We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another very good winery on Scotsdale Road”

Rickety Gate Winery
Ranked #14 of 39 things to do in Denmark
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Hubbard Family has exceeded even its own demanding expectations in producing wines that keep company with the best in WA. Their Reserve Range reflects all the diversity and quality the Great Southern has to offer and is ably complemented by five sparkling wines that promise to beguile with their elegance and longevity.
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We chose this place for our second winery to visit based on the name (why not?), but we were not in any way disappointed by the wines. The guy behind the counter was very friendly & knowledgeable - and very generous with his pours!
Definitely worth a visit.

Thank One_of_the_BOFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickety_Gate_Estate, Manager at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear GrumpsDC,

Thank you for taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your wine tasting experience with us.

We love that you visited us based on our name (we love it too!) and thanks for stopping by whilst you spent a leisurely day wine tasting your way around our beautiful town, we hope to see you again should your travels see you return to Australia in the future.

Warmest regards,
Jacqueline Kirby
on behalf of each of us at Rickety Gate Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

5 - 9 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

We went for lunch at Kirby's at Rickety Gate after finding so many very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. It was not worth it and given our entire meal ended up costing us $250, its left a bad taste.
The ambience. Like something out of the 80's. It was a hot day so you could only sit inside, where it was unusually dark. Every table, inside or outside, has a wonderful view of... the car park. The mood was not improved by the elevator music, bad cover versions of Sade, piped through the room.
The menu. While its ok in a small place to have a limited menu, it was uninspiring and hardly 'summer' like. And they were clearly in a rush for us to order - we were asked four times in quick succession if we were ready.
We opted for the two course menu for $70.
The two mains we ordered - roast lamb and a salmon dish - were both good but hardly memorable. A dense piece of Irish soda bread was provided - much like eating cake and another very odd choice for a hot summer day. The strawberry tart dessert was so sweet it went unfinished.
So it $70 each for two unexceptional courses and a piece of soda bread.
Wine (limited list if you don't like sauv blanc or chardonnay), a salad (which also went unfinished) and tea and coffee were extra. Points for letting us take home the remainder of the bottle of reisling.
In summary - don't be fooled by the 'fine dining' tag. There is better food and environs to be found in Denmark.

Thank beckeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickety_Gate_Estate, Manager at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear beckeams,

Firstly my apologies for the delay in replying and I do recall your visit well, as do each of our team at Kirby's at Rickety Gate..... you visited over the peak Christmas week and we all struggled considerably to try and please both yourself and your husband.

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy;
- our food
- our wine selection
- our service
- our decor
- our ambience
- our music
- our view
- our coffee (which your husband refused to drink)
- your table location

My team and I did ALL we possibly could to try our utmost to please you - from the moment of entry when I greeted you both, we knew that we were in for a challenge and I provided you a table by the window with the view of our vineyard, the Scotsdale Valley and our alpaca's (which was not to your liking either).

We tried several times to give you space and additional time to order however each time we did so, you would stare over at us, we would return to your table and you would 'huff and puff' and advise you needed further time to decide on your lunch choices (each time expressing your considerable lack of desire to be with us).... 4 visits to you over 25 minutes was correct.

We are sorry our menu did not meet your needs or desires, our freshly baked complimentary Irish soda bread is a favourite of many but sadly was not to your liking.
On the day my team advised me of the continuous struggle to please you so I personally came to your table to inquire what we could do to try even harder to turn things around for you and your comment to me that the Strawberry tart was 'revoltingly sweet' was interesting given it has freshly picked berries placed over basil creme patisserie and placed in an almond meal tart shell, complimented by balsamic ice-cream - none of which scream 'sweet' to us or our multiple guests who devoured and enjoyed this refreshingly Summer style dessert.
Yes we agree our restaurant was a touch dark as your husband made it known he needed his sunglasses to be by the window and he wanted our blinds to be rolled down on our veranda and we did so for you in the hope we could somehow make you both comfortable.

We welcome all feedback from our guests so that we may grow and continue to strive to deliver the finest dining experience in the Great Southern (which we feel is apparent from our multiple awards including Gold Plate & Savour Excellence Awards for 'Best Restaurant in a Winery' across Regional and Entire WA + the #1 position on TripAdvisor for Restaurants in Denmark).
In the case of your feedback, I am confident my team and I did every possible thing we could to try please you both and I would do nothing different - I guess some restaurants do not meet your desires and we are clearly one of them.

Kind regards,
Jacqueline Kirby
of Kirby's at Rickety Gate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

One of wineries on our list to do but only open on Saturday and Sunday we stopped in to try. Nice little cellar door attached to a well presented restaurant overlooking the winery. Had a great selection of wines to try friendly cellar door lady who had good knowledge about the wines which were all very good specially the reislings. Would love to go back and eat at their restaurant next time in town.

Thank Ryan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickety_Gate_Estate, Manager at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you 'Ryan I' for stopping by to wine taste over your weekend in Denmark, we are are most pleased to read you enjoyed the experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to spoil you and your guests in our restaurant upon your future visits to our town and thanks again for taking time to share such lovely feedback.

Warmest regards,
Jacqueline Kirby
on behalf of each of us at Rickety Gate Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We recently had our work Christmas in July at this great location.
The food was amazing and the service exceptional.
Rickety Gate is a must do when your in Denmark and is on top of my fine dining for this area.
Thank you, you will definitely be seeing me again.

Thank Kinnearki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickety_Gate_Estate, Manager at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you Kinnearki for taking the time to share such lovely feedback and for arranging the luncheon for yourself and your peers to celebrate 'Christmas in July'.

It was ever so lovely to hear the laughter coming from our private dining room - great company, fine food and fine wine are essential for any celebration and what a lovely time it sounded that you were all having together....

We appreciate your kind praise and were delighted to see you return just 2 weeks later!

Warmest regards
Jacqueline
on behalf of each of us at Rickety Gate Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Thank you to Jacqueline and her beautiful staff on a very special day out. Your attention to detail is amazing . The food, service, wine and beautiful atmosphere work together to create a truly wonderful dining experience. We will define try be back!

1  Thank Caring4Ucarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG8DNK, Manager at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you Caring4Ucarmel for your kind words,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your visit to Rickety Gate Estate and that each element came together to provide you a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you once again for taking the time to share such lovely feedback.

Warmest regards,
Jacqueline Kirby
on behalf of each of us at Rickety Gate Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rickety Gate Winery also viewed

 
Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 

Been to Rickety Gate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing