We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Season is the Time to Visit”
Review of Heron Hill Winery

Heron Hill Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Heron Hill Winery, rated as one of the most spectacular tasting rooms in the world by Travel + Leisure, is nestled into a hillside overlooking scenic Keuka Lake in New York's Finger Lakes region. For over 40 years, our family-owned winery has won many awards for its distinctive, elegant wines and continues to be at the forefront of cool climate winemaking. Establishing our heritage among some of the first vinifera wineries in the Finger Lakes, John and Josephine Ingle founded Heron Hill Winery in 1977. Through perseverance and long-term dedication to excellence in winemaking, Heron Hill Winery has become a world-class destination for wine as well as a wedding event venue. For the Ingles, practicing sustainability is a way of life. Respect for the land in how we farm our estate vineyards, and respect for the consumer by offering wines with an authentic sense of place and by providing visitors with a friendly and informative experience.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 28 November 2017

The day before Thanksgiving is the time to visit because we had the place to ourselves - all of the fall crowds were gone! No elbowing our way up to the tasting bar.

The staff could not have been friendlier or more welcoming.

Though the fall colors had faded the view of Keuka Lake from above was beautiful on this cold, gray November day. The wines for the most part were all very good and we even got to try some of the more expensive pours without the extra charge.

A great space and a great way to kick-off the holiday weekend.

Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi there - thanks for the review and visiting us during the Thanksgiving holiday. It definitely does slow down in the wineries this time of year, and we really love that we can spend more time with those who come in. It gives us more of a chance to get to know everyone and get into some great conversation! We hope you continue to visit us! If you're ever interested in coming anytime from July-October (our busiest months), consider our tower tasting experience, a private in depth tasting with premium and library wines paired with cheese up in our tower lookout. Check out the tower tasting tab on our website.
Cheers and Happy Holidays!
Chelsea, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 56 reviews
"keuka lake"
in 41 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 31 reviews
"finger lakes"
in 31 reviews
"game bird"
in 4 reviews
"bourbon cream"
in 3 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 14 reviews
"nice view"
in 9 reviews
"great wine"
in 14 reviews
"cab franc"
in 8 reviews
"grape juice"
in 5 reviews
"unoaked chardonnay"
in 3 reviews
"would definitely go back"
in 3 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 8 reviews
"dry reds"
in 4 reviews
"wine trail"
in 7 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017

My wife and I stopped in here based on the recommendation of a guest at my winery in Niagara. The winery is in a very impressive building with a view of the surrounding area. Entering the tasting room, we were greeted by an employee who was serving the only other guests, an elderly couple. The server, Jackie, brought us a menu and explained the tasting fee for a set number of wines. Selections are made by marking you choices down on the menu. I'm not a fan of this format as it's highly impersonal and regimented, but many wineries in the Finger Lakes seem to do this. We made our selections and Jackie came over to pour the first wine, giving us some quick tasting notes, before going back to the other couple, with whom she was engrossed in conversation. We finished the sample and waited for Jackie to return, which she eventually did, repeating the same process; wine was poured, rote tasting notes repeated, before heading back to her preferred customers. My wife and I both work at wineries in Canada and we had questions that we weren't able to communicate because Jackie was utterly disinterested in engaging with us. It was to the point where my wife had to shout and interrupt her mid-sentence while she was talking to the other guests when she had a question about barrel contact for one of the wines. Jackie didn't know the answer and pulled out a binder from under the bar, said "nope, no barrel aging", and went back to the other guests to resume her conversation. At this point, on our third of five samples, we had enough and walked out. This experience seems to be an aberration given that this winery generally gets very good reviews, and I don't know what was at play here. Perhaps older, more "sophisticated" customers are given preferential treatment as they're perceived to be bigger spenders. In any case, this was the second winery we visited on our first day in the region, and this experience nearly spoiled the trip for us. Fortunately, other wineries in the Finger Lakes with staff who don't alienate customers provided more positive experiences.

Thank WMC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hello,
Thank you for making Heron Hill a stop on your visit to the Finger Lakes. We are very saddened to hear that this is the impression you have of us. I do want to clear up that we absolutely do not give special treatment to people who may perceive to be bigger spenders. We are gracious for everyone who steps through our door, especially when there are so many great options here in the Finger Lakes! Jackie has been with us for many years, and is a very well-liked and knowledgeable staff member & I apologize you were not able to connect with her. I can assure you that none of our staff, including Jackie, have been accused of alienating any customers, nor do any of them even possess those kinds of characteristics. I do sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience here. As you mentioned, we get many positive reviews on our friendly environment and staff, but we will be sure to address the situation and use it as a teaching experience.
As far as the tasting selection process goes, that is how we have always done it, and it works great for us and most wineries in the region. If you have any suggestions on the tasting format that you feel would be beneficial for us and the region as a whole, we would be more than willing to chat further about that.
Please feel free to privately e-mail me at marketing@heronhill.com if you have any further comments about your experience.
I hope you found some wines from the Finger Lakes that you loved.
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The tasting room overlooks the Keuka Lake with a spectacular view.
Our server focused on our dry red tastes and offered a couple of extra wine tastes that really matched our palette (which we subsequently bought).
I wish they would produce an oaked Chardonnay, because I think it would be awesome.

Thank cjkines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thanks so much for giving us a 5 star review! We pride ourselves in providing an array of wines for different palates as well as an educational and fun tasting experience. We actually do make an oaked Chardonnay called "Macri Vineyards" Chardonnay. We unfortunately sold out of that in the summer due to it;s popularity and smaller production, but will have a new vintage coming out in 2018. If you would like, send us your information to marketing@heronhill.com and we would be more than happy to notify you when it's available, or even ship it to you depending on if you live in the states we can ship to! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Very crowded and busy place.
You have to jockey for position at the bar and they charge $5.00 for tastings.
The server was friendly but uninformative.
The wines were good but not excellent.

Thank DNCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hello - thanks for taking some time to write a review based on your experience. It seems like we really missed the mark here for you. It is indeed very busy at this time of the year, and the tasting rooms can get quite crowded, but we work very hard to accommodate all of our customers. I'm sorry to hear our wines did not wow you, but we really hope you were able to find some other gems here in the Finger Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Get here early on the weekend, as it is very popular and gets very crowded. . Hours are 10-5. We arrived at 11 AM and it was quite crowded. When we were finished with our tasting, there was a waiting line. The tasting includes 5 tastes of your choice for $5. We are apoiled, in that we travel a lot and have been to many vineyards in Europe. We are not wine experts, but are critical when it comes to Reislings. We enjoy halb dry reisling, and Heron Hill offers one very close to what we enjoyed in Colon. Our server was quite knowledgeable and honest. Yes, we did purchase the semi dry 2016 reisling.

Thank UrbanMonkey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Wow! We're humbled to hear we were one of the best wineries you visited while here in the Finger Lakes, especially when there are so many wonderful wines to try. October is certainly a very busy time in the tasting room, but I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our Riesling. We put a lot of passion and time into our Riesling program, as well as all our other wines, so it's rewarding to hear such nice reviews. We would love to have you back sometime. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heron Hill Winery also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Heron Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing