We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Within The Bays
Nearby Hotels
Oceanside Motel Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Oceans Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiralty Lodge Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Resort Whitianga(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crows Nest Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Resort(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Blue Marlin Apartments(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aotearoa Lodge(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
89
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade beeranne marietheir beautiful homeglass of wineperfect hostsfreshly baked croissantsbay view roomparting giftnew zealandhome brewgreat companyour honeymoonus feel at homerooms are comfortablelovely housewarm hospitalitymercury bay
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our family of 4 spent 2 nights at Within the Bays a few weeks ago and it is a trip we will remember, for all the right reasons, forever. Our hosts Annemarie and Hans were excellent hosts, opening up their home to all 4 of us that made us feel very warm and welcome. Our 2 kids, aged 8 & 11, did not want leave as they had toys, games and space to play as well as great home made cookies to nourish them. And the breakfast was just excellent. The home is set amidst a gorgeous setting and has all the modern facilities that discerning travellers could ever want. Our only regret was that we didn't spend anymore time with them in their lovely home. If we ever head to the Coromandel, we will surely stay at Within the Bays again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ViktorJulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you very much for your review; we loved having all four of you at our place. The children made some clever buildings with the Lego but their constructions with the speed domino were the best we've ever seen! We would love to see you again on your next visit to The Coromandel. Kind regards, Annemarie and Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We thorougly enjoyed our three nights stay at Within the Bays. We were looking for a short escape to relax and celebrate our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place.

The place is magnificent and meticulously maintained by the wonderful hosts Annemarie and Hans who did their very best to pamper us and make us feel at home away from home. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

The views are amazing and the service is 5 star. Excellent value for money too. Highly recommended +++

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oaks_Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you so much! It was wonderful to meet you and we are looking forward to catching up with you again. Now you taught us how to say "cheers" in Armenian, we hope to meet other guests to say "Genatsnit" with over a glass of wine! :>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We spent one weekend with Hans and Annemarie in March 2013 and had a wonderful time from start to finish. The location itself is stunning, it must be one of the best views over Whitianga, maybe of the whole Coromandel! Hans and Annemarie have very tastefully built and decorated their home and guest room.
Our hosts were genuinely welcoming and friendly, and always available to provide advice on how to best enjoy the area or make a booking for us, while also being discreet when appropriate. We thoroughly enjoyed the surprise on Saturday night when we returned from dinner and Hans and Annemarie invited us to continue the night conversing and enjoying wine with them!.
The breakfast on Sunday morning was 5 stars, and certainly got us well started to enjoy a morning of sea kayaking to magnificent Cathedral cove.
I would love to go back! Annemarie, Hans, thanks again for this beautiful weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words; Hans and I really appreciate it! Thanks again:>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Hans and Annemarie are one of the sweetest couples we met on our New Zealand adventure to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary. We were so happy to have gotten to stay in their beautiful home. Loved our room and bath, the chocolates on the bed each night, the wine and appetizers in the evening, the delicious breakfasts in the morning which included Annemarie's yummy croissants, the great guidance for activities, but especially the warm and friendly smiles that we got each day from both of them. They didn't miss an opportunity to make our stay perfect. Although Hans kept saying that he couldn't accept that we thought things were perfect, I told him we would be giving them a six instead of a five star rating! Their home is beautiful with great views and the location an easy place to reach the beaches, town, and Cathedral Cave adventures. We loved being there and loved our hosts. Would love to return anytime!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you very much for your flattering review! We don't agree with the six stars though; we just like to spoil our guests a little:>)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Within The Bays was the third stop on our tour of New Zealand and we were not disappointed with our choice. The house is really beautiful and is in an absolutely stunning location. Hans & Annemarie were the most wonderful and inspiring hosts. They gave us some great recommendations of where to visit and where to eat. It was lovely to sit with them in the evenings and share a glass of wine, or a glass of Hans's homemade beer! Thank you Hans and Annemarie for making our stay at Whitianga so memorable. Particular thanks to Annemarie for teaching me how to do Needle Felting - a revelation. If you visit Whitianga, you should definitely stay at Within The Bays.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
withinthebays, Owner at Within The Bays, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thanks so much for your review! It is nice to read that you enjoy your new hobby in needle felting! Easier than learning how to spin :>) Kind regards, Annemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews