We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bel Ombre, Mahe Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

redshoot
Widley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Balcony is the star here, any time of day.
Great location, very nice apartment with all mod cons. It is Secure and hosts are friendly and helpful.
If you stay here trek to Anse Major nearby, you may just get one of the nicest beaches all to yourself if you go early!! Epic views...

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genius432...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in fabulous location with wonderful warm host family”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We have just arrived home from spending 13 nights at the Drake Seaside Apartment. Danielle and the rest of the host family are lovely, they leave you alone but are there if you need them, the perfect situation.

The apartment was very clean, well furnished and had everything you might need. Okay, as some previous reviews state the kitchen appliances and utensils were quite basic, but unless you are a Gourmet chef, I don’t think there was anything to complain about.

We were quite disappointed that the Kayaks were not available for use. This was a big selling point for us and the children especially were excited at the prospect of having the use of them. However, when we arrived we found that the winch that was used to take the kayaks down to the beach was out of commission due to some renovations being carried out. We were told we could still use the kayaks but would have to carry them down the steps to the beach by hand. This proved impossible as the gate to the steps was around the side of the house, in a very tight position and the steps themselves are very narrow and precarious. Plus, the kayaks were very heavy and awkward for my husband and 13-year-old son to carry.

The other thing I was a bit dismayed at was that each day, sand filtered in from the ceiling onto the breakfast bar in the kitchen and other various places, including the bedroom, (thankfully not on the bed).

Overall it was a lovely place to stay and I would fully recommend it. But the Kayaks and sand problems do need to be addressed.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2018
Dear Sandra
I'm sorry to hear the children were upset about the kayaks. We had every intention to help you bring it down but we didn't insist after you said it was ok. It was our fault for not insisting.
As for the ceiling problem, we had already scheduled the work right after you left and I am pleased to inform our future guests this has been rectified and is no longer a problem.
My apologies again to Sandra and family since we couldn't cancel the bookings to do the work earlier.
Kind regards, Danielle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex C
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drake Sea side appartement.”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

WOW!!!!! It would be extremely difficult to find a place that can exceed the Drake sea side appartement. The view is amazing, the Host is unbelievable (courteous, friendly, attentionate, Etc...) It's perfectly located, bus stop is just a few steps away. The convenient store is right next door. Beau Valon beach is 5 mins by car. I can tell you that when I go back to the Seychelles, this is one place that I'll definitely be booking.

Thank you Danielle for the wonderful stay. Hope to see you soon. My wife is saying very soon!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joerg56
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for families!”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We (european family with 2 kids) could enjoy another two-weeks stay at the Drake Seaside Apartment after we have been there already in 2015.
It was again a very pleasent stay for us.
The apartment is clean, comfortable and well equipped. The view from the balcony is amazing and we loved it to have breakfast there.
Beau Vallon is just around the corner with the related infrastructure, for those who need it (restaurants, trip agencies etc.).
We had a rental car and thus all destinations on Mahe Island could be reached within one hour maximum.
The owners Danielle & Spencer were again very friendly and supported us, where needed.
We really can recommend that apartment!

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
packyderm
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“lovely views, comfortable, well equipped. great stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The apartment is in Bel Ombre with beautiful views of the sea from the large balcony. There are 2 bedrooms but the apartment can be rented using just one bedroom. The apartment is almost on the beach but the beach here is very rocky so bring suitable shoes that you can both swim and walk in if swim from here. The snorkelling off this beach is good. When the tide is out it is possible to walk along the sand to the main beach in Beau Vallon. The Drake is well placed and an easy walk to Beau Vallon by road when the tide is in. There is a bus stop very close for the less energetic. In the opposite direction it is possible to walk or take the bus to the Danzil- Anse Majeure walk. A small shop is just outside the gates and a larger shop just a minute away making self catering easy. The apartment is extremely well equipped to a high standard and all needs are catered for including a washing machine. Danielle , the owner, was very helpful from first contact and throughout our stay. She even let us use a day room with shower on our departure day as a late check out was not possible. A welcome pack was also provided. We had a lovely stay in this spacious apartment and would definitely right recommend to all.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.