We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Betsy S
Hammondsport, New York

Great hotel - really bad area

Review of Umbrella Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jun 2019
The hotel itself is great! The room was very clean - quite big enough for the two of us - great TV and wifi - good parking - comfy bed and pillows - good air conditioning - great service from the front desk. The area where the hotel is located is very scary. I am not sure that we will return even though we really like the hotel. I certainly hope that the Bronx will clean itself up soon.
Date of stay: June 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$332
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $258
  • Expedia.com
    $332
0.4 km from Umbrella Hotel
$271
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    $271
1.3 km from Umbrella Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$314
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $281
  • Agoda.com
    $248
  • Hotels.com
    $311
1.2 km from Umbrella Hotel
$341
  • Choice Hotels
    $341
  • Algotels
    $311
  • Hotels.com
    $342
1.6 km from Umbrella Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$240
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Skyscanner.com
    $241
5.9 km from Umbrella Hotel
$408
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $409
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Umbrella Hotel
Free parking
Fitness centre
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $257
  • Agoda.com
    $206
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Umbrella Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $306
  • Agoda.com
    $269
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Umbrella Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    $811
  • Residence Inn
    $1,277
7.0 km from Umbrella Hotel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $326
  • Skyscanner.com
    $303
  • Wyndham
    $326
9.8 km from Umbrella Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bronx
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
9
7
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
7
5
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2019

if all you want is a clean bed to sleep in then stay. Keurig coffee pot in room but no coffee pods. No iron or ironing boards. No continental breakfast as advertised. No wifi or internet was offered..

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Choice Hotels
2  Thank Wander19181198500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

place is a joke,they charge too much for the lo -cal. Its really bad , anyone whreads reviews as a guide heed my warning . this place is not worth whst they charge
There is one ice macnine and its on the 6 th. Floor. The remote was broken and and the sheets are old. And for the price im shocked at the way i wS treated. These people need a clue in hospitality. Dont fall fall this ,its a sad nightmare so

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Sucksass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2019

A wonderful hotel in a great location. A short walk to Yankee staduim. They weren't yet serving breakfast at the hotel, but provided gift cards for "Dunkin Donuts", where I had a nice breakfast sandwich. Don't believe any negative comments you see! It is a very good hotel in a very good location!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Choice Hotels
Thank t52anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2019 via mobile

We took a trip to the Yankee/Twins game and stayed here for the night. Aside from very limited parking (4 spots). The hotel is very nice almost too upscale for the area its in. Hotel staff were very helpful. After the game we ventured into the city, front desk people called an uber for us. Overall this place is a surprise. Rooms are on the small side but very nice, bed are comfortable and I had a great view of the city from my room. If I ever go to another Yankee game I will stay here....

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank 01PaddyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2019 via mobile

I came from Texas visited in bronx to see my friend ... that was the nearest Hotel to my friend’s house . I spent 1 night in the Hotel that was awesome and the View at night was really good .. the Front desk Guys were Nice and friendly . the housekeeping job was awesome .. the all i want to say is Just have a visit .,, you gonna love that place

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Preet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews