We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home away from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Bedroom #5 main floor
Dining Room #1
Right in the Center of the Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Lake Placid, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dianamari...
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
“An interesting experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

With the exception of a couple of issues this was a reasonably good rental experience. The information on the house advertises it is in the heart of the village, which was one of the main criteria we were looking for. What the location information didn't include was that there is a very long, steep hill between the house and the village making it a challenging walk to and from. We were in Lake Placid for IronMan. During the event there were many roads in and near the village that were closed making walking a necessity. There are many people that could not make that walk and certainly not multiple times a day. When we arrived, the refrigerator was full of left overs and food, all of the bathrooms had dirty towels hanging from the hooks and there was wet laundry in the wash and dryer. I called, left a message as well as emailed the contact information in my confirmation email but never received any response back from Neven. The code that was provided for the lock box worked but the WiFi information did not work. While we were waiting for a response to my call or email, I found a sheet of paper on a side table with some magazines that had a property management phone number and different WiFi information. This WiFi information worked and someone answered the property management number when we called. They quickly sent 2 people out. They were very apologetic and got right to work setting things straight. It was well after 8 PM before we could start settling into the house for our stay. The house is very unique and was frequently a topic of conversation. It appears to be a work in progress with a number of projects started but not completed. It does provide a lot of space so it didn't feel cramped even with 10 people staying in the house. The kitchen table is large and a great place to gather. We also enjoyed the deck on the nice days. Although I think it was good value for a house that sleeps 10, I couldn't recommend this property to a friend until they had a full understanding of the location and layout of the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Dear Anna,

thank you for your comments. We loved having you as our guest. We found the house very clean and left in great shape, and I am grateful on that. You treated our home as your home, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
friend130...
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
“Fantastic Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Beautiful house: clean, well equipped and amazingly conveniently located (in the heart of the village, yet nicely secluded and quiet). The house is inviting, cozy and warm. The owners are eager to help with any/all requests on a short notice (a stove was replaced just like that as the oven was giving up - but stove otherwise worked well). Highly suggested for friends and family who are comfortable together, love home away from home atmosphere and are ready to relax. We look forward to coming again, to test the beautiful deck outside as an extra "family room" during the warmer months. Two thumbs up and highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Accurate description on flipkey”
Reviewed 6 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived to find the main floor bathroom had a frozen tub drain and a frozen water pipe. Four hours later we finally had someone visit the house with a portable heater. 36 hours after that we finally had everything thawed. By the next day it froze again and remained frozen for the rest of our stay. The property manager never did check back to see if the problem had been solved. A new supply of replacement light bulbs would add clarity to this place.
Other than that we found the place as advertised. Overall we enjoyed our five day stay.
We appreciated the supply of firewood available on the back porch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The wood stove in the living room
Liked least: Poor lighting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
We found this as inappropriate low rated review. The complaint is that one of the 3 bathrooms on the main level had frozen pipes is true but without any attempt to recognize that the temperature those nights were below -30 degrees. They didn't mention that other bathrooms were working and the whole house was extremely warm. The property manager responded as soon as he could in the circumstances and brought the heater to fix the problem. He showed up the same night when they asked for help. He left them his phone number to call him if they have any other problems (they never called him back). Sorry that one of the 50 light bulbs in the house didn't work. I wish them next time good luck in other houses that are 3-star rated (so they can appreciate the accommodation).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing