We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gabriel B
Boston, Massachusetts

Shabby welfare hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 May 2018
Very shabby, hallway carpet is covered in filthy stains. Rooms were clean, bathroom was fine and beds were comfy but every piece of furniture clearly over-used. No evidence of roaches, but very residential feel to this obvious welfare hotel. Confirmed that 3/4 of rooms are occupied by residents for 6m to 1 year, so it's noisy with lots of smokers and babies, but not intolerable and folks are generally respectful. Very pleasant and helpful staff. 5 free first-come/first-serve parking spaces out front, next to dumpster and pile of last year's curtains. Gym downstairs is now storage. On one side is noisy street, on the other is noisy MARC trains. 3 blocks to nearest diner, but 5 blocks to Botanical Garden is definite plus and very convenient to train into Manhattan.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $810
  • Residence Inn
  • Hotels.com
    $810
3.8 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $435
  • Algotels
    $404
  • Wyndham
    $434
4.0 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $441
  • Priceline
6.9 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Camera matrimoniale
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $663
  • Hotels.com
5.2 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $500
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $377
  • Wyndham
    $529
7.7 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $448
  • Algotels
4.0 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $441
  • Hotels.com
8.0 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $360
  • Booking.com
5.3 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $341
  • Hotels.com
4.7 km from Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
View more hotels in Bronx
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
25
19
16
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
19
16
6
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We booked at the Rodeway Inn as it is close to the Botanical Gardens and the Bronx Zoo-two of our main destinations. It is also close to Fordham University. The hotel was renovated 4 years ago. We were surprised as they keep it up very well. The hotel is small including the rooms. They are well appointed and clean. There is breakfast each morning. If you come towards the end then the eggs are cold. There is free parking on a first come first serve basis for a few cars. The staff are very calm and helpful. We were so grateful to Anish for all the help he gave us.

Room tip: There is no good view.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MaryJMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Good hotel, nice room with a great bed. Kind of small but it was not a problem for us. By public transport within 1h45m from JFK to the hotel. From the D-train station you can get to Manhattan within 30-50 minutes depending where you need to be. A lot of shops nearby and the area didn't feel unsafe for us, during the day there were lots of people. I wouldn't walk the streets alone at night though. Hotel breakfast was fine and frequently refilled, bagels, toast, eggs, bacon and sausages. Great stay if you don't mind the travel and looking for a budget hotel.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank DanielleHeynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Chose this property because it was walking distance to the botanical gardens. Horrible unsafe location. Sure we walked to the gardens but had to stay in the hotel at night out of fear. Tiny tiny room was pretty clean but the public area smelled like smoke and carpets were dirty. TV dish reception was bad. No really decent eating locations within walking distance. Read other reviews before I book this hotel after reading positive ratings from others however no one mentioned the location issue.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Pros: Location within walking distance of New York Botanic Garden; helpful desk staff, modern decor; mattress comfortable; affordable by NY standards. MetroNorth train stop 10 min walk from hotel is a 20 minute ride to Grand Central Station, making travel to Manhattan easy.
Cons: Any noise at all in the hallway (and there were plenty!) is very loud----room doors are clustered together, making such noise more likely. Seriously, bring ear plugs! Breakfast was bare bones even by most breakfast buffet standards.
General: Neighborhood is mixed, some new apartment construction, a few dilapidated buildings, a police station a block away and storefronts with bars and roll-down metal doors. walked from NYBG a few times after dark and never had any unwanted attention or problems of any sort.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Fricky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Newer hotel in the Bronx. The rooms are small but clean and price reasonable for the area. Lots of restaurants within walking distance and hotel offers free but limited parking and smoking rooms to avoid the cold. Nice place and would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank manuels464
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews