We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$1,709
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
X5683KVdan
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Absolutely amazing!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2024
This place is paradise. The service was some of the best we have ever experienced. Food was fantastic, the inclusive drinks were generous and the staff were amazing. Everyone is very friendly here and the animals are everywhere! I've done a safari before in Tanzania and this was much better, easier and superior value. It's a no brainer!
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$3,780
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
8.5 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$1,212
  • Hotels.com
    $1,361
  • Agoda.com
    $1,004
  • Expedia.com
    $1,361
2.4 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
Priceline
$1,893
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $1,839
  • Agoda.com
    $1,414
  • Hotels.com
    $1,890
8.0 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
This is a spacious luxury safari tent with an off set bathroom, outside shower, a bath, his and her amenities, spacious deck overlooking the bushveld and a private pergola with a day bed.
Booking.com
$400
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $424
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$423
  • Hotels.com
    $423
  • Agoda.com
    $246
  • Priceline
    $269
8.7 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$269
  • Priceline
    $269
  • Hotels.com
    $264
  • Expedia.com
    $268
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$343
  • Expedia.com
    $346
  • Hotels.com
    $291
  • ZenHotels.com
    $342
9.2 km from Kapama River Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Reviews (2,969)
Filter reviews
2,969 results
Traveller rating
2,571
318
53
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,571
318
53
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game drives spa suite safari experience the reserve river lodge amazing experience south africa lunch and dinner buffet style hoedspruit airport kruger park our waiter wild animals out of this world amazing place three days once in a lifetime
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2,969 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

This review could become a book, so I'll keep it short. First, if you haven't visited South Africa and seen the BIG FIVE (up-front and personally), this is the place to go. From top-shelf hospitality, to gourmet dinners, to game drives that begin and end your day, you will have a fun-packed time at Kapama River Lodge.

The grounds of the lodge are expansive, with a Boma (used during the colder months), spa, workout facility, and more. The common area, located with the luxury suites, is to die for - complete with a bar, pool, plenty of comfortable seating around roaring fireplaces, this is like a dream.

Dining at the Xitsumbeni restaurant is an experience you don’t want to miss. With a smash-up of modern and lodge ambience, the restaurant is brimming with excitement when you enter. The food is excellent, with choices including Springbok, Ostrich, Kudu, and other game fare along with standards like tender beef fillets and free-range chicken. For those who lean vegetarian, there is a smattering of choices including fruits and vegetables from South Africa. You won’t be disappointed. And, with a full bar, stocked with some of the best South African wines, you’ll find yourself wondering how to extend your stay for another week, so you have time to sample everything.

And the game drives are the highlight. You’ll experience trained spotters and drivers who will find everything from Leopards lying in wait, to the smallest chameleon on a nearby bush,. To get even closer, Kapama offers a nature walk, where guides take you through a trail and get you close to the wildlife in a way you could never have imagined.

If Kapama River Lodge isn't on your bucket list, you need to add a line for it!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CodyShive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Kapama River Lodge is truly a little slice of heaven. We had the most amazing stay - game viewing was incredible, the lodge was luxurious, and the food was delicious. Our guide and tracker were truly so knowledgeable and taught us so much! Thank you Kapama for a wonderful stay

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nataliehagan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Going to Kapama River Lodge is truly a luxury experience! Not only are the people that work there incredibly friendly, but the whole experience is catered to what you want! From the safaris and game drives with knowledgeable and attentive drivers and spotters to the management checking in on you, Kapama's staff always makes you feel so welcome. The pools and spa are also divine, as you can treat yourself to a relaxing day doing whatever you please. This is an all-inclusive resort, so get ready to be delighted with the amazing foods (which you will get to eat so much!) and drink. The only problem I had was leaving. Would highly recommend Kapama for anyone looking for a great Safari and a trip of a lifetime!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank danpjaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

This place did not disappoint. An amazing experience. The unexpected highlight was how good and varied the food and drinks were. Huge choice of wines included and cocktails. Changing menus every day and all incredible. The pools were lovley to relax around. Game drives were, as expected, very very good. Its a bit harder to see the animals compared to other safaris I've done in other parts of Africa due to the thick Bush. But the quality once you do is very good. We saw the big 5 and had some incredible sightings. Donavon was our tracker and he was excellent. Very friendly, genuine, helpful, informative and great fun on the drive. We also did the spa treatments which were top level and the romantic sleep out is very recommended! Thanks for a once in a lifetime stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank danbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Our experience at Kapama was exceptional. Everything is so well organised. The game drives were amazing and we saw the big 5 and lots more. Thabo and Mr Q were extremely knowledgeable and answered all of our questions and went out of their way to show and find us animals we said we’d like to see. The food, facilities and hospitality also were over and beyond what we expected. I would not hesitate to recommend kapama to anyone - it was the highlight of our trip!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank natasham570
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews