We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (809)
Filter reviews
809 results
Traveller rating
376
239
105
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
239
105
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heavy suitcases tasting menu pool area very nice hotel michelin star main building spectacular views stayed here for two nights hotel is located dormy house cliffs donjon lounge france aperitif tub euros
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 809 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The hotel is located above Etretat and offers the most stunning view over the city, the shore and the ocean. The walk to city centre and (stony) beach is around 10 minutes. Booked last minute and only managed to get a Comfort room, which is the lowest category. Room was very small lacking air con, a safe and refrigerator. Other than that very well equipped. Wifi signal could be better in the hotel throughout and requires frequent reconnecting. Hotel is a stunning stylish villa offering great ambience. Parking is free. Versatile buffet breakfast is served in a beautifully decorated room with great view. If you manage to book a table in the hotel restaurant for dinner then you will indulge in a culinary adventure, which is either A la carte or a gourmet menu or tasting menu with or without pairing wines. In either case the ritual is to have the aperitif in the lounge or pool terrace before being escorted to your table. Pairing wines are incredible (as is the food) and while prices are high it is absolutely fair value for money. Staff is very professional, friendly and helpful. What a pleasant stay!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZ-b-right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomaineSaintClair, Propriétaire at Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

We're are very pleased to hear that you sincerely enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. To us, the greatest luxuries are our unique location, our quality service, authentic cuisine and "feel at home" atmosphere. And we must say that we like the idea that a open window on the parc or this ocean is the perfect air conditionner.
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We stayed here for two nights and loved Etretat so will definitely be back and we would stay here again. Our room was quirky but so over stocked with furniture that you couldn't open the wardrobe and there was little space (no phone or safe) and the shower was over the bath but you'd have had to have been less than 4ft tall to stand under it. Despite these things we still loved the hotel. The pool area was very welcome, though be warned that you'll need footwear as the fabulous slate pool surroundings get extremely hot. Drinks were fab if somewhat pricey but we experienced excellent staff and clean, wonderful spaces throughout the hotel.
We used the restaurant and booked in for the tasting menu with wines. This is where the experience was mixed. Most courses were okay but one or two were not good and one that we both returned. The staff were lovely but the service saw us still waiting for courses at nearly 11pm. The wine choices were very mixed, some were excellent and complemented the dishes very well. Others were very hit and miss and were awful combined with the food. This needs a major rethink as it was expensive and should have been better.
Despite these reservations we would return as the wonderful, leafy position of this hotel seems to be the best in Etretat though Dormy House has an enviable position but we enjoyed being up with the trees. Though I would certainly go elsewhere for dinner, hotel 5, food 3 so settled for a fair 4 overall.

Room tip: We didn't have aircon or other facilities in the room despite its size so I'd make sure that you ask when reserving.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cwakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomaineSaintClair, Propriétaire at Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear sir,
Thank you for such a detailed and expert commentary. We are sincerely sorry the tasting menu did not meet your expectations, and look forward to welcoming you again to give it another chance !
Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

There is a bit for every taste in this hotel from a painted mural fresco by a famous designer to traditional antiques. The mix makes it quite unusual. The onwer is very present and helpful with tips and advices. Breakfast was homemade with unusual dishes for a breakfast with a sea view for some tables.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank caroline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

A disappointing stay. Although paying for a 'grand comfort' room, we were placed in the annexe with a limited view of the sea. The evening meal experience was not comfortable or relaxed with a confusing menu without prices. It did not include the menu arsene which had to be asked for. This menu option did not offer any choice and the meal, heralded with very grand titles, ranged from excellent (fish) to school dinners (beef and carrots).

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomaineSaintClair, Propriétaire at Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Madame Pedley,

I would like to thank you for your comment. You were not placed in the annexe you were placed in the house called the villa constructed in 1889. From your spot you have different views and your room gives on the valley of Etretat. Concerning the sea view it can be available if we have rooms available and if you made the request. I'm happy that the room was nice and comfortable for you.
Concerning the Arsène Menu, it changes every day and this is the reason why we announce the menu. We have menu with the price for the gentlemen and without price for the ladies, but probably we are to old-school for you.
All our product are local, from the farm and home made. Your point of view is interesting but with no sens.
The menu of the day at 35€ per person including Mise en bouche, starter, main course and desert is a fixe menu.

Hope I have answered to a disappointment that should not be.

All my best

Omar Abodib the Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

First of all, the location offers spectacular views. Our room was on the top floor and we could easily see the famous cliffs of Etretat and the English Channel. Our room was comfortable, with a king-sized bed and and real shower, which works so much better than the usual hand-held sprayer in a tub. We ate breakfast 3 times, lunch (offered only on weekends) and dinner twice. The chef's tasting menu was superb. Our server remembered that we had already enjoyed this menu on a previous night, so she encouraged us to order off-menu. The results were wonderful. A full bar is available and the pool is gorgeous, although due to the cooler weather, we were not able to take advantage of it. Drinks poolside were still lovely.
We felt that the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms and restaurants are expensive, but well worth the price.

Room tip: Upgrade to a room with a shower!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomaineSaintClair, Propriétaire at Le Donjon - Domaine Saint Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hello,
I would like to thank so much for your comments.
Hope to see you soon. All my best. Omar Abodib

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews