We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant find!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from the Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from the Balcony
Santa Maria Residence. 1st Floor right hand flat 1st Floor right hand flat, Beautiful sunny south facing sheltered balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Sea Views from the Balcony
Santa Maria Residence. 1st Floor right hand flat
1st Floor right hand flat, Beautiful sunny south facing sheltered balcony
Large Open Plan Flat with Fantanstic Balcony
Spacious open plan Interior. Lounge Area
Double Bedroom with  En suite
The Twin Room
Spacious Open Plan Interior
Kitchen Dining Area
Great Sea Views from the lovely balcony
Fashion beach resort 30m away with Bar, Restaurant and infinity pool
Miles of beautiful sandy beaches
A lovely Sunset from the Beach Bar
Walk for miles... perhaps find a Turtle..!
Josh Angula World Championship Windsurf/ Kitesurf Centre 300m From Flat.
Amazing Water Sports on your Doorstep
Jumping off the Pier seems to be a local tradition... JUST DO IT!!!
Baby Turtles Just Hatched in the Nursery
Life is not exactly hectic... waiting for the fishing boats
The Metropolis..... Santa Maria Town Centre
Releasing Baby Turtles with the SOS Taratugas Rangers
Someone is going to have a nice supper!
Sometimes you fall off!!!...
Santa Maria Town from the Air...
Pilot Whales Close up. That Day We Saw A Humpback Whale, Dolphins and Flying Fish.
The Southern End of Kite Beach, 7 Km of Sand, Kites and Turtles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
alandoole...
Sussex England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant find!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

It was a last minute decision to go to the Cape Verde Islands. David, the owner was really helpful over the booking particularly with understanding fitting in with booking flights. I got plenty of help and was sent information about the apartment and Santa Maria before I flew out.

It was brilliant!! No problem with keys and access. The apartment is a gem, front line and on the beach, spacious and really well equipped with quality furnishings. I loved the balcony overlooking the ocean – wonderful for eating and relaxing. Excellent en-suite bathroom, and full cooking facilities. It was really clean and well presented and I felt it a privilege to have it as home for a week. I knew that local help was available if I needed it.

Shopping for groceries could be considered by some to be a challenge but there are plenty of local restaurants as you go along the beach from the apartment to the small town square. Great - from a satisfying pizza if you are really hungry to a fish and rice meal ideal for a light lunch, and all just by the sea. Breakfast on the balcony with coffee and fresh tropical fruits together with the most delicious bread from the local bakery was a real treat.

I am no stranger to living in Africa and was not disappointed at all with Santa Maria and Sal where there is a definite feel of Africa. I felt quite safe around Santa Maria and enjoyed some long and wonderful beach walks in both directions from the apartment. Sal itself is worth spending time to explore and I found the local tours reasonable and informative.

Well recommended! I'm already thinking about a return trip............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - from the ease of booking, to enjoying a quality apartment.
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2012
Well another really lovely review, thank you so much. This review very nicely proves that the system we use and the friendly way in which we operate works well, visitors have a great holiday and one they will remember for many years.

Yes the flat is in a fantastic location and yes it has superb views. Yes the balcony is great for sunbathing, relaxing and entertaining but I think this review really highlights the enjoyment that this gentleman had during his stay and how well we can handle bookings and look after guests.

As mentioned arrival and entry to the flat was easy, we can organise a taxi for you from the airport, this gentleman did not require one, regardless it is really easy for him to get from the airport to the flat. Either way the key will be waiting for you regardless of your arrival time.

Our local English speaking expat agent is almost always available if you require any assistance and lives and works less than 200m from the flat. She can also help you with trips, tours, advice and answer virtually any questions you may have on the Sal, Santa Maria or the flat.

What more can I say but thank you 'A.D' we would love you to come and stay again and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday so much.

Thanks & Regards

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonfemal...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed 17 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

A peaceful treat, where time was ignored, Winter sun & clear aqua sea was guaranteed, with good value local eats and private accommodation was my aim - I was not disappointed.

I enjoyed a weeks haven due to the location and peace of Santa Maria's apartment, away from the more tourist focused areas. Yet the ease of walking into town to get groceries was not far. Although groceries verses eating out - about the same in costs.

The balcony is a big plus. The apartment is minutes from the sea and beach, making the views you take in from the balcony also your natural swimming pool. Local beach bar/ restaurant and 'hang out' just the 'pace' you desire, try the Catchupa with fish - delicious and the best bargain I found!

The apartment is clearly as described, homely and functional. As a single traveler I felt safe.

I found the owner, and his extended friends whom shared information regarding the island very helpful.

Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease and help of the owner. Plus the ease and retreat of the property and place.
Liked least: Nothing really to report - maybe loose the shower & loo mats, they were a little tired (general wear and tear - minor)!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2012
I think this review typifies Sal, Cape Verde, Santa Maria and our superb front line apartment. Stunning views, a fantastic balcony and an enjoyable peaceful retreat.

If you want to step up the action the Town center is a quick 10 minute walk away with all its great local bars and restaurants.

Alternatively the Josh Angula Windsurf Center and Club Mistral is a mere 300m down the beach.

Thanks for the review we have now had more than 6 years of visiting Sal and still go back for more my young children love it. The kids spend all day swimming, snorkelling and body boarding.

Thanks again

Regards

David Boulton
Santa Maria Residence, Antonia Souza Beach, Sal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZIELINSKI...
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Translated

We had a lovely stay at Santa Maria Residence. Apartment clean and spacious, well located, 10 mins walk from the center of Santa Maria, a stone's throw from the kite-surf school and opposite the Fashion beach club, very nice place to enjoy a cocktail facing the sea. We will definitely be back!

Hi Many thanks for the review very much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the flat and we would be delighted for you to come back, thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederiqu...
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Your deposit was fully returned. The method of deposit holding has now been changed and it is held by trip advisor which saves me a lot of hassle. The bank details you gave were incorrect which lead to the delay. On this occasion I worked abroad for lengths of time and was unable to contact the bank to resolve the problem. I am glad you liked the flat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin108
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Geluid van de golven en uitzicht
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing