We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit ”
Review of Le Bel Ami

Le Bel Ami
Ranked #15 of 50 Restaurants in Etretat
Description: A few steps away from the famous cliffs of Étretat, Le Bel Ami welcomes you every day to enjoy its creative and delicate cuisine entirely homemade with fresh and local products. Le Bel Ami is also a bar and a shop offering a large and exceptional selection of wines. From Monday to Friday, 3 course lunch menu at 19€50.
Restaurant details
Description: A few steps away from the famous cliffs of Étretat, Le Bel Ami welcomes you every day to enjoy its creative and delicate cuisine entirely homemade with fresh and local products. Le Bel Ami is also a bar and a shop offering a large and exceptional selection of wines. From Monday to Friday, 3 course lunch menu at 19€50.
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

This place has it all, the food, great staff, service and just all round nice experience. I did lunch here and was really happy with everything, very child friendly which is always a bonus as not normally the case in France. We also went back in the evening before dinner and have a couple of drinks, then the vibe was slightly different but good, good music and lovely atmosphere. I would say this is the best place in town. Recommend you visit

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank H3095NUricharda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebelami, Propriétaire at Le Bel Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Richard,
We do love children, and we also love it when our customers come back to experience another Bel Ami atmosphere, at another time of the day ! A family lunch and a couple of drinks before diner dit it for you, and that makes us very happy!
Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

The review title says it all. We were seven - two families - looking for a nice, quality lunch. The place had at least 5 empty tables as far as I could see, with no reservation signs on them. It wasn’t a particularly busy day. We learned that, alas, we would not get to eat there because their big table was already taken. Apparently the idea to put together two smaller tables - the ones that were empty -
was too much for the guy at the bar. Another notion that was clearly incompatible with his personality was to show a little interest and at least pretend he cared.

I seldom write bad reviews, but in this case I will. Avoid the place. You have plenty of choice in the area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank nordnesnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebelami, Propriétaire at Le Bel Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Sir,
Sadly, all I can do is apologize on behalf of my staff.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

.... from the parmentier dish of which it was meant to be the main feature. The bill was duly reduced but the patron was not pleased when we failed to express our gratitude for the feast that was not to be. And I was the one deemed to be rude...

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jacques D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebelami, Toute l’équipe at Le Bel Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Jacques D,
We did all we could to apologize for your duck free Parmentier. We can only be sorry, it was not enough for you to forgive us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

I am quite generous with my 5 stars and allow minor discretions. Took us an age to have some acknowledge us as we came in, we gave our order for two coffees with milk four times to eventually get two expresso coffees. These were poured into bigger cups and milk was added.
To pieces of cake ordered three times and the bill came to €21 when the bill was finally produced.
Next time we go back we will go elsewhere.
Best wishes

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank terryw717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebelami, The team at Le Bel Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Terry,
We apologize for the unusually long wait, and will be happy to see you again you decide to give Le Bel Ami another chance !
Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Nice place with friendly waiters. Really good wines. But we ordered the pasta with clams and there were 6 clams in my pasta, of which 3 were closed, so not eatable. I showed the owner and he took my plate and brought it back with a few more clams, but still not very many. 22 euro for this plate with also 3 small tomatoes and nothing else in it is way to expensive.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marjoleinUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebelami, Toute l'équipe at Le Bel Ami, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Marjolein,
6 clams, 3 tomatoes... how come you didn't count the linguine too? Definitely bad luck you had 3 closed clams in your plate. Unfortunately, that can happen and sometimes, on a busy day, we don't have time to count the clams ourselves and check their condition in every plate. As for the price, are you serious about having this argument about our fresh linguine cooked with fresh clams and fresh tomatoes, on order, only 3 minutes away from the cliffs of Etretat? Probably not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bel Ami also viewed

Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Le Bel Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing