We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We are ready to come back; delightful experience!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Black Bear Cabin

Summer cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer cabin
Winter cabin #2 from back yard Our street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Summer cabin
Winter cabin #2 from back yard
Our street
Deck in summer
Backyard from the deck
Kitchen view 1
Kitchen view 2
Dining Room
Main Bath
Master Bedroom (queen)
Upstairs Double Room
Upstairs queen room
Double room (2nd view)
Full bath #2 with shower - in basement
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Chestertown, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
didr
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We are ready to come back; delightful experience!”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this fully equipped cabin with all the amenities to make your stay effortless and relaxing. The setting is very private, quiet, with lovely surroundings but easy access from Interstate 87. We took a series of day hikes, and there are many delightful options within less than an hour's drive. The kitchen is fully equipped, so there is not need to eat out, but we did find a number of very satisfactory restaurants (despite being here out of season). The owners are unusually attentive to make sure the experience is as advertised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed Black Bear Cabin and hope you come back again soon!
Maureen & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joeyoston...
Huntington, New York
1 review
“Comfy, Cozy, Clean, Convenient”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Perfect spot for our purpose on this trip of hiking and kayaking. It is a very nice place to come home to after a day of playing in the ADK. The kitchen is well equipped, all is very clean. It is very close to the exit / entrance to the highway, which in my opinion is a great convenience. Not to mention that the Paradox Brewery is only a few miles away (delicious brew for you beer lovers). Looking forward to coming back, especially for skiing!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wish it was bigger for my large ski group to stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thanks Joe! We are so glad you enjoyed the cabin. We love it too, for all the same reasons. Hope you come back again soon.
Maureen & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is the absolute perfect for an Adirondack getaway. Completely secluded on acres of beautiful woods, you really lose track of time in the most wonderful way. Simply put, nothing compares to sitting around the wood burning fireplace with warm drinks and friends. The place has beautiful amenities and everything you would need to make your stay as stress-free as possible.

We are all counting down the days until we can return, this place is highly highly recommended!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
John, We are thrilled you had a great stay at the Black Bear cabin!! Thank you for doing such a great clean up job. We truly appreciated that you took such great care of our place. We would welcome you back anytime! The other seasons are beautiful as well. Look forward to having you again as our guests!! Best, Muffie and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt like home!”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cabin was one of the nicest places we've ever had for a family getaway! We were looking for a comfortable, furnished vacation home just for some sledding and a quiet weekend together. This place was amazing and the fireplace and woodstove set the precedent for places we will rent in the future! We will definitely be renting this cabin again! Thank you so much to our host and hostess!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fireplace and wood provided
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Thank you for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin and thank you for taking such great care and the wonderful job you did cleaning up! We would welcome you back anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dkimmer
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
“All the comforts of home”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a very relaxing stay at Black Bear Cabin. It certainly exceeded our expectations. Plenty of room for the whole family, very comfortable & spotless. So much attention to detail with all the comforts of home. We highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2015
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay!! Please come back and stay with us again when you are vacationing and relaxing in the Adirondacks!
Muffie and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing