We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Placid Bay Inn
Nearby Hotels
High Peaks Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whiteface Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$369
US$335
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$283
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Placid Lodge(Lake Placid)
US$745
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town House Lodge(Lake Placid)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
239
100
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
100
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsmallard cottagewhiteface mountaincountry comfortcanoe rideperfect place to relaxkitchenette roomwatching the ducksnice view of lakequeen bedfree canoesupdated bathroommorning coffeelabor day weekendwithin walking distancenice sizeenjoy the view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The room was amazingly clean and comfortable! We wanted to bring that great bed back home with us. The owner and staff are super friendly and knowledgeable. If you're going to stay in Lake Placid, this is the perfect place to spend the night!

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are extra special. Lake Placid is beautiful!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank longrodforfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for the awesome 5/5 rating and review of the Placid Bay Inn! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our premium bedding. It is a difficult task trying to find the right balance between plush comfort and enough firmness to provide good support for our guests. On behalf of the entire staff I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to share your stay experience with fellow travelers. You are always welcome to return.

Ara
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Late decision to attend Empire State Games led my daughter and I to Placid Bay Inn and we couldn't have been happier. What a find. In all my visits to Lake Placid I had never stayed at this little gem. Friendly service, very clean, attention to detail, and affordable for a last minute decision. Also appreciated they agreed to let us stay for one night. Will definitely return!
Maxine from Stillwater, NY

Room Tip: If have mobility issues make sure to ask for lower level room.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our family is very happy that you enjoyed your stay and experience at our Inn. We hope you will be able to visit us again during the warmer months when you can sit by the Lake, take a dip in our outdoor pool, and take one of the canoes out onto Lake Placid. Thank you again for your business. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

This classic motel is a bargain and close to all the attractions in Lake Placid. The room was clean and comfortable. The office folks were friendly and helpful. I always prefer the local " pops" and this is a good one.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thank you so much Rob for posting such a nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate you supporting small family owned businesses. We try to always take the time to make each and every person feel welcomed. I hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Lake Placid. Again, thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

This was our 4th? 5th? time back to the Placid Bay Inn. We could not be happier with our stays over the past year. The owners are friendly and from check-in to check-out the level of service is fantastic. They are always quick to recommend something to do or a place to eat, and their recommendation is always fantastic. The rooms are cozy, but always clean and well maintained. Their attention to detail and level of service is excellent. We will continue to return! Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you so very much Brianna for writing such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, again. Our whole family greatly appreciates your business. It is so very easy to give great service to such wonderful people! Thank you again for your staying with us, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again. Have a Happy and Healthy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Busy weekend after thanksgiving with such a big event at the skating arena. We were pleasantly surprised to find what a nice location we had chosen! They were decorating for xmas and we had some light snow. Easy to walk to main st and great restaurants!
( never did have much luck with free shuttle). Located on bay with beautiful view of Mt. Whiteface.
The room was a nice size with a good closet if skiing or hiking. The kitchen chairs and table were sturdy. They supplied a kitchen towel, sponge and dish detergent! Had great wine glasses with a wine opener. Enjoyed chilling at our space between skating sessions and exploring beautiful lake placid.
Plan to come back in the summer with my grandkids and do some hiking!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelingUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunintree, Owner at Placid Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2017

Thank you so very much For taking the time to write a review, and all the wonderful things you had to say. Our family is so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you come back in the summer, you will love it even more. We have Adirondack chairs for lounging by the Lake and enjoying the beautiful views of Whiteface Mountain. We also have canoes for your use and outdoor pool. Thank you again for your lovely description, and your business. We hope to see you in the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews