We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb dining experience”

Rickety Gate Winery
Ranked #14 of 39 things to do in Denmark
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Hubbard Family has exceeded even its own demanding expectations in producing wines that keep company with the best in WA. Their Reserve Range reflects all the diversity and quality the Great Southern has to offer and is ably complemented by five sparkling wines that promise to beguile with their elegance and longevity.
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Thank you to Jacqueline and her beautiful staff on a very special day out. Your attention to detail is amazing . The food, service, wine and beautiful atmosphere work together to create a truly wonderful dining experience. We will define try be back!

1  Thank Caring4Ucarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG8DNK, Manager at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you Caring4Ucarmel for your kind words,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your visit to Rickety Gate Estate and that each element came together to provide you a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you once again for taking the time to share such lovely feedback.

Warmest regards,
Jacqueline Kirby
on behalf of each of us at Rickety Gate Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

9 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016

We've been visiting this superb little winery since it opened. Much has changed! During past visits, we've enjoyed coffee and treats after sampling and purchasing fine wines. Our Canadian guests were disappointed to find neither caffeine nor cake, but enjoyed the brilliant reds on offer. Where else might one find an eight-year-old shiraz for casual tasting? In place of cafe-style coffee, there's now an award-winning restaurant. Looks like a future visit may soon be necessary!

Thank ozcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG8DNK, Owner at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Our goals are to continually raise the bar on everything we do here at Rickety Gate and replacing Platters, Coffee and Cake for "Fine Dining" was such an example which has proven to be hugely popular and we look forward to spoiling you and your guests on your next visit to our gorgeous area. A little advice would be to book early as Kirby's at Rickety Gate Restaurant is very difficult to get into at short notice. Phone Jacqueline on 9840 9967
We make our wines to last the distance and cellared many of the reds away until such a time they were ready for drinking and very much appreciate you noting their age.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Visited here over the Easter weekend and was so impressed! The service was very friendly and professional. Learned a great deal and tried some excellent wines. Changed my mind about my likes and dislikes! Don't miss this one!

Thank heliconia9PerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG8DNK, Owner at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Of all the things we do here at Rickety Gate Wines, the one thing that gives us the most amount of satisfaction is to assist in opening peoples minds to different wines and styles. This is made easy by having an extensive range of exceptional wines on tasting and that they were made on site in our own winery and allowing the wines to mature in the cellar until they are ready for consumption. Really pleased your enjoyed your experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

I have been drinking RG8 wines since 2003 that's a long time
There is no such thing a bad bottle of RG8 wine
Every wine is made in such a professional way that is is just not possible. The owners have committed to a "No Compromise" approach to wine making and it shows in EVERY bottle produced
Reds, Whites or Sparkly it is all just fantastic
The cellar door is a treat and the staff are great
If you are ever in Denmark
"Do yourself a Favour"
Call in and be blown away by the Quality, Professional attitude and above all brilliant service
Winery is now available for Weddings etc
Do not forget to book into the restaurant , Kirby's at RicketyGate for a 5 Star, food, service and of course the wine

Thank Alang004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG8DNK, Owner at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

There is very little left to say about this except THANK YOU for your very kind words.
Our "No Compromise" ethos has served us well over the past 17 years and your review is testament to that.
Looking forward to spoiling your with some special wines on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We had booked ourselves into Kirby's at Rickety Gate for a Saturday lunch and were very pleased with the result. We were not aware that is is an award winning restaurant. The food was delicious and the wait staff delightful. You can sit inside or out and as its not a huge place and that makes it more intimate. The manager greeted us and shared a little of her story that made the experience more personal for us. Her husband is the chef and they also run cooking classes.
Before eating we sampled their fine wines and the lass 'dishing them out' certainly knew her product. A bit pricey but most acceptable and enjoyable.

Thank Gerrig61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RG8DNK, Manager at Rickety Gate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Thank you Gerrig61 for your lovely feedback and for taking the time to visit our restaurant and cellar door at Rickety Gate.

We are most pleased to read you enjoyed your lunch along with your time spent in cellar door.
I enjoyed my time chatting with you sharing our story and we do hope to see you again in the future,

Warmest regards,
Jacqueline Kirby
on behalf of each of us at Rickety Gate Estate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rickety Gate Winery also viewed

 
Denmark, Western Australia
Denmark, Western Australia
 

Been to Rickety Gate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing