We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot with wonderful views”
Review of Le Capitaine

Le Capitaine
Ranked #32 of 179 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Price range: US$20 - US$80
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Le Capitaine Grand Baie ,is a popular restaurant serving delicious fish and seafood dishes in a pleasant space that combines style with informality. Le Capitaine offers you to enjoy fresh fish,seafood and meats prepared and cooked to perfection.A unique blend of original recipes and must have favorites have resulted in a dedicated following. Fresh fish and lobster is the pick of the menu, while other delicious mains include fish cooked in banana leaf with spices and herbs ,the home creation since 1989 and high quality meats are also serve. We also served local Tapas.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We stopped here for lunch and it was wonderful. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The restaurant is very welcoming. We were on the road looking for a place to have lunch and this one really stood out.
We had the curry with shrimp and chicken and the creole calamari. Both were excellent. The calamari were tender and the curry was full of flavour. There wasn't any heat to it either. The dishes came with a wonderful bowl of rice which was seasoned and filled with raisins.
All in all, worth a return visit for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gisela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koomaren c, Owner at Le Capitaine, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your visit and the 5 stars review. Hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Had dinner with friends, enjoyed breathtaking scenery and phenomenal meals. The staff are incredibly helpful and accommodating. Highly recommended

Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koomaren c, Owner at Le Capitaine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you Mr James, we appreciate your review and hope to see you for another visit. Feel free to notify us about your 5 stars review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We heard about this restaurant via TripAdvisor and the booking was very easy and quick.

The ambient is almost cosy with a touch of exclusivity. The waiters are bery nice and take care about you. I really really recommend the seafood platter! In my opinion the best dish on the plate.

It’s not that cheap, but the quality is it definitely worth!

Thank you for an amazing evening!

Thank Fabio_IBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koomaren c, Owner at Le Capitaine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your visit and review. Hope to see you back again. Please notify us of your 5 stars rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

The fish and the Chicken had a great taste , next to Grand Bay tourist area. Good for Business lunch though.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pravin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koomaren c, Owner at Le Capitaine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank Mr Pravind for your review. Hope to see you back, please notify us of your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We visited le capitaine and because the weather had been bad they did not have a lot of fresh fish but had a 2.2kg red snapper so we asked for it to be filleted and shared it. It was delicious and what a lovely sauce was served with it. Then We had flambaed bananas .....delicious.....I only gave it four stars as the wine my husband wanted they didn't have and the next best was twice the price. Would definitely recommend !

Thank Clashfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
koomaren c, Owner at Le Capitaine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your visit and the review. We apologise for being short of the chosen wine as we depend much on our supplier. Hope at your next visit this is not the case. Please notify the staff of your review on trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Capitaine also viewed

Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to Le Capitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing