We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bonnie B
Miami, United States

Our stay April 30-May 3, 2024

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Excellent environment, pleasant staff, wonderful trackers and rangers, nice spa, very good gym, excellent safaris including walking safari, wonderful meals - breakfast, lunch and dinner, excellent service. Highly recommend if you visit this area.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$2,035
  • Expedia.com
    $2,099
  • Agoda.com
    $1,625
  • Hotels.com
    $2,099
5.6 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$4,308
  • Expedia.com
    $4,507
  • Agoda.com
    $3,389
  • Trip.com
    $4,498
10.0 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,732
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$1,379
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,373
  • Agoda.com
    $1,055
  • Hotels.com
    $1,381
2.4 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$3,220
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $3,166
  • Agoda.com
    $2,419
  • Expedia.com
    $3,231
8.0 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
This is a spacious luxury safari tent with an off set bathroom, outside shower, a bath, his and her amenities, spacious deck overlooking the bushveld and a private pergola with a day bed.
$403
  • Expedia.com
    $450
  • Priceline
    $448
  • Hotels.com
    $443
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
$452
  • Expedia.com
    $454
  • Agoda.com
    $274
  • Priceline
    $288
8.7 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$289
  • Expedia.com
    $290
  • ZenHotels.com
    $264
  • Priceline
    $289
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$255
  • Expedia.com
    $256
  • Agoda.com
    $212
  • Priceline
    $232
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Reviews (2,983)
Filter reviews
2,983 results
Traveller rating
2,585
318
53
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,585
318
53
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives spa suite safari experience the reserve river lodge amazing experience south africa lunch and dinner buffet style hoedspruit airport kruger park our waiter wild animals out of this world amazing place three days once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,983 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had never stayed at Kapama before, in fact it was our first time in Africa. From the moment of being picked up at the airport by Jordan, I instantly felt as if this was going to be a great experience, Jordan was so friendly and helpful. Upon reaching the lodge we were welcome by a gourd of staff, all with big smiles on their faces, it could not have been nicer. The room was lovely, food was great, and all of the staff clearly enjoy their work and are grateful to be there.

I also had the opportunity to perform a site inspection of the other Kapama properties, are were lovely!!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BWCTA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2024

For my first ever safari, a truly unforgettable experience from the bush walk to the game drives. The room was lovely and we got to see so much wildlife up close and personal. This was a dream come true. Marcus and Humphrey were a great team! Highly recommend. Their wait staff was super knowledgeable about allergies and had SO many options! I was so impressed. I can't wait to return.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lexcinthewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2024

The River Lodge was a perfect mix of rustic luxury! The rooms were so comfortable and well appointed. The dining experiences were exceptional…but the best part of all was the amazing game drives! We saw the big 5 plus many other animals. Our Guide and Tracker were amazing and took such good care! I can’t wait to return and experience it all over again!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Shannan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2024

We absolutely loved our stay at Kapama. This was our first trip to South Africa and first safari experience. I had high expectations based on all the positive reviews and accolades and my expectations were exceeded! The facilities, service, food, safari are all top notch!

We didn't have to worry about transport from the airport all taken care of by Kapama. The ride to lodge is short but so fun.

The facility is tastefully designed and decorated. I really appreciate the low profile nature of the lodge and it blends in nicely with it's surroundings. The family suite was very spacious, clean, modern amenities and very comfortable.

The food is very good and tasty with many options to choose from. Israel was our server for the duration of our stay and he was so kind, nice, helpful, attentive. We really enjoyed chatting with him. Service was excellent.

We went out on every safari available including the walk about and this was largely due to our guide Jordan and tracker Witness. We saw so many animals large and small and yes we saw the big 5. We learned so much from them and they made each safari outing special and unique. We had so much fun and laughter with our safari crew such a good time! Highlights include being in the middle of large herd of elephants, Amurula at sunset, being embedded with a pride of lions at night, and seeing the elusive leopard on our last morning safari. Thank you so much Jordan and Witness we miss you guys!

Visited the wellness center and got a massage and bubble bath overlooking the river. Afterwards, my daughter said I look years younger...that says it all!

Kapama was an unforgettable and magical experience from start to finish. We were sad to leave.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satyen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2024

My entire experience was incredible. I would absolutely go back. this is truly a 5 star experience from the game drives, dining, spa/wellness center, pools, experiences, etc.

Date of stay: April 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jomeara2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews