We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
François M
Longueuil, Canada

Excellent place for an excellent safari trip

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Very nice and comfortable lodge with excellent service. The game drives were always interesting and the guide was excellent and knowledgeable. The location and the rooms are beautiful and we sere immersed in nature 24 hours a day. Every nigth I could listen to the hyenas that sometimes came very close (absolutly safe) . The food was also excellent. A perfect safari stay.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.6 km from Greenfire Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
    8.7 km from Greenfire Game Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    12.1 km from Greenfire Game Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      17.6 km from Greenfire Game Lodge
      Free parking
      Pool
      View more hotels in Balule Nature Reserve
      Reviews (166)
      Filter reviews
      166 results
      Traveller rating
      150
      11
      4
      0
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      150
      11
      4
      0
      1
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews game lodge carol and nigel the main house game drives food prepared amazing experience per day kruger national park south africa elusive leopard went the extra mile safari experience dietary restrictions amazing animals every meal victor nature
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      2 - 7 of 166 reviews
      Reviewed 14 April 2024

      so, it s an overpriced place in Balule reserve driving the same roads up and down on a game drive, food is okay, they charge for everything extra even water, which is a humans right, and usually included in the price at all other places. on evening game drives, they serve alcohol. the guide kept the noise level in car down by telling the people before, which was so nice, cause usually tourists yell all over which was not the case here gladly. on on game drive, someone found wild dogs and informed us. so, we were rushing there. there are not many of this amazing species left on the african continent, so, this sighting is special and rare. very rare. after 2 min with these dogs, which made me nearly crying for happiness we found them, 2 of the other guests where pushing the guide to stop for their alcohol drinks. so, we had to leave the wild dogs. if you come for the alcohol and not for the animals, go to a bar. a club. stay in a city. do not destroy the game drive for other guests just cause you need your drugs. that kind of made whole game drive and the whole stay a sad thing. people go into the bush for the animals. not for the beer or the wine. gladly, we did not see any lions or stuff, cause they did not deserve it, if you want to see lots of animals, stay on the other side of olifants west or timbavati anyways. also when you are in your room, you have lots of noise from other guests, so, its not a relaxing place sadly, but its a nice design in the rooms. it looks cute. voctor the guide i had was also kind of nice.

      Date of stay: April 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank AlexandraMini1980
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

      Wonderful experience. Service, accommodation, food & game drives were fantastic.

      Every detail is thought of and it feels like you are part of the the family. Staff are clearly really happy in their roles and it shows. Fantastic location on the river Bank. Given was our driver and he was brilliant.

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank craigchapps246
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 November 2023

      Greenfire Lodge in Balule Game Reserve provides an extraordinary experience to observe wildlife. The Lodge is located next to Kruger and there are no fences between the two preserves. The Lodge staff are exceedingly personable, attentive, and professional. This Lodge provides an opportunity to observe wildlife with an authentic safari experience. There are no paved roads (that I saw) in this preserve. The Greenfire Lodge Jeep greets you at the entrance of the Balule Reserve where you proceed to travel on dirt roads to your Lodging. If you are worried about traveling on paved roads and being in a traffic jam on a safari, then look no further…. this is the place for you. The density of wild life is not exceedingly high but that was part of the fun experience. With our guide (Victor) who was an outstanding tracker and very personable, we saw on our three night/four day safari: elephants, giraffes, zebras, lions, white rhinoceroses, hippos, hyenas, wild dogs and numerous kinds of antelope like animals and numerous birds including "zazu" from lion king. There was a mama baboon and her baby hanging out on the roof of the lodge. The night drives were sensational. I can only rave about our experience. If you need transport to the lodge there are companies that will take you from Johannesburg to the preserve entry. If you have the opportunity and are looking for a less touristy-people crowded safari experience, then Greenfire is your place.

      Date of stay: October 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Dana G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 26 October 2023

      I don't know where to start. Maybe with my perfect host Carol and Nigel, who greeted me with warmth and cared for every guest for the full lenght of my stay. Or was it the impacable service and great food.. My room was beautifuly decorated, with comfy bed and pillows...and the view to the river on that so nice porch. 5 days of pure delight going from morning drives to the evening ones, each accompanied by very professionals guides to ensure the ultimate Big 5. Never a guarantee but every effort were made to acheive it....and we did it! A beautiful and very well maintained property I am looking forward to visit again. Greenfire Lodge, thank you for making dream come through.

      Date of stay: October 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank sylb108
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

      Absolutely amazing lodge! Rooms were great: very private and with viewing deck overlooking the river. Super comfortable beds! Staff is very welcoming and the food is simple but very good! Had great game drives with Ishmael 😊 Would have loved to stayed some extra days! Hope to return some day.

      Date of stay: September 2023
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Ingrid2208
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews