We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tasting”
Review of Heron Hill Winery

Heron Hill Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Heron Hill Winery, rated as one of the most spectacular tasting rooms in the world by Travel + Leisure, is nestled into a hillside overlooking scenic Keuka Lake in New York's Finger Lakes region. For over 40 years, our family-owned winery has won many awards for its distinctive, elegant wines and continues to be at the forefront of cool climate winemaking. Establishing our heritage among some of the first vinifera wineries in the Finger Lakes, John and Josephine Ingle founded Heron Hill Winery in 1977. Through perseverance and long-term dedication to excellence in winemaking, Heron Hill Winery has become a world-class destination for wine as well as a wedding event venue. For the Ingles, practicing sustainability is a way of life. Respect for the land in how we farm our estate vineyards, and respect for the consumer by offering wines with an authentic sense of place and by providing visitors with a friendly and informative experience.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Great view and friendly staff. Large variety of wines to pick from. Cafe available on site photo opportunity available

Thank morsut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi there - thanks for the great review, and visiting our winery. I hope you found some favorite wines and had a memorable experience! Please continue to support our business and the Finger Lakes Wine Industry.
Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting room"
in 56 reviews
"keuka lake"
in 41 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 31 reviews
"finger lakes"
in 31 reviews
"game bird"
in 4 reviews
"bourbon cream"
in 3 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 14 reviews
"nice view"
in 9 reviews
"great wine"
in 14 reviews
"cab franc"
in 8 reviews
"grape juice"
in 5 reviews
"unoaked chardonnay"
in 3 reviews
"would definitely go back"
in 3 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 8 reviews
"dry reds"
in 4 reviews
"wine trail"
in 7 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Love the wine in this area. We have not been here in a while, we took our friends for a tasting and we loved the wines. The prices are very good and the staff were very nice.

Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello! Thanks so much for the nice review and visiting us on Keuka Lake. Our view never disappoints and we're so happy we are able to share it with everyone while enjoying our wines. Come see us again and bring more friends!
Thanks again - Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Great wine, impressive building. Nice staff and gift shop. They also had some whisky and ciders available for tasting.

Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi there - thanks so much for visiting and writing us a review. We're happy to hear you had a great experience. Our tasting room is rated as one of the most spectacular tasting rooms in the world, and we're so lucky to be able to share it with everyone who visits. The great reviews mean so much to us. Come back and see us again.
Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The tasting room offers some beautiful views of Keuka Lake. I especially enjoyed the semi-sweet Reisling. A favorite. Afterwards we stopped on the outdoor patio for a nice lunch. Food was casual sandwiches which were fairly priced. In addition, there was a local guitarist who played to a very appreciative crowd. A nice relaxing Sunday afternoon.

Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a nice review! We're so glad that you visited us here on Keuka Lake. The view here is spectacular and we're so lucky to be able to share our views, and award-winning tasting room and wines with all who visit. Great to hear you were able to catch some live local music. We host many local artists weekly throughout the year. Please come back and visit again.
Cheers!
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Heron Hill is a nice winery, one of their main problems is their production is a bit lacking. The wines overall are decent, good Rieslings but they were out of most of their reds. The atmosphere is very nice and the service in the tasting room is excellent. The winery seems to cycle between having a great selection of good wines to a lesser selection of average wines. I try and visit this winery every couple of years to check on progress and improvement.

Thank GaryFahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeronHillWinery, Manager at Heron Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hello,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and providing great feedback. It's been unfortunate that we have been out of a lot of our popular reds throughout the summer season. Unfortunately, we can't control the availability of red grapes in the region as well as our own crop, so we are unable to produce a large quantity like other varieties such as Riesling. We are releasing 5 new reds this September, which we are very excited about and I hope you can try them. If you are not able to make it to our tasting room, you can always buy them in our online shop, and we do a lot of great deals every month. If you are not already, be sure to subscribe to our mailing list so you can be notified of releases and promotions.
Thank you,
Chelsea Guererri, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heron Hill Winery also viewed

 
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
Hammondsport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Heron Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing