We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dry reds”
Review of Heron Hill Winery

Heron Hill Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Heron Hill Winery, rated as one of the most spectacular tasting rooms in the world by Travel + Leisure, is nestled into a hillside overlooking scenic Keuka Lake in New York's Finger Lakes region. For over 40 years, our family-owned winery has won many awards for its distinctive, elegant wines and continues to be at the forefront of cool climate winemaking. Establishing our heritage among some of the first vinifera wineries in the Finger Lakes, John and Josephine Ingle founded Heron Hill Winery in 1977. Through perseverance and long-term dedication to excellence in winemaking, Heron Hill Winery has become a world-class destination for wine as well as a wedding event venue. For the Ingles, practicing sustainability is a way of life. Respect for the land in how we farm our estate vineyards, and respect for the consumer by offering wines with an authentic sense of place and by providing visitors with a friendly and informative experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The tasting room overlooks the Keuka Lake with a spectacular view.
Our server focused on our dry red tastes and offered a couple of extra wine tastes that really matched our palette (which we subsequently bought).
I wish they would produce an oaked Chardonnay, because I think it would be awesome.

Thank cjkines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thanks so much for giving us a 5 star review! We pride ourselves in providing an array of wines for different palates as well as an educational and fun tasting experience. We actually do make an oaked Chardonnay called "Macri Vineyards" Chardonnay. We unfortunately sold out of that in the summer due to it;s popularity and smaller production, but will have a new vintage coming out in 2018. If you would like, send us your information to marketing@heronhill.com and we would be more than happy to notify you when it's available, or even ship it to you depending on if you live in the states we can ship to! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 57 reviews
"keuka lake"
in 43 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 29 reviews
"game bird"
in 6 reviews
"finger lakes"
in 31 reviews
"nice view"
in 10 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 14 reviews
"grape juice"
in 5 reviews
"unoaked chardonnay"
in 3 reviews
"great wine"
in 13 reviews
"would definitely go back"
in 3 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 8 reviews
"dry reds"
in 4 reviews
"wine trail"
in 6 reviews
"my favorite"
in 3 reviews
"tasting area"
in 4 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Very crowded and busy place.
You have to jockey for position at the bar and they charge $5.00 for tastings.
The server was friendly but uninformative.
The wines were good but not excellent.

Thank DNCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hello - thanks for taking some time to write a review based on your experience. It seems like we really missed the mark here for you. It is indeed very busy at this time of the year, and the tasting rooms can get quite crowded, but we work very hard to accommodate all of our customers. I'm sorry to hear our wines did not wow you, but we really hope you were able to find some other gems here in the Finger Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Get here early on the weekend, as it is very popular and gets very crowded. . Hours are 10-5. We arrived at 11 AM and it was quite crowded. When we were finished with our tasting, there was a waiting line. The tasting includes 5 tastes of your choice for $5. We are apoiled, in that we travel a lot and have been to many vineyards in Europe. We are not wine experts, but are critical when it comes to Reislings. We enjoy halb dry reisling, and Heron Hill offers one very close to what we enjoyed in Colon. Our server was quite knowledgeable and honest. Yes, we did purchase the semi dry 2016 reisling.

Thank UrbanMonkey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Wow! We're humbled to hear we were one of the best wineries you visited while here in the Finger Lakes, especially when there are so many wonderful wines to try. October is certainly a very busy time in the tasting room, but I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed our Riesling. We put a lot of passion and time into our Riesling program, as well as all our other wines, so it's rewarding to hear such nice reviews. We would love to have you back sometime. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

One if my favorite wineries in the Finger Lakes. Not only is it a beautiful winery, the view of Keuka Lake is breath taking. I am not a fan if Chardonnay but their Friends of the Equicenter is quite delicious. It is a blend of Riesling & unoaked Chardonnay. I highly recommend giving it a try.

Thank Navygirl0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hello Debbie,
Wow! What a nice comment. We're honored to be one of your favorite wineries. We agree the Chardonnay when blended with Riesling creates a really unique, delicious flavor! We will continue to produce the Riesling-Chardonnay blend every year, with a different organization every year that we raise funds for. We hope you continue to support our charity wine, as well as the winery.
Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Heron Hill was, by far, our favorite of all the wineries we visited during our stay at Keuka Lake. The building itself is beautiful, the atomosphere is nice without being too party-ish or too stuffy. The wineslinger knew her stuff as well. And the wine? SUPER easy to drink (and I'm definitely not a wine connoisseur!). We will be returning to this place during our next trip up.

1  Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Jaime - thanks for the super kind words and raving review! It's humbling to hear that we were one of your favorite wineries among the fantastic lineup of wineries on the lake alone. I hope you were able to take some Heron Hill wine home with you to enjoy. We look forward to your return. Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heron Hill Winery also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Heron Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing