We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
98
30
11
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
30
11
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp fire historic hotel campfire grill great hotel parking garage great renovation great room winter carnival venison chili grand hall gas fire spa services corner room in room coffee renovated room restaurant staff recently renovated hotel
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a beautifully remodeled Hilton property. Easy, free parking leads to a short outside staircase leading to a veranda (where Mark Twain was once photographed).

We had drinks, sitting around one of several gas fire pits, on the porch. Lovely.

The lobby is stately. Front desk folks helpful.

Small old hotel rooms-nicely updated.

On the second floor near the bar is a terrific example of how the hotel ownership has incorporated history into the recent renovation. Blank note cards, pens and push pins are stocked so guests may post their memories in the phone booths.

Only suggestion would be to post instructions on how to operate the shower. Beautiful space. Just confuzzled by the shower controls.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cthyamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

We're honored by your outstanding rating of The Hotel Saranac! It's wonderful to know how much you enjoyed our property's lovely blend of historic charm and modern amenities. Our team is always happy to answer questions about operating any features of your accommodations. We're also glad our friendly front desk assistance, and convenient complimentary parking enhanced your visit. Many thanks for your warm compliments and we'd love you to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

The Hotel Saranac was wonderful visit to the past. Saranac Lake, built around the Trudeau Institute and advancements in the treatment of TB is a gem of a town. Hotel Saranac had been serving the region as an upscale getaway in the Adirondack Mountains. The hotel had completed a major renovation recently and has wonderfully appointed and comfortable rooms, a great bistro on the 1st floor and an even cozier bar in the upper lobby on the 2nd floor (like finding a hidden speakeasy). Great value and experience.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank Sunshine819478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

We love it when our guests are happy and truly appreciate your wonderful review! It's great to see that we were able to meet your expectations by providing comfortable rooms, welcoming facilities, and excellent value. Also, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the historic area. From our entire team here at The Hotel Saranac, we're grateful for your business and would love to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We stayed his twice this past summer. We booked the one bedroom suite both times and there was plenty of space. Great bed, beautiful views! We stayed on the 6th floor thinking we might meet the legendary ghost. At 4:00 am, the phone started flashing. Startled, we called the front desk who informed us that the phone flashes if there is a message. After checking, the clerk informed us that there was no message...was it a poltergeist? We didn't know. The breakfast is yummy. Loved the oatmeal! We will be back!

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank Barbiemindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you very much for choosing The Hotel Saranac! We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed both of your visits with us, and appreciated our comfortable accommodations and wonderful views. Perhaps we will never know the answer to the mysterious phone light, but it is fun to wonder. We wish you all the best, and we hope to see you again for a third visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Saranac Lake and there is no doubt that this is the best hotel in the area. Nice rooms, good service, underground parking, a good restaurant and bar, health club and a small beauty salon. A very nice and very large function room with it's own bar. No pool or hottub, and strange elevators that only go from the parking area to the second floor (you need to switch to go above two). But very good and highly recommended if you are visiting the area.

Room Tip: higher floors to avoid the noise from the function room on the second floor
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmartinmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

What an honor it is that you consider us the best choice for lodging in the Saranac Lake area! We work had to satisfy the needs of our guests and are so glad you enjoyed our facilities, service, and amenities. Thank you for recommending The Hotel Saranac to travelers visiting the area, and it would be a delight to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Not very exciting. The promenade entrance is week and the single capize shell globes would have made more of an impact by doing a double row of them the whole length. I’m kind of at a loss because it’s not inviting doesn’t scream welcome, but resembles more as something between a hospital lobby and train station.

Campfire menu looked inviting and interesting but the food was “meh”
We had the poutine consisting of undercooked potatoes and severely deficient in gravy. Presentation was okay.

Veggie burger was dry and the greens were wilted, not from cooking but from age! French fries were tasty. My husband had the campfire burger which was undercooked ( he asked for medium rare , they gave him rare), his French fries were tasty too.

The whole look of the campfire grill ( without a fireplace) is odd. It’s too bright to be sexy, but the furnishings scream Marshall’s discount. It wants to be progressive but the budget is obvious. And there are silly little lanterns on the table with fake battery operated candles. Yuk! whatever happened to lighting a match.. it’s the ADK’s for heavens sake.

Our waiter was trying way too hard to be funny. He only spoke to my husband glanced at me a couple times.

Our lunch was $80 we had one glass each of prosecco. We did not have desert.

Room Tip: Get one that looks at the lake
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Saranac, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Kim,
Thank you for taking a moment to share some thoughts on your recent stay. It's unfortunate to hear that your visit didn't fully meet your expectations, and we'll be sure to share your feedback with the team as we continually improve upon our guests' experiences. Given the opportunity, we look forward to exceeding your expectations when your travels bring you back our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews