We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
93
101
71
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
101
71
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delta blue main street limited parking double doors memory foam mirror lake in town hotel lot centrally located hotel restaurant downstairs walls are thin sitting area municipal parking lot night manager can't beat the location top floor would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

This hotel has been modernized.Decor very nice. Very convenient to all shops and restaurants. Staff at the front desk not as welcoming as I would like. Very cheerful and interactive housekeeper. Wifi is terrible and not secure. We had a suite, it would have been nice to have a TV in the living room area.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the comforts of your room as well as our fantastic central location. I apologize that your front desk interactions were not as welcoming as you'd hoped, but I'm glad that you liked your housekeeper. I apologize as well for the difficulties you experienced with the Wi-Fi. We provide the customer service number for our wireless provider because they have specifically asked that any guests we have with such difficulties contact them directly so they can hone in on the specific issue. We do have one room type that has two television sets; the hillside deluxe king suite. We appreciate your valuable feedback which we will use to continually improve the quality and services we offer our guests. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

It was a very quiet week when we stayed here, so we were given a top-floor room with a nice view of Mirror Lake. The room was a suite, but the walls are poorly soundproofed, so our neighbor's TV could be heard clearly. The lobby carpets look like they should be replaced.

The staff were very pleasant to deal with.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the view from your room, but apologize for the issue you experienced with peripheral noises. Modern-day soundproofing can be a challenge in historic buildings, but we are working to find a resolution. Thank you for your valuable insights. We will use them to improve the quality and services we offer our guests. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I am sad to report we did not have a great experience at this hotel. First, parking is a challenge. There is a small lot behind the hotel which people seem to park just any way. The hotel needs to be updated. The fridge did not run or cool and our toilet ran. I called the front desk and they sent a guy up that said the fridge was cool and he could not hear the toilet. I called back and a woman came up saying the same thing. They both made me feel like I was stupid and didn't know what cold was. Finally they brought another fridge up that worked perfectly. The next day we came in late afternoon and our room had not been serviced. They were once again rude when I asked for service. This is a Choice Hotel, they need to step up their service. There are many other choices in Lake Placid you could try.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scook112301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for your comments and I sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us to it's fullest potential. We are unfortunately aware that our parking is limited, largely due to the age of the hotel in proximity to our neighbors. We try our best to advertise this fact across all online forums, but I still apologize for any inconvenience caused by this. I'm sorry that it took a couple of attempts to get a working refrigerator. The staff likely thought it was on a defrost cycle, but I am very sorry that you felt the staff did not believe your concerns. That is never the impression we want our guests to have. I apologize as well that your room was not serviced while you were out. Housekeeping sometimes cannot get to stay-overs until later in the day. We work very hard to provide our guests with the best possible experience and I apologize that we fell short of your expectations. We sincerely hope that you will be willing to give us another try so we can show you a true Hotel North Woods experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend for the Can/am tournament with our sons hockey team... Hotel was clean and staff very accommodating... The boys had a dedicated mini stick room and they encouraged the parents to get out of the hallway and socialize in the comfy couches in the lobby in the evening!! Was an excellent location with an easy walk to the arena with hockey bags for the boys!!! Will definitely stay here again such a beautiful town!!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank heatherpM9509QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that we were able to offer a space for your children's mini-stick games as well as a space for the parents to socialize. I'm glad that our central location was ideal for the proximity to your games. We appreciate your comments as they help us to gauge what we are doing right, and areas we can improve upon. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again next time you are in Lake Placid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed in Lake Placid as a home-base for four days of High Peaks hiking. The facility is quiet, pleasant, clean and comfortable ... but not exceptional. The lounge area could definitely use better, more comfortable furniture. The staff was helpful and attentive. The location, however, can't be beat and at the end of each long day of mountain hikes, it was so great to return to this very central Main St. location, park and walk to any number of restaurants. Likewise for breakfast. We came with two cars and, while the lot is undersized, had no problem finding spots for both on all three nights.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arrybay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S, Front Office Manager at Hotel North Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, and interactions with our staff. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic central location. Thank you for your comments. We will use them to create the best possible experience for all of our guests. Thank you for choosing Hotel North Woods and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews