home. Loved our room and bath, the chocolates on the bed each night, the wine and appetizers in the evening, the delicious breakfasts in the morning which included Annemarie's yummy croissants, the great guidance for activities, but especially the warm and friendly smiles that we got each day from both of them. They didn't miss an opportunity to make our stay perfect. Although Hans kept saying that he couldn't accept that we thought things were perfect, I told him we would be giving them a six instead of a five star rating! Their home is beautiful with great views and the location an easy place to reach the beaches, town, and Cathedral Cave adventures. We loved being there and loved our hosts. Would love to return anytime!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you very much for your flattering review! We don't agree with the six stars though; we just like to spoil our guests a little:>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
30.6 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
4.1 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
506 reviews
10.3 km away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 43 in Whitianga
170 reviews
11.2 km away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
27.2 km away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Within The Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Within The Bays

Address: 49 Tarapatiki Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range: $274 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Bays is a luxury B&B where we welcome you our home: advice on local restaurants, best beaches, great art galleries, etc. While enjoying a glass of wine, beer or something else. Breakfast of your choice every morning. Children are very welcome and we have a lot of toys for them to play with. No pets except guide dogs. We speak English and Nederlands, ein wenig Deutch et un petit peux de Francais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Within The Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing