We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Salt Herrings

Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage exterior
lounge Stunning sea views from Sitooterie
Accessed via courtyard at rear of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Cottage exterior
lounge
Stunning sea views from Sitooterie
Accessed via courtyard at rear of cottage
lounge
lounge
Relax and enjoy the views.
Accessed via courtyard at rear of cottage
lounge
double bedroom
lounge
twin bedroom
shower room
sea view from bedroom
view from lounge
view from lounge
lounge
outside cottage
January 2014 sunrise from lounge
January 2014 sunrise from lounge
en suite with slipper bath
cottage exterior
Full moon view from Sitooterie July 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cellardyke, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
42cracker
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

fab accommodation so warm and comfortable ,the small touches of fresh flowers ,sweets and shortbread were most appreciated,great base for the coastal walks and our hobby of geocaching.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
330Dee
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a stunning cottage with everything needed to make the perfect holiday.
The views are spectacular from the living room windows and as the kitchen joins the living area the views can be enjoyed even at meal times. There were little personal touches when we arrived like fresh flower, sweets, biscuits and this was a very thoughtful idea. Janis and Ian were the perfect hosts as we had a very warm welcome from Janis who explained the necessary things about the cottage and Ian who came to our aid in connecting our Wi-fi (his son was also a great help). The area is very historic and Anstruther is a lively place with lots of things going on. We visited Glamis Castle, Kellie Castle and Tentsmuir Forest all of which were well worth doing. We walked the costal path in both directions for a number of miles and on one occasion due to tiredness we took the bus back which was great. This is a lovely area to visit and take in the sights or just sit in the buzz of Anstruther and watch the world go by. We would certainly stay here again in this cottage as we had a really good time and of course we had a week of warm dry weather with only one afternoon's showers so this helped a lot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views of Isle of May and Bass Rock from living room windows
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianT422
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm, cosy, inviting cottage with spectacular sea views”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The relief on entering this cottage was immense as it was exactly as shown in the photographs, modern, very well appointed and scrupiosly clean. We simply unpacked and relaxed immediately (not always the case in many properties we have rented). There was a nice welcome in the form of fresh flowers throughout the cottage, along with wine, chocolates and biscuits
During our stay we encountered rain, snow, high winds and sunshine and in all conditions the woodburner provided a comfortable warm glow to the cottage (in addition to efficient central heating and lots of hot water for relaxing in the slipper bath)
To match the high quality renovation work the towels and bedding are also of good quality.
The breakfast in bed with terrific sea views and sunrise was second to none, so much so that we have booked for a returm visit in March 2013
The very friendly owners are on hand if needed
Thank you Janis & Ian for a wonderful holiday - you certainly have it right!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, the location, the views
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was all wonderful
Liked least: bed was slightly too firm for us but rather that than too soft so not really a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea views
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing