We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sag Harbor Rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Historic whaling captains home, walking distance from the village of Sag Harbor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Historic whaling captains home, walking distance from the village of Sag Harbor
Every evening the sun puts on a lightshow over the water. Enjoy the water and dock, or take a nap in the hammock.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Historic whaling captains home, walking distance from the village of Sag Harbor
Every evening the sun puts on a lightshow over the water.
Enjoy the water and dock, or take a nap in the hammock.
Idyllic place for a quiet afternoon or evening
Enjoy breakfast on the large porch
This second floor bed room overlooks the cove.
This second floor bedroom overlooks the harbor
This third floor room overlooks the cove.
This third floor room overlooks the harbor
The living room has portraits of Charles Payne and his wife Marie, who built the house in 1832
The dining room is the second best place to eat breakfast, after the porch.
An office that connects the two second floor rooms
The second floor bathroom
The third floor bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sag Harbor, Long Island, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kpsaccuzz...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Sag Harbor Rental”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family have just spent 7 days at a charming whaling cottage in Sag Harbor.The position to town was great and the tranquility of the home was ideal.The owners Anne and Dave went out of their way to help and make our stay great.I recommend this home for a perfect holiday.
Thanks Anne and Dave
Kris and family x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosewalsh...
New Hyde Park, New York
1 review
“Perfect place, location and hosts”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ann and Dave offer this lovely, historic home to guests and provide everything needed for a wonderful stay. The porch overlooking the water is heavenly. You really feel like you are away from it all. Yet, a five minute walk has you in the heart of Sag Harbor and all it's great restaurants, shops and charm. I would highly recommends the Payne House to anyone. Ann's homemade muffins and granola are icing on the cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: mornings and evenings on the fabulous porch overlooking the water
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thanks Rose. We enjoyed hosting your family and look forward to Patricia's return next month. It was fun seeing you and your sisters enjoy the porch in the same way I do with my sisters.

Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eweaver_1...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Home in the Hamptons”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I (six people) stayed in this lovingly cared for home while attending a wedding. I can truly say that we were delighted with the accomodations and the warm, welcoming family that maintains this historic home. We immediately added an extra night to our stay and have already booked a return visit in the early fall!
The location is great-- a quick walk into Sag Harbor. Views from the house are water or garden so you are immediately at ease. The bedrooms are quite large and tastefully decorated with antiques and local memorabilia. The common spaces on the first floor feature high ceilings and lovely sitting areas. The expansive porch is an outdoor living room, with a sweeping lawn that borders the bay waters. There seemed to be a gentle breeze all day.
The owners serve a lovely breakfast with excellent coffee and newspapers. They are extremely knowledgable about the area and are eager to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
The posted photos do not fully reflect this gem. We plan to return often!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The history of the house and the location.
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
Thank you Ellen. We look forward to your return in October. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing