We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amoudi Seafood Restaurant”
Review of Amoudi Bay

Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Delicious food! Try the fried calamai with squid ink aioli, it was the best I have ever had anywhere! The rock lobster was also really good. They serve it with linguine or orzo. Orzo much better IMHO.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"seafood"
in 194 reviews
"donkey poo"
in 56 reviews
"fresh fish"
in 97 reviews
"swimming area"
in 54 reviews
"the cliff"
in 166 reviews
"sunset taverna"
in 25 reviews
"octopus"
in 38 reviews
"around the corner"
in 43 reviews
"fishing village"
in 30 reviews
"lunch or dinner"
in 29 reviews
"walked down"
in 45 reviews
"jump off"
in 34 reviews
"beautiful spot"
in 37 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 25 reviews
"crystal clear water"
in 28 reviews
"small island"
in 24 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 26 reviews
Filter

251 - 255 of 3,429 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Ammoudi bay is situated at the bottom of the cliff. You can take a taxi or walk down 340 stairs and enjoy the view from in between to the top of cliff and bottom. Me and my hubby decided to walk down and were presently surprised with the donkeys that were lined up as we got closer to the bottom last few stairs ( not to mention all the donkey that you would witness on the steps as going down). As we reached the bottom it instantly felt amazingly good to be that close to water and looking above at the red brown colored cliff. There are many other options to eat at on this small strip but we opted for Ammoudi Bay Tavern as I had read all the good reviews.

Good food and great service and amazing views. We ordered Greek salad, calamari, tomato balls, tzatziki. And honestly there wasn’t much that we didn’t like about what we ordered. It was great and the portions were good to share between the two of us. And especially since we built up our appetite walking from our resort to bottom of the bay.

Definitely recommend going and to experience walking down the cliff.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank RichaKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Loved this swimming spot. The water is very clear and well worth the bit of rocks you have to walk through to get there.

The little island is not a far swim at all and there is a beautiful church on it. The climb to the cliff jump is easy - easier than getting back out of the water onto Oia’s shore. We cliff jumped and even witnessed some people diving off the cliff.

Gorgeous views of catamarans and Oia houses/hotels, even if you don’t want to swim I recommend going here. Walk down the ~250 stairs and back, it’s not too bad! Found it an easier stairway than that of Fira to the Old Port.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank camid71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This place is really cool, filled with restaurant its one of those places where you can get lost talking away. The views are epic and it's well worth the hike down the stairs to get there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank edinchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

You should visit Amoudi Bay if you are looking for some scenic bay postcard views. It has few taverns n restaurants right next to the sea where you could enjoy seafood, we didn’t have anything, as we are vegetarians. People do swim as well here, a path along the bay takes you to the swim spot. The path is not very well laid, more of a hiking trail sorts, getting narrow in the middle, so be careful of that.
By car, its very accessible, though parking might be an issue in high season. But during end April, we got parking spot easily.
We clicked some amazing pics at this place.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Vidushi_goyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amoudi Bay also viewed

 

Been to Amoudi Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing