We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your looking for a Saturday”
Review of St Margarets Cafe

St Margarets Cafe
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Karaka
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 October 2020 via mobile

If your looking for a Saturday lunch with family and friends then this is NOT the place as they only have weddings on a Saturday, which is not shown on the website and when booking. To turn up and be told it’s closed to the public is not the best way, maybe the web site should be changed ?
Sunday’s are usually booked well in advance as Space is limited. Frustrating when your a local who can’t get in to support local business. If you do get to enjoy a meal it is with a walk around the pond to see the wild life and enjoy the gardens. Thanks

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank kiwiannbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2020

Lovely afternoon treat
Little sandwiches, cakes and freshly baked scones with jam and cream
Great way to celebrate birthdays or time together

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank 856jct
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2020

Id heard good things about the mongolian lamb platter, so we ordered that to share. Im not really sure where they were going with this dish. Wouldnt say it was mongolian though. The lamb inself tasted unseasoned and was quite dry. The three condiments were mint sauce, a dry spice mix (which I would have thought should go onto the meat before it was cooked), and another sauce that wasnt tasty at all. The whole dish was such a let down as Id actually herd good things about it from a friend, and quite expensive too. The coffee was below a decent standard also. I think this place has alot of potential, or maybe we just went on a bad day. Id need some convincing to go back thats for sure.

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank camz8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

Attended the high tea. Would have liked a few extra savouries and the plate would’ve been lovely had it also been china like the delightful tea cups. Thought the cost was excessive, and wouldn’t do it again for that reason.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank Z637UHtheresac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

Great location. Lovely environment and friendly staff. Will recommend them for any small or large function.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank AshleyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed St Margarets Cafe also viewed

 

Been to St Margarets Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.