We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
alwynpre2rius
Brisbane, Australia

Exhilarating experience

Review of Kapama Karula
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2024
We had an experience of a lifetime. We enjoyed our best game drives ever with Ranger Ian and back at camp we received 5 star treatment from well trained professional staff. We will definitely be back.
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.8 km from Kapama Karula
Free Wifi
Free parking
This is a spacious luxury safari tent with an off set bathroom, outside shower, a bath, his and her amenities, spacious deck overlooking the bushveld and a private pergola with a day bed.
$451
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $451
3.8 km from Kapama Karula
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $373
  • Algotels
17.9 km from Kapama Karula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $250
  • Expedia.com
    $257
16.0 km from Kapama Karula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $4,876
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Kapama Karula
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $301
  • Expedia.com
    $329
17.4 km from Kapama Karula
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Expedia.com
    $332
17.3 km from Kapama Karula
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kapama Private Game Reserve
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
646
35
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
646
35
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower game drives private pool the river the reserve safari experience our waiter our honeymoon hoedspruit airport luxury safari attention to detail out of this world our entire stay pure luxury beautiful lodge from arrival to departure blown away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Amazing game drives! We saw the bigfive and many more animals. Outstanding location and service! Excellent Breakfast, lunch and dinner. relaxing massages between the game Drives in an amazing spa at the Karula lodge.

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelriedel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2024

What an amazing place and experience. It’s a truly captivating lodge with staff that will exceed your expectations. The food was very exquisite. If you’re looking for a reason to book at Kapama Karula, look no further, this is it.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KKMOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024

We have traveled all over the world, and I cannot say enough great things about Kapama Karula. The food is simply AMAZING -- truly the quality of the meals and service is like a five-star restaurant. Eric (butler/waiter) and the chef just do an outstanding job at every meal. Never expected this kind of food quality on a safari.

Ian and Mike were incredibly knowledgeable as our guide and tracker. I highly recommend going on the bush walk during the day. Tourists are always so eager to see "the big five", but the smaller things in the bush are even more interesting (termite mounds are an engineering marvel, and the spiders, plants, and other small creatures are just as interesting). We saw four of the big five animals (never saw a leapard) during our three days there. If you go during their winter (June-August), please take a coat. It gets very cold in the early mornings and evening drives (temps in the 30's and low 40's and you're in a moving open air vehicle). We did not dress warm enough, and regretted it. I came to appreciate that every party at Karula gets a private vehicle for their safari drives. After hearing stories from other travelers elsewhere, don't undervalue the advantages of a private vehicle.

The rooms at Kapama Karula are exquisite. Tranquil elegance that stays true to their African surroundings. The spa is also quite lovely and prices are reasonable.

The service at Karula is exceptional -- from everyone to the butlers to the chefs to the guides/trackers, to the bartenders to the housekeeping staff. Please tip generously -- not only to the guide/trackers, but everyone else there who works so hard to make the experience exceptional. I highly, highly recommend staying at Kapama Karula.

Room tip: Bring a coat if you go during the months of June-August. It gets quite cold at night and in the early morning game drives.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LJF706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

I recently stayed at Kapama Game Reserve with my family and had an amazing time. We saw a huge varitety of game , including a leopard just three minutes after setting off on our first safari, juvenile rhinos tussling (like teenagers often do), a newly born giraf and innumerable zebra, warthogs and zebras. The kids favorite and mine was the dung beatles, those little guys work very hard.

The accommodation was excellent, the food was very good, and the staff was super friendly.

Room tip: The staff came out and sang to our daughter whose birthday it was.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RonanRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023

I really enjoyed my stay at Kapama Karula, the hospitality and friendliness of the staff was amazing. The food was nice. also enjoyed the massage at SPA. Game drive was amazing

The place is worth the money.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Getaway31073148413
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews