We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oneida County Historical Society
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Very interesting place!

This was a wonderfully interesting little museum that has been built into a church. It focuses on... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2018
Larry W
,
Rochester, New York
Nice range of exhibits, well-curated.

Definitely a place to do research into central NY genealogy, history. The exhibits are well-curate... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2018
RonL40
,
Utica, New York
Read all 11 reviews
  
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
6
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
5
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Great museum & archive devoted to County history. There are scarce sources, some unique, and the staff know the holdings & will lead you to the right place for your re

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

OCHS is a real gem, with outstanding displays, rich archives, and a well-assorted bookstore. There is also an ongoing lecture program.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank frankbX4573GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

I do lots of genealogy and this is always one of my stops in Utica. The volunteers who staff the family research area are very helpful and try their best to help you find what you are looking for. Also, unlike other resources in the area, the historical society has the actual documents! This is a very big deal if you are trying to read faded handwriting in a census document from the mid1800s. I tried to find information on microfilm and the writing was so faded that I found nothing until I located the original document at the historical society. This place is a hidden gem!

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank K8PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC