We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian C

Fantastic three days

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2024
Fantastic three days at the end of our trip. A great location directly on the beach. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and had everything that we required for our stay. The nearest shops, bars and restaurants were a shortish walk away but we were please for the exercise. The host could not be more friendly or helpful.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$179
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Tripadvisor
    $179
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool
$236
  • Expedia.com
    $247
  • Hotels.com
    $247
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment 2 - Refurbished with beautiful sea views
$195
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $195
  • Tripadvisor
    $195
1.9 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beachside Resort Heated Pool
$161
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $143
  • Expedia.com
    $167
2.0 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Executive suite's private terrace overlooking the Mercury Bay
$212
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $195
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Hotels.com
    $114
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
1 bedroom unit
$155
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $138
2.8 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard studio of queen bed
$128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $129
  • Official Site
    $107
  • Hotels.com
    $131
1.5 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Villa
$392
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • Hotels.com
    $386
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel entrance
$120
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $120
2.2 km from Beachfront Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whitianga
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
450
92
17
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
450
92
17
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub spa pool beach equipment the kitchen two singles beach view fantastic location new zealand a wonderful stay stunning views town centre wished we could have stayed longer first floor stayed nights kate trampoline bbq
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Great location, suites are very nice, and the property is awesome with lots of facilities like grill area, hot tub, trampoline and an amazing beach! We had a lot of fun! The owner is very helpful. Recommend this for family or couples who want to be in a relaxed environment on a beautiful beach central to all sightseeing and hikes!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RR5428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

We stayed in a non-view room, but since it was a 30 second walk to the beach, that worked for us. The room was very large and very clean and everything worked perfectly. I didn't realize the beach here was so lovely, and we kept stopping to pick up and admire shells. So many shells! The man who checked us in (Paul?) was very friendly and welcoming. We spent our full day walking part of the Coromandel Coastal Walk. It was certainly a full day, but doable from Whitianga. We would choose this hotel again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank toomuchresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

The best motel in Whitianga - the only one right on the beach. All the others are over the road from the beach.
Beautiful room, everything we needed. The owners are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Can't fault it. We would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gary and Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

This is a lovely little resort with very kind and friendly staff and a perfect view of the ocean! Our ground floor unit patio led directly down to the beach, and was a short walk into town. The kitchenette was well appointed and the unit was sparklingly clean all the way around. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2024

We have been travelling throughout New Zealand on a 5 week tour. This was the last stop on our tour and in my view it was the best of the self catering style accommodation that we encountered. As a bonus it had a view from our first floor balcony to die for.
On the balcony 3 people can eat meals and share this idyllic setting. There is a main bedroom and an attached kitchen and dining area with a separate second bedroom isolated by a sliding door. The modern bathroom with walk in shower will be suitable for everyone that can climb a few stairs to the first floor apartments. There are also 3 ground floor apartments which will appeal to those who are perhaps less mobile. My wife thought the appliances and kitchen implements crockery and cutlery were very comprehensive and better than other places we have been to in NZ and other European countries. After driving long distances, feeling tired first appearances can often influence one’s impressions like hauling luggage up the steps will be forgotten when you see the view that awaits you from the balcony.
The agent who booked the beach front resort for us described it as “simple” probably because there is very little else provided by staff. There is no room servicing during a stay. New towels can be requested and there is an on-site spa pool, barbecue , sun loungers and coin op laundry for guests to use. The reception staff are very keen and helpful if any guest should need any assistance . We think that’s a great way to run this kind of accommodation. The township of Whitianga is about a 35 minute walk along the beach path or 5 minutes in the car. There are two supermarkets and a good selection of restaurants and bars in Whitianga . We ate out and in during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed feeling the beachfront resort exhibits including the rhythmic sound of small waves running up the beach.
Please believe that the views are much better than those we snapped with our i phones.

Room tip: Review says it all
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews