We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“52 Lazy, Hazy days and freewheeling liberty of a...”
other travellers have booked this property
pool of villa la cocoteraie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool of villa la cocoteraie
pool of villa la cocoteraie view on the Domaine of villa la cocoteraie
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
pool of villa la cocoteraie
pool of villa la cocoteraie
view on the Domaine of villa la cocoteraie
villa la cocoteraie
villa la cocoteraie
bedroom 1 villa la cocoteraie with bathroom en suite
bedroom 1 villa la cocoteraie with bathroom en suite
bedroom 2 villa la cocoteraie with bathroom en suite
bedroom 2 with bathroom en suite
bedroom 3 with bathroom en suite
big garden of villa la cocoteraie
terrace villa la cocoteraie
terrace 2 villa la cocoteraie
outside salon villa la cocoteraie
livingroom villa la cocoteraie
outside dining room villa la cocoteraie
villa la cocoteraie at night
beach in front of villa la cocoteraie
Sun set in front of villa la cocoteraie
chimney villa la cocoteraie
fireplace villa la cocoteraie
kitchen villa la cocoteraie
beach in front of villa la cocoteraie
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Le Morne

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
fred20147...
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“52 Lazy, Hazy days and freewheeling liberty of a bygone age in a Romantic Setting”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Alas, all good things, come to an end. Staying at the lovely villa for 2 months was just that sort of experience and we are sad for leaving you as hosts and the fabulous house. Of the many villas in Europe and the US, we have stayed in, we would certainly come back to this villas. It is strategically placed for persons of all ages. It is a dream to be woken up by a multitude of tweeting and colourful birds every morning and to have them as companions throughout the day. We were also treated by hundreds of deer on the estate from a discrete distance, and the family of pigs that roam the Estate and occasionally the gardens. The water lily pond in the mornings is exquisite. Younger couples would be captivated by such a romantic place and to be left alone. The more mature families will enjoy the freedom of space inside the house and a freewheeling liberty of a bygone age, for children to enjoy the mature, well tendered and pretty gardens and play in the excellent size swimming pool. And, for retired persons seeking a bolt hole to break away from colder climates to the peace and serenity offered by the grand estate which is away from the noise and bustle of a busy town but still close to the town of Le Morne (3 km), La Gaulette (5km) with its supermarkets and easy access to ATM machines to withdraw cash, Tamarine at 8km with a big supermarket. All European and Indian delicacies, and necessities can be found at any time, except on Sundays and Thursday afternoon when shops in Mauritius are generally shut. The daughter-in-law, Alice is a French trained Patissier and she makes delectable patisseries’. The son’s light aircraft in the distance makes any flier green with envy. No one can boast of an all-inclusive holiday in a private villa such as that villas! With the beach a short 100 meters away, and a garden within that property, Nadine will be bringing all her artwork and do painting here the next time.
With stricter overseeing by the guest and you, the housekeeper/ cook should be able to offer a spotlessly clean place and good food as well as washed and ironed clothes. After all she has 4+ hours every day for 6 days in an easy maintainable and beautiful house. We loved the artefacts that are dotted everywhere.
I have mobility problems, but moving around most parts of the house was easy in my “Quickie” wheelchair. The wheelchair access could be easier with a moveable gradient and it would make my life an absolute doll. Swimming pool stairs would also be a huge help. Suffering from MS, you had contacted the masseur. I started with him on a bi-weekly basis and within 2 weeks, he tended to me 3 times per week at the Cocoteraie and brought all the equipment with him. Ravinash Ramchurn, 00230 7571721 and Email : mika-2@live.com practices the TAO massage. He is trained in Mauritius and also by a visiting French expert. Most doorways are large enough to self-steer through; an absolute advantage. Having had neuro-physio therapy by 4 different therapists, I rank his to be very good and cost effective. He has certainly made a huge difference to my gait and balance, sometimes tending to me for 3 hours. He also did hydrotherapy in the wonderful swimming pool…. And gosh, he has the strength of a bull to take me out of the pool.
We did not hire a car, instead we chose to get around Mauritius by a taxi. You had introduced us to Rupsen who appointed Joshil Chunwan, Cotteau Raffin, La Gaulette. Tel: 00230 549 01294. joshil08@hotmail.com. Joshil we found cost effective and has a full size car. He acted as guide and waiting time is included.
It would not be complete without mentioning those excellent restaurants that are not too far from the house. I’d class them Michelin Guide 2 +

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience at villa Cocoteraie and in such a lovely writing!
We are looking forward to welcome you and your wife again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gedasjak
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Awsome vacation!!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a large group there for 8 days, and everything was perfect. Everyone of us loved the place. Highly recomend!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2015
Thank you very much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlStr
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house set in a lovely large garden with a sparkling swimming pool.”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful house set in a lovely large garden with a sparkling swimming pool. Waves can be heard crashing against the reef and a white sandy beach is a short walk across the road. Large shallow lagoon with clear water and lovely views on the Le Morne Brabant Mountain. All of us really enjoyed having breakfast or reading a book on the veranda. The main bedroom has a lovely enclosed outside shower with a lovely small garden that was a hit with all of us! The small kids spend hours entertaining themselves in the garden. There is also a small pond with small fish and tadpoles. Free WiFi mainly in the living room.
The property is a short drive from great kitesurfing spots. There are very few tourists around but we enjoyed that. You need to hire a car and we really enjoyed exploring the south with lovely forests nearby.
For our large family this Villa ticked most of the boxes i.e. affordable, location perfect, pool, garden for kids to play etc. The owners and housekeeper was always very friendly and keen to sort out any problems!
A few things to note is that the owners move out temporarily to a house right next door and I sometimes had a feeling that I was invading their privacy. There is very little closet space to pack out our suitcases with some of the closets full with clothes. There were quite a lot of ornaments, photoframes etc around the house which can be a problem with small children. The pool is not covered. The kitchen crockery and utensils consisted of a lot of odds and ends. Some of the bowls and cups are chipped and making coffee you end up with at least three types of mugs. The house is superficially cleaned with a lot of dust behind furniture and some cobwebs. There is mining activity nearby and the peeping sound of large front end loaders reversing can be heard from early morning for most of the day, which can spoil the atmosphere somewhat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely garden and pool. Good location.
Liked least: Old bedding, old kitchen utensils, crockery -odds and ends
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay at Villa La Cocoteraie. Indeed it is a private villa with many personal items in contrary to a hotel, so that until now guests said they felt very much at home … For further guest: simply ask if you’d like items to be removed please.
Important: The pool can be covered anytime on request.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the emotions of Mauritius in one place!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Amazing location, immersed in nature, mountains and forest on one side and the spectacular reef lagoon on the other, with amazing sunsets and sounds of waves crashing on the reef. What else but an amazing location to relax with a nice fire going and the sound of palm trees brushing in with the breeze. Housekeeper Marceline is ever so helpful and nice and was always available for any query we had. The grounds of the house itself are truly amazing and we would not think twice of visiting again. The only pity is that our holiday was only 14 days long !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the house and grounds
Liked least: Early check out
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thank you very much! We hope to welcome you again at La Cocoteraie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Reviewed 20 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing