We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not your standardised business hotel”
Cottage 
La Grange 
Rural Loft: marble bathtub with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage 
La Grange 
Rural Loft: marble bathtub with a view
View of the village on the hill
Large lighted building is Le Petit Couvent Cottage La Grange
Birchtree 4 poster bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
84 reviews
Cottage 
La Grange 
Rural Loft: marble bathtub with a view
View of the village on the hill
Large lighted building is Le Petit Couvent
Cottage La Grange
Birchtree 4 poster bed
Cottage La Grange
Cottage La Grange
Cottage La Maison Blanche
Cottage La Maison Blanche
Cottage La Maison Blanche
Cottage La maison Blanche
Salon de Bain
Cottage La Cabane
Entrance and garden
Cottage La cabane 
Bathroom
Cottage La Cabane
Bedroom
Aerial view of the village of Saint Arcons d'Allier 
Far right: le Petit Couvent
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saint-Arcons-d Allier, Haute-Loire, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
English_I...
Valencian Country, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not your standardised business hotel”
Reviewed 17 December 2007 for a stay in July 2007
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just fab. We stayed there for 2 days and didn't want to leave. Its calm and the area is beautiful. We spent hours on a swing in the garden reading and listening to the rapids hundreds of meters below.
Much of the town is still a ruin – but this just adds to the charm. The rooms all vary and are quirky to say the least. English was spoken. The food was great (and inclusive) and we liked not having to choose (you get what you are given). It was like living on a liner, just one at the top of a steep hill. I normally I only like minimalist chic but I could live there forever.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location and atmosphere
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen198
West Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 21 October 2007 for a stay in September 2007
1
person found this review helpful

I chanced across the website for this hotel whilst looking for places to stay during a trip to France. It looked absolutely amazing and I can honestly say that it fully lived up to expectations. It is quite unlike anywhere we have stayed before. All the rooms are in restored houses within the tiny village in the hills of the Auvergne, whilst the reception, salon and dining room are in the main hotel building.

We stayed in the Atelier du Peintre - basically an attic room with a very comfortable four-poster bed and a huge bathroom. The views from the terrace (where breakfast would have been served had it not been unseasonably cold!) were spectacular. A five-course dinner was included in our package and was of the same high quality as the rest of our stay. There is also a swimming pool and massage service, which we unfortunately did not have time to take advantage of.

This is a luxury hotel and not cheap, but it's not at all stuffy and well worth the experience - even if you only stay for one night as we did.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Friendly luxury
Liked least: Nothing!
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis75Pa...
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 September 2007 for a stay in August 2007
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Les Deux Abbesses for 4 nights, in the so-called La Maison Blanche house.
This stay was excellent on all aspects. First of all, the charm of the village is outstanding and the surrounding view is astonishing. The whole village is eprfectly manucured and maintained, making it a pleasure to wander around, just like cruising the corridors of an in-house palace... but it is outdoors!
The decoration of the houses and the castle is great, with very nice details, yet restraint and fit with the rural background.
The level of service is excellent, from morning and breakfast to after dinner drinks in the salon. The food is gorgeous, with creativity (foie gras with scallop, eggs with cepes), yet respect for the local terroir.
The hotel also has itineraries to drive through the very beautiful landscapes of the surroundings. Many different things to discover.
I would definitely go there again and strongly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dynamicbi...
gloucestershire,
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“simply FAB!!!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2007 for a stay in April 2007
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the most amazing hotels we have ever stayed in. The surrounding area is beautiful and the views from the hotel are breath taking. We stayed for 2 nights and the food and wine during the evening meal was just fantastic. There is a decent pool and even this has amazing views. The individual houses are decorated very carefully with superb attention to detail and we just loved the finishing touches like the little rabbits which carefully decorate the place. Would highly reccommend for a romantic getaway and perfect for a 2 night stay for honeymooners! We stayed in Maison Pellon was bright and airy. The twin shower room was welcome at the end of a long day!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Check-in / front desk
Service
Liked best: designed beautifully and features in french home design magazines!
Liked least: tourists gather outside the our house taking photos in the day but only a little irritating
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range I prefer not to answer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hajecj
geneva, switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 11 October 2006 for a stay in September 2006
3
people found this review helpful

Really amazing place to stay, so long as you understand that this hotel is very off the beaten track. The hotel itself is incredibly well done. The reception, sitting room/bar and dining area are set inside the semi-ruins of an ancient castle and have a strong medieval feel to them. The castle is surrounded by a beautifully well kept garden with elegant outdoor chaises to sit and enjoy sunset over the valley with a glass of chamagne. The rooms are set throughout the village in reconstructed/refurbished stone houses. We stayed in the Terrier des Lapins, or rabbit hutch, which was warmly decorated and quite comfortable. This is a great room if you have young children, as there is a separate lofted bedroom with 2 beds upstairs in the maison. The bathroom has the most unusual bath tub we had ever seen, not to mention the deepest. The separate shower in the big copper bowl is weird, but kind of fun once you get used to it. There is a nice outdoor table and chairs in front of Terriers, which was a relaxing spot for a glass of wine after a day out and about. The church bells, which go off regularly between 7am and 9pm or so, are atmospheric if you keep telling yourself you don't yet have to get out of bed. Meals: breakfast and dinner are part of the package here and wow-- The fresh fruits picked from the castle gardens and homemade confitures and local honey really made that morning baguette a treat. The dinner menu varied both nights we were here and was quite easily michelin star quality food - the drawback being its a set menu, and you need to let them know in advance if there are things you prefer to not eat or are allergic to - but the menu diversity and creativity was as stunning as the dining room, with its enormous walk in fireplace and medieval feel. I dont know if its possible, but in exploring around the village, we found a little gite down at the base of the valley in front of St. Arcons: the menu there looked amazing, and the gite is a working farm, so the produce is fresh..might be worth checking out if you are there more than a few days. What to do there? A car is the only possible way to get there, but there are numerous hiking trails amongst the perched villages of the River Allier valley, and Le Puy is only about a 35-45min drive and is worth seeing. But the hotel does have a swimming pool, a well camouflaged modern oasis in this otherwise ancient village, and its very relaxing to just sit and enjoy the quiet of the countryside. Its not quite close enough to the autoroute between Lyon and Avignon to be an overnight stop on your way to the south of france, but if you have an extra day or more and want to go out of your way for an incredibly unique experience in a beautiful setting, this is the spot.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Very elegant, luxurious
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing