We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Drive by visit

We knew the lighthouse was closed, but drove there anyway. We were able to walk up to it and take... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
july20132013
,
Orange County New York
L H Junkie checkoff

Was in the Rochester area. Stopped by, closed for the season. However grounds and lighthouse are in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Wallysfood
,
Oceanside, New York
via mobile
Read all 75 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rochester
from US$127.93
More Info
from US$101.05
More Info
from US$117.18
More Info
from US$95.68
More Info
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
40
26
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
26
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews light house short visit take photos piece of history ontario beach park local history our tour guide volunteers ladder ships tower museum
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We stopped after leaving the Ontario Beach Park. Unfortunately, the Lighthouse was closed, but we were able to take a few pictures and walk the grounds.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We had to drive around quite a bit even with a GPS to find the little street that takes you up to it. It is very quaint and overlooks the river and waterside places. It would be more fun on a Spring Day or stop for a summer picnic.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank lmk1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I've been to a few lighthouses and this one ranks up there with the rest of them. Definately worth the stop if you are in Rochester.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Brothercane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I recommend taking the tour when it's offered. It's not open until 1pm. I went early in the week when it was not open, but went back on the weekend when I had some free time. The tour is only $5, but you get a lot of information about the keepers house and the Lighthouse itself. It was explained why the Lighthouse is where it is today. The Lady who gave the tour was very informative. Your able to climb to the top of the Lighthouse, but unable to step outside once at the top, but you do get good views of the inlet.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank mitchellm292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The location of this lighthouse seems rather strange, unless the port/marina area has greatly expanded since the lighthouse was first operational. Its current inland location makes you wonder how ti would help ships out on Lake Ontario. We've been there a couple times, but we never seem to find the lighthouse open. There are some interesting story boards around the area, along with some flags.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank StuartGustafson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews