We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
0
1
6
0
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
1
6
0
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Wondered what we'd let ourselves in for after we had arrived and (belatedly) read the not so good reviews, but we found nothing amiss. The room was clean, bed comfortable, laundry fine and mine hostess pleasant. We do suggest you keep the windows closed or make sure you have a can of flyspray though. It might have just been the wrong time of year but we were forced to execute no less than 10 mosqitoes in our room before we turned out the lights the night we stayed!

Room tip: Have some fly spray
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Terrible reception i was greeted with out any frindliness and just asked for the money i owed upfront. I see now why they ask for payment upfront as motel was disgusting.
as we drove in we are greeted by what can only be described as a "squatters paradise" rubbish and furniture outaide and a run down moudly building that, thank sweet jesus, turned out to be the "cabins". Ewww.
I didnt expect much for $110 a niggt but a decent level of cleanliness. i wish i had done More research bwfore booking but booked this place as it has an extra bed for my child, Who i will be thoroughly scrubbing with bleach when we leave.
Motel is dirty, hairs in the mouldy shower, food in the microwave and fridgE, what i can only assume is someones projectile vomit or god forbid diarrhea on the toilet.
no soap in bathroom to wash hands. No diahwashing liquid. The side lamp doesnt work on left side. Crap old tv with only a couple of chaNnels. Dishes look gross and i can only assume previous occipants washed with wayer alone? i bought plastic supplies to avoid contracting hepatitis and wore my jandals in the shower.
Bed linen is old and untidy.
bin is not emptied for our 3 night stay, if i hadnt paid up front i would cancelled as i feel dirty just being in the room!
Oh the stove doesnt seem yo work properly either i had a pot of water on to boil for over an hour withput success on a lukewarm elemEnt (the 1 or.do which heated at all).
The coasters on the bedside are covered in previous occupants drink rings.
i can hear the othwr cabins toilet flush, people.moving about and getting into the ned directly behind mine. No action going on on this holiday cause that would be embarrassing in the morning right!
woken First night by a loud incessamt 10 minutes.of.knocking on the cabin doorS.

Whitianga is a lovely place when you stay elsewhere!

Date of stay: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank germphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed in the beach cabin -
Extremely bad attitude from the people running the accommodation
Cold water shower
No reception office on the site, so we had to ask people staying there where to go to check in (and then had to go to a different camping ground to check-in). There weren't even any signs to indicate this!
Noisy (from nearby road)
No air conditioning
Fat back TV
Dirty shower, with hairs in it

But the worst part of this was the bad attitude of the people running the accommodation. They didn't even greet us with a "hello". We were greeted with an abrupt "What do you want?", and then when we told them that we'd booked accommodation they said even more abruptly "Well have you got all your paperwork?" - and the very bad attitude continued.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Worst accommodation ever!!!! Situated away down the road and around the corner from the office we stupidly didn't view before we paid up front! Got the key, went down and walked in....there was a blood stain on the duvet, pulled back the sheet and there were three black hairs, checked the shower and the floor was black which we thought could just have been a bad stain.....it wasn't, it was pure filth! Went to talk to the owner, Grant, said I didn't want to stay could we have our money back. He offered us another room which I declined as I had no faith in his level of cleanliness. Then he got nasty and said tough! We wouldn't be getting our money back, called for a young guy to go check the room and said go get key off him, we went down to check other room which young guy was cleaning, whole room stunk of exit mold!!!! At that stage we told him we couldn't stay, gave him one last chance to refund us which he declined then left!!!! Worst experience EVER!!!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank larabell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
wellington
1422
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was the worst value place I have EVER stayed in. The place was filthy - dirt, mould, cobwebs, pools of water in bathroom. The bed was disgusting. The pillowcases and sheets all wrinkled. Looks like they hadnt been changed. The coffee and sugar in containers and were block solid so no use. Tea bags just ones out of a box. Very unhygenic on the bench. Two other couples were there while we were there and they both checked out after one night. We spoke to them and they thought the place was absolutely disgusting. After checking in we never saw the manager. This place is a rip-off. $120 for 2 people. We arrived to check in at the SHED. No-one there, just a note saying phone. We didnt have a phone with credit. So then phoned the number and told to contact Dawn. Who is Dawn? The lady next door.
Service was shocking, accommodation was shocking, isn't even on the beach. Photos on website are just blantant fraudlent.
This has been the worse value place I have stayed. Don't go - unless they really do charge you the appropriate price of about $70.

Room tip: Don't stay here. You will regret it
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews