We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Sophisticated”
Review of Dormy House

Dormy House
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Etretat
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We enjoyed our dinner at Dormy House very much. The oysters were the best I've had in several days touring Normandy (including Cancale!) Other than that, the food was very, very good but it did not rise to exceptional. The veal and the fish were both cooked perfectly but didn't "wow." The wine list is extensive with great choices by the glass. Overall, we enjoyed it and the price was not overly expensive.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlobeTrotting807623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Location is perfect.

We also dined here. The oysters were super fresh but the fish is not as great as I was expecting. Dessert was great.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

For a lower rated this hotel punches above its weight. Don’t be put off, this is a period property refurbished and decorated with style and class. The real real to stay here is the exclusive view... it’s really magical!
Our room was very spacious, newly renovated bathroom with a fabulous full sized bath that you can just relax in for hours. The bed was ultra firm but we slept very well on both our two nights stay.

Breakfast is extensive and people sat there for hours just drinking coffee and snacking, very relaxed and sadly a forgotten luxury these days.

Catering both for families and couples, we spent many hours in the bar playing the odd game of billiards and drinking cocktails till late. Staff are a little stuffy and that fits with the period and expectations I assume. Restaurant is highly regarded and I certainly recommend anything with fish on the menu!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mancini_BXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it had parking. We stayed in the annexe which does not share the great views of the main hotel but was quiet clean and had a very good en suite shower. We ate in the main restaurant which has amazing views. The food was good and the service excellent. There is a nice garden terrace outside which has lovely views of the cliffs and town. Perfect for an aperitif. The reception staff were efficient and helpful.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank friendsfamholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

The hotel/restaurant is located on top of the hill overlooking the town (and next to the incredible golf course).

The view is worth it. The food is very decent but a tad expensive and service is friendly and good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Dutch-Mikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dormy House also viewed

Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
Etretat, Seine-Maritime
 

Been to Dormy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing