We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mario041
Wiesbaden, Germany

No more feeling good...

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Aug 2021via mobile
For the second time after November 2015, we were now guests for a week at the Opera House Hotel in the Bronx. As requested we got room 304, this is one of the few rooms facing the courtyard and this I can highly recommend.

The reason is that even at night outside is a lot of noise and loud music and you are also spared from street noise.
In contrast to 2015, however, the area around the hotel is in an even more appalling state than then. The sidewalks are completely littered and dirty, dubious characters stand stoned on drugs on the walls of the houses and otherwise the area does not make a trustworthy impression.

Actually, this hotel with its cleanliness does not fit at all into this corner of the Bronx. It is only about 3 minutes to the Subway and you are usually left alone by these people, but we did not feel comfortable there at all.

Unfortunately, the service in the hotel has partly decreased, our room was not cleaned at all on the penultimate day and looked like we left it in the morning. The towels we had as recommended in the bathroom on the floor and there they were still in the evening, the bed was also not made and the tip for the room service was still on the bed, definitely no one was there that day to clean our room.

The breakfast that is included in the hotel price has the same scope as in 2015 and is sufficient for the most necessary, but this time we have found that at higher occupancy of the hotel, the stocks are filled much too rarely. Only after complaining on our part we could get anything at all for breakfast.

On the positive side, we were offered to leave the room on the day of departure only around 2pm, since we had the return flight from New York to Germany only in the evening.

In summary, the hotel can be recommended because it is clean and inexpensive by New York standards, but we would not advise anyone in our circle of acquaintances to stay there because of the environment.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emilio morales, General Manager at Opera House Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review and let me apologize for any inconveniences you had with us this last time. As you know we take cleanliness extremely seriously and there should never have been a day that we missed your cleaning unless you have a do not disturb sign on the door. This will be looked into immediately. We will also be looking into the refilling of the trays at breakfast time. We no longer have a dedicated breakfast attendant as breakfast is grab and go but we should be making sure that all is being refilled more frequently especially in high occupancy times as all other times. Unfortunately, I cannot help with the outside area which has been transitioning slowly. New York City as a whole has been having issues with all that you have mentioned and we do our best to maintain our hotels and keep all guests safe. We surely do hope that you give us another chance on your next trip to NY as you have been a loyal guest to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Wyndham
    $339
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Opera House Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Booking.com
2.5 km from Opera House Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $244
  • Skyscanner.com
    $244
  • Hotels.com
    $245
0.4 km from Opera House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $289
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Opera House Hotel
$803
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Residence Inn
    $803
7.3 km from Opera House Hotel
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
  • Priceline
    $270
  • Vio.com
    $267
  • Algotels
4.2 km from Opera House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Choice Hotels
    $339
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Opera House Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
$343
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    $344
10.1 km from Opera House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $327
  • Booking.com
3.0 km from Opera House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $220
  • Hotels.com
6.1 km from Opera House Hotel
View more hotels in Bronx
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
532
193
39
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
532
193
39
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel new york subway station bagels high ceilings hidden gem continental breakfast the hotel is clean after dark an oasis front desk staff staying at this hotel neighborhood manhattan carlos parking diamond
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2021

We stayed at the hotel a few nights recently with kids on a visit to the zoo. Wouldn't recommend the location. Parking was difficult and inconvenient. Few dinner options in the area. The hotel didn't look like pictured from the outside. It appears to be undergoing external renovations. The street was busy, loud and dirty.
The room was clean except for some ants and dirt by the window sills. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was simple but sufficient.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anamV2150VD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2021

The room and facilities were very clean and most of the staff was helpful and kind. Sadly, the staff were not consistently wearing masks in the public facing and communal areas.

The hotel has only 4 guest parking spaces, including one handicapped space, that are free but on a first come, first serve basis.

Our toilet kept overflowing and they tried and failed to fix it 3 times. After our first night and for the next two nights our A/C kept failing and the room got to 75 degrees again and again. No one offered us a new room, so it kind of sucked to not have a working toilet and to wake up sweating I the stuffy room. Notably, the outdoor temp was never above 65 that weekend.

We were pretty fed up after the third night.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank nicolesp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emilio morales, General Manager at Opera House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Thank you for your review. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while with us. You should have immediately been offered a new room if we could not figure out the issue. It is unacceptable that we would attempt to fix it 3 times to no avail so I apologize. We are also very strict on mask wearing so I am looking into this. The only persons you may not see wearing masks are front desk personnel who are behind the plexiglass. regarding the AC, unfortunately, we don't have ac as of yet for the season so it would not have worked. We are waiting until the city comes in to open up our cooling tower for the season so the fan would have been the only operating item at the moment. It also would not have gone on because of the low temps that week. I again apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and as you can see from other reviews, this is not common at our property. I surely hope you give us another chance to change your mind and perception regarding our property. If you decide to come back to us, please contact me personally.
Emilio Morales-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

Very nice place good clean room excellent service parking lot is very excellent everything is very closed to that particular place supermarket next door 3 ave street always open store are very nice 👍🏼

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank robertocantante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

This hotel was AMAZING! I'm from the bronx
But never knew about this BEAUTIFUL HOTEL
The room was huge and very nice! The decor was cool! YOU WILL LOVE IT HERE AS SOON AS YOU WALK IN THE LOBBY YOU WILL FEEL LIKE YOU ARE IN MIDTOWN🙂 p.s the only con is the little tv😆 but its worth it!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Murtaugh167
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emilio morales, General Manager at Opera House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again soon! Our tv's are 35'' but if you stay in our Deluxe Queen rooms, they are 40. we are in the current process of changing them so stay tuned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

the room is beautiful.. more than anticipated.. room is very clean.. Have two beds and table with chairs. Room also has a leather sofa with a extra bed.. bathroom with fresh towels. Microwave and refrigerator.. perfect

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tomeikah2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews