We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap tasting”

Hunt Country Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Hunt family has been farming west of Branchport, NY, on Keuka Lake for seven generations and started the winery in 1981. Our 170-acre farm encompasses 43 acres of wine grapes. The varieties under our care include Cabernet Franc, Chardonnay, Riesling, Seyval Blanc, and Vignoles. We are the oldest continuous producer of genuine ice wine in the United States. Our wines have been served at the United Nations, ordered by the White House, featured in Food & Wine and on NBC's Today Show. We have nearly eliminated our fossil fuel use for heating, cooling and electricity by installing award-winning geothermal and solar systems. Our goal is to farm and make wine in ways that ensure the health of our land, water, and air for future generations.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I was not very impressed with Hunt winery. The young gentleman was very sweet who gave us our tasting. He told us a tasting was $3.00 and we picked out our wines. Thats pretty much it. A couple came in after us and the woman who greeted them told them about all of the tastings they offer. She offered them a regular tasting, a tasting with cheese pairing and a tasting with chocolate pairing. If we had known about the cheese pairing we would have gladly payed the extra fee to try it.

1  Thank Kbron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntCountry, Public Relations Manager at Hunt Country Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

We're really sorry all the tasting choices weren't presented to you. The cheese pairing is a good one. When you have a free moment, please get in touch with our tasting room manager, Allie (allie@huntwines.com). We want to make sure you have a way better experience the next time you stop in. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ice wine"
in 11 reviews
"cream sherry"
in 5 reviews
"keuka lake"
in 8 reviews
"chocolate pairings"
in 4 reviews
"nice gift"
in 2 reviews
"ruby port"
in 2 reviews
"seyval blanc"
in 3 reviews
"grape juice"
in 3 reviews
"wine tour"
in 6 reviews
"tasting bar"
in 3 reviews
"favorite winery"
in 3 reviews
"tasting room"
in 5 reviews
"great wine"
in 4 reviews
"sweeter wines"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful winery"
in 2 reviews
"finger lakes wine"
in 2 reviews
"finger lakes area"
in 2 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

My wife and I had a lovely visit here during the Fire It Up BBQ Event. The wine and food pairings were great along with the other wines we were able to taste as well. My favorite wine that I tasted was the Ruby Port.

Thank kwnike13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntCountry, Public Relations Manager at Hunt Country Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

The Ruby Port is pretty darn good. So glad you had a great time at the BBQ event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Love the wines, especially the reds, beautiful views from porch, friendly and knowledgeable staff. BBQ food offerings just okay this time, but definitely will visit again soon.

Thank Mary Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntCountry, Public Relations Manager at Hunt Country Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Yikes! Did the event food seem average this year? So sorry about that. We’re always aiming for way better than “just okay” with the culinary experience. About the red wines: Yes, we agree, they are quite delicious; the Alchemy is a regular favorite at our dinner table. So glad you enjoy them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

This was our first wine tasting. We were hoping to try ice wine unfortunately they were out. We did a wine & chocolate tasting. We enjoyed it & bought a bottle with some chocolates.

Thank jroz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntCountry, Public Relations Manager at Hunt Country Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for visiting Hunt Country and including us in your first wine tasting. Sorry we were out of Ice Wine. We’ll be bottling the 2016 vintage this month; keep your eyes open for the announcement on FB, our website and our newsletter. Hope you can stop by again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

This is a large winery with a lot of nice gift type items available. The wine was good and the staff was friendly. There is a large inside sitting area for eating and a small porch with benches.

Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntCountry, Public Relations Manager at Hunt Country Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks for joining us for the Wine & Tapas event, Jodie. We've had a couple gorgeous weekends in April so far. Spring is finally here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunt Country Vineyards also viewed

Branchport, Finger Lakes

Been to Hunt Country Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing