We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Serondella Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shumbalala Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterbuck Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jackalberry Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
N'kaya Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
255
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitewatering holesouth africarain showerexplained everythingsafari driveswonderful experienceout of this worldprivate deckexceeded our expectationscooked breakfasthot water bottlesthe reserveother guestsevery mealthree daysthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Spent three nights here in early January looked after by Tammyn and her wonderful team. The hospitality provided was first class. Our room had a lovely view over the watering hole and was beautifully equipped.
The food and service was excellent.
Our Ranger - Doctor and Tracker Rennico were great and knew their stuff. We got to see the big five and the whole thing was amazing.
Don’t think about going - just go you won’t regret it.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sal6518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Monwana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi there Sal6518, thank-you so much for leaving this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Monwana is beautiful accommodation in the bush and the staff go out of their way for you!
A special mention to Doctor and Rennico thank you! You made our 2 night stay incredible. We saw the Big 5 and much more. They went out of their way to ensure we saw everything but also the animals interacting not just sleeping. We saw a leopard eating with her cubs, an elephant drinking and washing himself from a small water hole metres away to cheetah cubs running around playing (they got so close I thought they may jump in the car)! As well as wild dogs going on a hunt, plus so much more - in two days!! We had quite an adventure on our safari drives. We also came across other Thornybush game vehicles and I can 100% say Monwana has the best guides with Doctor and Rennico. We were always the first at a sighting and they were both always so respectful to all the other guides. I could go on and on! Don’t look any further if deciding where to stay! This is the place. I would give Monwana 10+++++ stars if I could! Michelle and Milan

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michellemilash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Monwana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi there Michellemilash, thank-you so much for leaving this review for Monwana Lodge. We are thrilled that you had such a great time here with us, and managed to see so much action :) Hope to see you back here with us again at some point in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We spent 3 days at this lodge for our first experience of a safari in Sth Africa & "whoa" what an amazing experience it was.Starting with the hospitality shown by Shelly & Ruan who were both fantastic & would go out of their way to make sure that our stay was an enjoyable experience. The same can be said of Jeffery our amazing tracker who did everything with a smile, even when searching for that elusive Cheetah on foot.The rooms were clean & tidy, the food was plentiful & delicious. The game drives were great and both Ruan & Jeffery were both knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Both of them having such passion for their work. We saw all the animals that we wanted to see plus more. Would definitely recommend this lodge, its small (just for 8?) and being a private reserve the safari experience was intimate.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is best room, with views over river and watering hole
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miramar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Monwana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello Miramar10, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this review! I'm thrilled that you had such a wonderful, first-time safari :) Hope to see yo back again some time soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Spent three days recently at this lodge. First time visit to SA and to a safari.
The experience was amazing!!
The lodge team extremely professional, caring, willing to go out of their way to-please the guests
The accommodations beyond belief in both spaciousness, cleanliness and ambiance
The food was just amazing, outstanding!!!
Both morning and afternoon safari rides were incredibly exciting and very educational
Both ranger and tracker top professionals, extremely knowledgable
Highly, highly recommend this lodge

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GREATVOYAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Monwana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Hi there GREATVOYAGE, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this review - we're thrilled that you had such a wonderful, first-time visit to South Africa and on safari. Hope to see you back again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We booked a honeymoon suite at the Monwana Lodge and it was beautiful! Monwana is a private lodge which makes the experience very personalized and special. The manager Shelley is very welcoming and polite! She made sure we had a memorable 3 night stay there. Everyone is very organized and the place is well maintained. Game drives were good and very informative. Ruan (Ranger) and Jeffery (Tracker) were amazing and they went an extra mile to ensure we have a good view of the animals. Weather is an important factor while making a choice to visit the Private Reserves near Kruger.. winter being the best. We went during summer, even though the bushes were dense we managed to get a view of The Big Five. Thank you very much Ruan, Jeffrey and Shelley !!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rohita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice W, Guest Relations Manager at Monwana Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hi Rohita J, thank-you so much for taking the time to leave this review! I'm so happy that you had a wonderful time here with us at Monwana Game Lodge. Hope to see you back again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews